Today: $21.83
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Joy of Cooking (Hardcover)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Classic
    Verified Purchase

    Easy to find this book on overstock for a gift

    Read More
    Laura Y. September 6, 2016
  • best cook book ever
    Verified Purchase

    Bridal gift, great cookbook, great for beginners!

    Read More
    CHRISTY B. December 15, 2015
  • Favorite
    Verified Purchase

    This is my favorite cookbook. There are measurement tables and substitution lists. It also explains the ingredients, and how best to use them.

    Read More
    Amy D. November 15, 2015
  • Nice book
    Verified Purchase

    great price for the book.

    Read More
    phetch r. July 10, 2015
  • cecilia christmas gift
    Verified Purchase

    she was delighted , just what she wanted because she is learning to cook American foods

    Read More
    cc134 April 10, 2013
  • The cooking bible
    Verified Purchase

    This is my bible for cooking. My mother gave me a copy when I was a teenager, and I just gave one to my 20-year-old for her first apartment. Not only does this book give you recipes, it tells you all about foods. It explains basics like how to hard-boil an egg, bake a potato, and then provides all kinds of recipes. There's a section about measuring, substitutes, etc. Simply the must-have cookbook for every home.

    Read More
    jdsjd January 5, 2013
  • The best staple cookbook you could own!
    Verified Purchase

    This is the best "go to" foundational cookbook that every cook, no matter their skill level, MUST have in their kitchen!

    Read More
    tishajk March 28, 2012
  • PERFECT;
    Verified Purchase

    RATHER LATE ON THIS REVIEW, HOWEVER, FANTASTIC PRICE FOR ONE OF THE BEST COOKBOOKS OUT THERE;

    Read More
    lexstudis March 30, 2010
  • Love this cookbook!
    Verified Purchase

    My husband and I received this as a wedding gift. We use it all the time!!! My brother and brother-in-law both love cooking so I decided to get them this book for Christmas. I know they will love it just as much as I have :)

    Read More
    bhinnenkamp December 22, 2009
  • Great Cookbook
    Verified Purchase

    This cookbook has it all. I like it because if you can't come up with menu ideas it has pages and pages of them inside the book.

    Read More
    chris10222007 November 29, 2009
  • Joy of Cooking
    Verified Purchase

    Although I bought this book for a friend's son, I have this version and the prior version. I feel that this cookbook is virtually the best overall source for both new cooks as well as those of us who have been at it awhile. It quite literally takes you from how to set a table, to some very intricate recipes, and everything inbetween. My mother had a (much earlier) version, and referred to it herself. The Overstock price was better than I had anticipated, and as usual, it was shipped to me promptly. This has been the case with all of my purchases from Overstock.com.

    Read More
    ibtere October 29, 2009
  • the best
    Verified Purchase

    we used this book for years of cooking... now it becomes a wedding gift for our daughter

    Read More
    kindlyconcerned October 8, 2009
  • Must have!
    Verified Purchase

    The Joy of Cooking is a must have for cooks from beginner to advanced. This 75th edition has new recipes as well as updated versions of older recipes for the healthy life style of today. It is a great present for the graduate, bride/groom, new cook or old cook!

    Read More
    enjoyscooking36 May 13, 2009
  • Joy of Cooking 75 Anniversary Edition
    Verified Purchase

    This is the cooking Bible and it is a must for any kitchen. This edition has a lot of contemporary recipes of today (i.e. international recipes). Honestly, one only really needs this cookbook. I know first hand as I have many (over 100) that are just dust collectors and I will probably only use this one from now on. I used to have a Joy of Cooking cookbook that I bought 20 years ago, but it was misplaced during moving and I missed having it. This edition not only has very basic recipes that you just can't find in most cookbooks, it also has current culinary recipes using the wide range of ingredients in todays cooking. It is entertaining just to read through it and the history that goes with it. As you read it you will be very inspired to make many of the recipes, and it will be the cookbook you think of most often.

    Read More
    mspicky11 April 7, 2008
  • Everyone needs this book
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this as a wedding gift for my second cousin. His grandmother had given me THE JOY OF COOKING for my wedding gift, 23 years ago. The recipes are plentiful and delicious but I use this book for everything. My son came home from school and told me that his nutrition teacher told him that beans and rice do not make a complete protein. We looked it up in the 23 year old book and sure enough there was a section on protein and how humans need the 22 amino acids that make up protein, etc. Then my son needed to work on his Cooking Merit badge for Boy Scouts and was converting Tablespoons to Cups in order to figure out the cost of the meal he prepared. All conversions and substitutes are in there. If you don't have buttermilk and the recipe calls for buttermilk, what do you do? Put a tablespoon of lemon juice or distilled white vinegar in a measuring cup, fill the cup the rest of the way with regular milk to make a cup of "buttermilk". How would I know that?

    Read More
    harriet222 February 25, 2008
  • Joy of Cooking
    Verified Purchase

    I have had the paperback version of an earlier edition of this book for a number of years, and it was due to be replaced. The timing of this release was right on. I use this cookbook quite frequently and would miss it if it weren't in my kitchen.

    Read More
    jbeckett February 25, 2008
  • Joy of Cooking 75th Anniversary Edition
    Verified Purchase

    This edition brings back the personal voice of earlier editions. If you only own one cookbook, Joy of Cooking will take care of you. My only complaint is that the type/font is harder to read than the 1997 edition. Read it and cook.

    Read More
    emmal February 17, 2008
  • best cookbook ever
    Verified Purchase

    This book has everything! From basics to expert dishes, it's like a cooking dictionary. The recipes are easy to follow. I have made several dishes out of this book and they've all been wonderful, even though in general I'm an awful cook. Best cookbook ever!

    Read More
    bruskigirl January 25, 2008
  • Great Price!
    Verified Purchase

    The price of this book at overstock was amazing - it retails for much more in bookstores. This is the best cookbook!

    Read More
    nls258 January 13, 2008
  • I gave it as a gift
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this cookbook for myself several years ago, and it has been a staple in my kitchen ever since. "Joy Of Cooking" is overall the best cooking and reference book I've ever picked up! I've satisfied family and impressed dinner guests with this book's help, and also learned so much! I bought a copy for a friend of mine who claimed she didn't know how to cook - it's that complete and easy to follow.

    Read More
    dodom January 10, 2008
Sponsored Links