Ken Burns - Civil War-Music from Pbs Series

by Precision Series
Today: $16.64
Free Shipping*

Club O Gold Members Earn

$0.83 | 5% Rewards*




5% Rewards

Earn even faster

Free Shipping

Never pay extra*

Exclusive Rewards

Save big-- up to 40%

Exclusive Offers

Straight to your inbox

5% Dining Rewards

Get paid to go out tonight

ITEM# 2570920
  • Delivery Estimate

    Select a Product Option to view shipping

      **Delivery date is approximate and not guaranteed. Estimates include processing and shipping times, and are only available in US (excluding APO/FPO and PO Box addresses). Final shipping costs are available at checkout.

    • Warranty
      Select an option before changing warranty
    • Notifications

    Love this item?

    Save it to a list so you can find it anytime!


    something went wrong.

    Please refresh the page and try again.


    ITEM#: 2570920

    Personnel: Bernice Johnson Reagon (vocals); Jay Ungar (guitar, mandolin, fiddle); Molly Mason, Russ Barenberg, Bobby Horton (guitar); Peter Amidon (banjo); Peggy James, Evan Stover, Matt Glaser (fiddle); John Levy (cello); Yonatin Malin (flute); Jesse Carr (recorder); Art Baron (euphonium); Jacqueline Schwab, John Colby (piano). Liner Note Author: Ken Burns. Recording information: 1984-1990. Directors: Robert Sheldon; Kirby Jolly; Dr. Jewel T. Thompson. Editors: Ed Barteski; Phoebe Yantsios; Tricia Reidy; Paul Barnes; Meredith Woods. Photographers: Franklyn Fulton; Robert Rhodes. Unknown Contributor Roles: John Colby; Abyssinian Baptist Gospel Choir. Elektra/Nonesuch scored one of the biggest successes of the classical specialty label's history with this soundtrack to the Ken Burns public television series The Civil War. More a multi-artist compilation than an actual "soundtrack" in the formal sense, the album is filled with low-key highlights from the series -- Jay Ungar's "Ashokan Farewell" is the most familiar of the material that was new to most listeners, but it was surrounded by fare such as "Battle Cry of Freedom," "Bonnie Blue Flag," "Dixie," "Hail Columbia," and "Battle Hymn of the Republic," which will certainly be known, at least by memory, to anyone who attended school in the United States before 1967 or so. There's also some representation of spirituals, most notably "We Are Climbing Jacob's Ladder." There are some full-band performances here ("Yankee Doodle," "Parade") and a few tunes featured in more than one incarnation (most notably "Marching Through Georgia"), but the overall thrust of this soundtrack is toward the small-scale and intimate in terms of sound and arrangements -- it's a far cry from the mostly upbeat Civil War song compilations that appeared in the late '50s and the start of the 1960s, in the run up to the war's centenary. Less is more seems to have been the operating theory behind the music, which makes it more enduring as a listening experience -- subtlety being a hallmark of the music -- and a strong tug on the conscience and the intellect. And the final track, "Ashokan Farewell/Sullivan Ballou Letter," the latter read by Paul Roebling, can bring a tear to the eye of the most hardened listener. ~ Bruce Eder


    UPC 075597925623
    Runtime 48 min.
    Type Performer
    Genre Soundtracks
    Label Nonesuch Records
    Producer Fiddle Fever; Julie Dunfey; Jay Ungar; John Colby; Ken Burns; Toshi Reagon; Bernice Johnson Reagon; BobbY Horton
    Number of Discs 1
    Track Listing Disc 1
    • 1. Drums of War - Old Bethpage Brass Band
    • 2. Oliver Wendell Holmes - Paul Roebling
    • 3. Ashokan Farewell - Evan Stover/Jay Ungar/Matt Glaser/Molly Mason/Russ Barenberg
    • 4. Battle Cry of Freedom - Jacqueline Schwab
    • 5. We Are Climbing Jacob's Ladder - Bernice Johnson Reagon
    • 6. Dixie/Bonnie Blue Flag - New American Brass Band
    • 7. Cheer Boys Cheer - New American Brass Band
    • 8. Angel Band - Molly Mason/Russ Barenberg
    • 9. Johnny Has Gone for a Soldier - Jesse Carr/Jacqueline Schwab
    • 10. Lorena - Jay Ungar/Matt Glaser/Molly Mason
    • 11. Parade - New American Brass Band
    • 12. Hail Columbia - New American Brass Band
    • 13. Dixie - Bobby Horton
    • 14. Kingdom Coming - Jay Ungar/Matt Glaser/Art Baron
    • 15. Battle Hymn of the Republic - Jacqueline Schwab/Matt Glaser
    • 16. All Quiet on the Potomac - Jacqueline Schwab
    • 17. Flag of Columbia - Jacqueline Schwab
    • 18. Weeping, Sad and Lonely - Peggy James/Jesse Carr/Jacqueline Schwab
    • 19. Yankee Doodle - Old Bethpage Brass Band
    • 20. Palmyra Schottische - New American Brass Band
    • 21. When Johnny Comes Marching Home - Old Bethpage Brass Band
    • 22. Shenandoah - John Colby/John Levy
    • 23. When Johnny Comes Marching Home - Yonatin Malin/Peter Amidon/Jacqueline Schwab/Jay Ungar/Matt Glaser/Molly Mason
    • 24. Marching Through Georgia - Peter Amidon/Jay Ungar/Matt Glaser/Molly Mason
    • 25. Marching Through Georgia (Lament) - Jacqueline Schwab
    • 26. Battle Cry of Freedom - Jacqueline Schwab
    • 27. Battle Hymn of the Republic - Abyssinian Baptist Gospel Choir
    • 28. Ashokan Farewell/Sullivan Ballou Letter - Abyssinian Baptist Gospel Choir
    Format Compact Disc
    Spars Coding n/a
    Artists Burns, Ken

    Product Reviews

    5 Stars
    4 Stars
    3 Stars
    2 Stars
    1 Stars
    • Most Recent

    • The CD came in perfect condition. Everything was just as they said it would be. Overstock has godd products and are shipped out in good time at very low rates. I have bought items from them in the past and will buy again in the future. Thanks Again.

      Read More

    Questions & Answers

    Yay! Be the first to ask a question about this product.

    Shopping Tips & Inspiration

    Shipping & Returns

    Contact Information

    This item will be delivered to you via USPS Trackable Media Mail or UPS Mail Innovations and will take from 2 days to 3 weeks from the time the item leaves our warehouse. *

    This product is not yet released, and is expected to ship on Dec. 29, 1990.

    This date is subject to change. In order to assure you receive's low price on this item, your credit card will be charged upon order placement. The item will ship immediately upon release.

    Standard Return Policy:

    Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

    FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

    For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

    ** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.