Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for New York City Ballet: The Complete Workout (DVD)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • GREAT!
    Verified Purchase

    This is a GREAT workout! I LOVE LOVE LOVE it! I danced when I was younger and ballet was the only thing that ever really worked for me. I recently started missing ballet, and I decided to do some research to see what my options were. While I do have a ballet barre at my house, I wanted to find a ballet exercise that did not require a barre. That was the only thing I hated about ballet when I was younger. I loved barre work. But I hated to use an actual barre. I know...I am a weirdo. So after some research, I settled with NYCB workout. It was/is MARVELOUS! This workout is so relaxing that I am not even kidding when I say that I could probably fall asleep while doing it! I will say that if you have never done any ballet before you may have a hard time keeping up. There are ballet terms used, and if you don't know basic ballet moves you may have issues keeping up. The "instructor" does not really offer the "how to" instructions. This was not an issue for me as I have done ballet before. Another thing was that it is hard to skip around to certain exercises. I did not mind this because all the exercises offered are still a great workout. Bottom line. I LOVE this workout, and it will become a regular workout for me! Cant go wrong!!!

    Read More
    mepittsburgh July 28, 2012
  • Quick Shipment
    Verified Purchase

    The product was shipped and recieved before Christmas!! It was a present fro me wife and she loves it!

    Read More
    robvikings January 3, 2012
  • Wonderful ballet workout
    Verified Purchase

    This was a lot of fun to do. I also recommended it for an autistic teenager. The simple directions calmly spoken, the uncluttered black and white images worked very well for her. She did this workout faithfully several times a week. What I found was there was no reason to get both discs. Disc one is fine by iteself.

    Read More
    odysseus9 July 8, 2011
  • Harder than you'd think
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this wanting some exercise program that wasn't loud or boisterous to do before work. I live in an upstairs apartment and didn't want to bother my neighbors with a lot of jumping around. Considering the fact that I sit at a desk all day, my back ends up hurting so I thought this would be helpful. This program is good for the stretches and the abdominal works. Those of you who have backgrounds in ballet would probably have an easier time with the abdominal work and the leg exercises. You have the option of doing the workout without Peter Martins narrating. Personally, I don't mind it. It's a really good workout video for what I want it for. I highly recommend it if conventional workout videos with too-happy people turn you off. Though I do recommend you get a workout mat or a towel for the abdominal section.

    Read More
    nataku February 28, 2011
  • Great workout!
    Verified Purchase

    I've only done the first DVD so far and I will say it felt so good to do these stretches and steps again! I took dance for 15 years and it took me right back. Don't get me wrong! You don't have to be a former dancer to do them. Take it at your own pace and you will master them with time. Trust me, you will be glad you did! Long, lean, strong muscles are the way to go!

    Read More
    martinigal February 5, 2011
  • Pretty Good Workout
    Verified Purchase

    Not a fat burning workout, but it is strength training. The dance sequence on #2 is a little difficult to follow.

    Read More
    mibtp December 30, 2007
  • Ballet for life
    Verified Purchase

    This is a great workout if you've had some previous training and experience how to hold your body and incorporate all your muscular systems. It doesn't have the greatest effect if you're completely unexperienced. The ab work out is great and the second disk features a cardio dance routine which is also a great feature! I would reccomend, the workouts have been quite fun!

    Read More
    ajmarsh December 1, 2007
  • exactly what i expected
    Verified Purchase

    I had owned these dvd's previously and they were the exact same but brand new.

    Read More
    temp235 September 27, 2007
  • EXCELLENT!
    Verified Purchase

    I ordered this because I love the gracefulness and elegance of ballet. I love this workout- and I am not a ballerina! I do get a sense of great well being from it- and I really enjoy the music. I felt a difference in my posture, and strength after just a few workouts. If you want a workout that is strengthening without jarring movement- this is it!!

    Read More
    cc63 September 17, 2007
  • Great workout for all ages
    Verified Purchase

    This is an excellent workout without the yelling and way-too-perky people. It's simple and relaxing, then you realize that it's a good workout too! Used in our house by someone less than 15, in 40's and older than 75 - we all like it.

    Read More
    skyview43 July 21, 2007
  • NYC Ballet Workout
    Verified Purchase

    Great Workout VIdeo. Hardly seem to be working as hard as you are. I recommend this to anyone looking for a fun work out.

    Read More
    cygne July 15, 2007
  • Excellent Workout
    Verified Purchase

    This is an excellent non-impact workout, but knowledge of the basic ballet positions is essential. It features a lot of stretching and toning of your basic muscle groups. It is not like the bouncing aerobic, jump around gym classes that I've done before. It's nice to get back to basics and if you like symphony (Mozart, etc.) it's just relaxing. I've had many years of ballet and it's nice to get back to basics. I have recommended this exercise DVD to a few friends.

    Read More
    sas1123 July 14, 2007
  • Better than a gym
    Verified Purchase

    I took a dance class at the gym and this video surpasses any class I've taken. It's great, I love it.

    Read More
    ninive April 5, 2007
Sponsored Links