Robert Johnson - The Centennial Collection

Today: $15.98
Free Shipping*

Club O Gold Members Earn

$0.80 | 5% Rewards*




5% Rewards

Earn even faster

Free Shipping

Never pay extra*

Exclusive Rewards

Save big-- up to 40%

Exclusive Offers

Straight to your inbox

5% Dining Rewards

Get paid to go out tonight

ITEM# 13491569
Select an option before changing warranty
  • Delivery Estimate

    Select a Product Option to view shipping

    • Product Alerts

      Stay in the know! Choose which alerts you’d like to receive on this product.

    Love this item?

    Save it to a list so you can find it anytime!


    something went wrong.

    Please refresh the page and try again.


    ITEM#: 13491569

    Liner Note Authors: Stephen C. Lavere; Ted Gioia. Recording information: 11/23/1936-06/20/1937. Photographer: Robert Johnson. In practical terms, there's not much need for Robert Johnson's The Complete Recordings: The Centennial Collection. There are no undiscovered master or alternate takes, new remastering can only improve the original acetates and 78s so much, and apart from the sequencing of alternate takes after the masters, a debatable merit for listenability, the original 1990 box set The Complete Recordings did everything right. So, The Centennial Collection exists to celebrate Johnson's 100th birthday, and to offer improved sequencing and sound, both of which are evident on the double-disc set that provides the foundation for this entire reissue project. As strong as this compilation is, what's really noteworthy in this centennial celebration is the box set designed for the very wealthy among us, a handsome, lavish fetish object for collectors coming complete with a hardcover book containing 45-rpm replicas of the original 78-rpm singles; a double disc of Johnson's originals; a double disc of Rarities from the Vault that places Johnson into the context of his times by offering a disc of blues cut between 1928-1932 and a disc of Texas country, folk, and Mexican music; and then a DVD documentary of Johnson's legacy. Naturally, this luxurious item is more attractive and interesting than its bare-bones companion, but it doesn't necessarily offer greater musical insight than its slimmer cousin. Johnson's legacy can fit onto a mere two discs, so the rest of the set is essentially well-dressed extras, with the two CDs of contemporary blues, country, and folk offering a nice sampling of Johnson's peers even if they're by no means extensive. And when you spring for a set of this magnitude, what matters isn't the content so much as the presentation -- and in that regard, the four-disc set is impeccable. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine


    UPC 886978590725
    Runtime 110 min.
    Type Performer
    Genre Blues
    Sub Genre Delta
    Label Columbia Records
    Producer Don Law; Stephen C. Lavere
    Number of Discs 2
    Track Listing Disc 1
    • 1. Kind Hearted Woman Blues
    • 2. I Believe I'll Dust My Broom
    • 3. Sweet Home Chicago
    • 4. Ramblin' on My Mind
    • 5. When You Got a Good Friend
    • 6. Come on in My Kitchen
    • 7. Terraplane Blues
    • 8. Phonograph Blues
    • 9. 32-20 Blues
    • 10. They're Red Hot
    • 11. Dead Shrimp Blues
    • 12. Cross Road Blues
    • 13. Walkin' Blues
    • 14. Last Fair Deal Gone Down
    • 15. Preachin' Blues (Up Jumped the Devil)
    • 16. If I Had Possession Over Judgment Day
    • 17. Kind Hearted Woman Blues
    • 18. Ramblin' on My Mind
    • 19. When You Got a Good Friend
    • 20. Come on in My Kitchen
    • 21. Phonograph Blues
    • 22. Cross Road Blues
    Disc 2
    • 1. Stones in My Passway
    • 2. I'm a Steady Rollin' Man
    • 3. From Four Until Late
    • 4. Hell Hound on My Trail
    • 5. Little Queen of Spades
    • 6. Malted Milk
    • 7. Drunken Hearted Man
    • 8. Me and the Devil Blues
    • 9. Stop Breakin' Down Blues
    • 10. Traveling Riverside Blues
    • 11. Honeymoon Blues
    • 12. Love in Vain Blues
    • 13. Milkcow's Calf Blues
    • 14. Little Queen of Spades, A
    • 15. Drunken Hearted Man
    • 16. Me and the Devil Blues
    • 17. Stop Breakin' Down Blues
    • 18. Guitar Figure [Test Groove Before Traveling Riverside Blues]/Traveling Riverside Blues
    • 19. Johnson Speaks [Test Groove Before Love in Vain Blues]/Love in Vain Blues
    • 20. Milkcow's Calf Blues
    Format Compact Disc
    Spars Coding n/a
    Artists Johnson, Robert
    Dimensions 6.0x4.0x0.5
    Country of Origin United States

    Questions & Answers

    Yay! Be the first to ask a question about this product.

    Shopping Tips & Inspiration

    Shipping & Returns

    Contact Information

    This item will be delivered to you via USPS Trackable Media Mail or UPS Mail Innovations and will take from 2 days to 3 weeks from the time the item leaves our warehouse. *

    This product is not yet released, and is expected to ship on Apr. 26, 2011.

    This date is subject to change. In order to assure you receive's low price on this item, your credit card will be charged upon order placement. The item will ship immediately upon release.

    Standard Return Policy:

    Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

    FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

    For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

    ** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.