Seekers - Ultimate Collection

Today: $10.45
Out of stock

Club O Gold Members Earn

$0.52 | 5% Rewards*




5% Rewards

Earn even faster

Free Shipping

Never pay extra*

Exclusive Rewards

Save big-- up to 40%

Exclusive Offers

Straight to your inbox

5% Dining Rewards

Get paid to go out tonight

ITEM# 11874429
    Notify me when it is back in stock!

    Enter your email address, we will notify you if it comes back in stock.

Love this item?

Save it to a list so you can find it anytime!


something went wrong.

Please refresh the page and try again.


ITEM#: 11874429

Although the Seekers have a five-CD box set released in Australia, it's hard to argue with the title of this two-disc European compilation, which focuses on the group's mid-'60s heyday. In the U.S., they were a two-hit wonder, those hits being "I'll Never Find Another You" and "Georgy Girl." In the U.K., they had six Top Ten hits, plus a couple that got to number eleven. Of course, all of those are included on a set containing 50 tracks that runs 131-and-a-half minutes. The rest of the material provides strong evidence of both the Seekers' talents and their limitations. There is a bright dividing line in '60s pop music between the musicians who, in the wake of the Beatles, learned to write their own songs and those who didn't. Although they fell under the wing of Tom Springfield, (who wrote "I'll Never Find Another You" and co-wrote "Georgy Girl") early on, the Seekers did have a songwriter in their midst, Bruce Woodley, who collaborated occasionally with Paul Simon, notably on his most successful composition (unfortunately, not a Seekers hit, although they cover it here), "Red Rubber Ball." His association with Simon also brought the group an otherwise unheralded Simon song (and one of those number elevens), "Someday One Day." But he was not prolific enough to turn the Seekers into a group that primarily generated its own material. Springfield brought them most of their hits, with Judith Durham singing lead in her warm, Judy Collins-like voice, and then they filled up their albums with cover songs, on which other members sometimes took the lead. Those covers fill up this album, too, to the extent that a large part of the collection could be called, "The Seekers Sing the Folk-Pop Hits of the '60s." They present their versions of songs written by and/or associated with Peter, Paul & Mary, Bob Dylan, Tom Paxton, Joan Baez, Simon & Garfunkel, the Beatles, the Mamas & the Papas, and so on, all of them done effectively, but none any better than their originators. In this sense, an "ultimate" Seekers collection may be a bit more than even a loyal fan needs. And despite the length of the set, the sequencing and mastering are questionable. A decision has been made to push the hits up to the front, but thereafter the tracks are all mixed up, and since their sound quality is quite variable -- some clear and powerful (and recently remastered), some sounding the worse for wear, some in stereo, some in mono -- the listening experience is inconsistent. Still, one gets a good sense of the Seekers' music at the peak of their success on this collection. ~ William Ruhlmann


UPC 5099926718224
Runtime 131 min.
Type Performer
Genre Rock & Pop
Sub Genre Folk Rock
Label EMI Records
Number of Discs 2
Track Listing Disc 1
  • 1. I'll Never Find Another You
  • 2. Carnival is Over, The
  • 3. A World of Our Own
  • 4. Someday, One Day
  • 5. Morningtown Ride
  • 6. Georgy Girl
  • 7. When Will the Good Apples Fall?
  • 8. Allentown Jail
  • 9. Sinner Man
  • 10. Don't Think Twice, Its All Right
  • 11. Times They Are a Changin', The
  • 12. You Can Tell the World
  • 13. Two Summers
  • 14. We're Moving On
  • 15. Island of Dreams
  • 16. Red Rubber Ball
  • 17. Last Thing On My Mind, The
  • 18. All I Can Remember
  • 19. Colours of My Life
  • 20. Emerald City
  • 21. Love is Kind, Love is Wine
  • 22. On the Other Side
  • 23. Days of My Life
  • 24. Open Up Them Pearly Gates
  • 25. Kumbaya
Disc 2
  • 1. 59th Street Bridge Song (Feelin' Groovy)
  • 2. Walk With Me
  • 3. We Shall Not Be Moved
  • 4. Music of the World a Turnin'
  • 5. Well Well Well
  • 6. Yesterday
  • 7. Turn, Turn, Turn
  • 8. Louisiana Man
  • 9. Come the Day
  • 10. All Over the World
  • 11. Californai Dreamin'
  • 12. Blowin' In the Wind
  • 13. Wreck of the Old 97, The
  • 14. Lemon Tree
  • 15. Whisky In the Jar
  • 16. Five Hundred Miles
  • 17. Gypsy Rover, The (the Whistling Gypsy)
  • 18. South Australia
  • 19. Danny Boy
  • 20. Water is Wide, The
  • 21. I Wish You Could Be Here
  • 22. Sad Cloud, The
  • 23. Chase a Rainbow (Follow Your Dream)
  • 24. Four Strong Winds
  • 25. Don't Tell Me My Mind
Format Compact Disc
Spars Coding n/a
Artists Seekers
Country of Origin United States
Club O Rewards

Club O members earn Club O Rewards for writing reviews. Learn More

Questions & Answers

  • Q:

    "Why did you choose this product?"

    • A:

      A friend sent me a link to this group and I really enjoyed them immensely; then remembered them from "Georgy Girl"........

Shopping Tips & Inspiration

Shipping & Returns

Contact Information
This product is not yet released, and is expected to ship on Dec. 1, 2008.

This date is subject to change. In order to assure you receive's low price on this item, your credit card will be charged upon order placement. The item will ship immediately upon release.

Standard Return Policy:

Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.


This item cannot be shipped to Alaska or Hawaii. More details

For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.