Merle Haggard - Merle Haggard: 40 Greatest Hits

Today: $15.94
Free Shipping*

Club O Gold Members Earn

$0.80 | 5% Rewards*




5% Rewards

Earn even faster

Free Shipping

Never pay extra*

Exclusive Rewards

Save big-- up to 40%

Exclusive Offers

Straight to your inbox

5% Dining Rewards

Get paid to go out tonight

ITEM# 2237610
  • Delivery Estimate

    Select a Product Option to view shipping

      **Delivery date is approximate and not guaranteed. Estimates include processing and shipping times, and are only available in US (excluding APO/FPO and PO Box addresses). Final shipping costs are available at checkout.

    • Warranty
      Select an option before changing warranty
    • Notifications

    Love this item?

    Save it to a list so you can find it anytime!


    something went wrong.

    Please refresh the page and try again.


    ITEM#: 2237610

    Though this two-CD set of re-recordings is an unusually extensive survey of Merle Haggard's back catalog of songs, it barely scratches the surface of the singer's remarkable output. Nevertheless, four decades of songs, like his first hit, "(My Friends Are Gonna Be) Strangers," the redneck anthem "Okie from Muskogee," and the bleak "If We Make It Through December," as well as barroom classics like "Misery and Gin" and "It's Been a Great Afternoon," are proof that Haggard more than deserves his spot in the Country Music Hall of Fame. Hag's in great voice, and makes sure to give these songs a different treatment, so for fans who've heard the originals more times than they can count, this is a good place to turn.


    UPC 015095573728
    Runtime 118 min.
    Type Performer
    Genre Country
    Sub Genre Bakersfield
    Label Light Records
    Number of Discs 2
    Track Listing Disc 1
    • 1. My Friends Are Gonna Be Strangers
    • 2. I'm a Lonesome Fugitive
    • 3. Bottle Let Me Down, The
    • 4. Branded Man
    • 5. I Threw Away the Rose
    • 6. Sing Me Back Home
    • 7. Mama Tried
    • 8. Legend of Bonnie and Clyde, The
    • 9. Hungry Eyes
    • 10. I Take a Lot of Pride in What I Am
    • 11. Okie From Muskogee
    • 12. Workin' Man Blues
    • 13. Fightin' Side of Me, The
    • 14. Daddy Frank (The Guitar Man)
    • 15. Someday We'll Look Back
    • 16. Peach Pickin' Time in Georgia
    • 17. Farmer's Daughter, The
    • 18. Carolyn
    • 19. If It's Wrong to Love You
    • 20. It's Not Love (But It's Not Bad)
    Disc 2
    • 1. Turnin' Off a Memory
    • 2. Everybody's Had the Blues
    • 3. If We Make It Through December
    • 4. Emptiest Arms in the World, The
    • 5. Holding Things Together
    • 6. Kentucky Gambler
    • 7. Old Man From the Mountain
    • 8. Things Aren't Funny Anymore
    • 9. It Makes No Difference Now
    • 10. Always Wanting You
    • 11. It's All in the Movies
    • 12. Cherokee Maiden
    • 13. Shackles and Chains
    • 14. Roots of My Raising, The
    • 15. From Graceland to the Promised Land
    • 16. I'm Always on a Mountain When I Fall
    • 17. It's Been a Great Afternoon
    • 18. Misery and Gin
    • 19. Way I Am, The
    • 20. I Think I'll Stay Here and Drink
    Format Compact Disc
    Spars Coding n/a
    Artists Haggard, Merle
    Dimensions 0

    Product Reviews

    5 Stars
    4 Stars
    3 Stars
    2 Stars
    1 Stars
    Club O Silver

    Club O members earn Club O Rewards for writing reviews.

    • Most Recent

    • mrs briney

      some of his best songs ,but they are not original recordings

      Read More

    Questions & Answers

    Yay! Be the first to ask a question about this product.

    Shopping Tips & Inspiration

    Shipping & Returns

    Contact Information

    This item will be delivered to you via USPS Trackable Media Mail or UPS Mail Innovations and will take from 2 days to 3 weeks from the time the item leaves our warehouse. *

    This product is not yet released, and is expected to ship on May. 25, 2004.

    This date is subject to change. In order to assure you receive's low price on this item, your credit card will be charged upon order placement. The item will ship immediately upon release.

    Standard Return Policy:

    Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

    FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

    For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

    ** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.