Joni Mitchell - The Studio Albums (1968-1979)

Today: $46.98
Free Shipping*

Club O Gold Members Earn

$2.35 | 5% Rewards*




5% Rewards

Earn even faster

Free Shipping

Never pay extra*

Exclusive Rewards

Save big-- up to 40%

Exclusive Offers

Straight to your inbox

5% Dining Rewards

Get paid to go out tonight

ITEM# 14762597
Select an option before changing warranty
  • Delivery Estimate

    Select a Product Option to view shipping

    • Product Alerts

      Stay in the know! Choose which alerts you’d like to receive on this product.

    Love this item?

    Save it to a list so you can find it anytime!


    something went wrong.

    Please refresh the page and try again.


    ITEM#: 14762597

    One has to wonder why this box, Joni Mitchell's The Studio Albums 1968-1979, was issued only in the European market. During this period --and some would argue even after -- Mitchell had one of most consistent quality runs in pop history. She is one of the most influential songwriters and recording artists of the 20th century. Included here are Song to a Seagull, Clouds, Ladies of the Canyon, Blue, For the Roses, Court and Spark, Hissing of Summer Lawns, Hejira, the double album Don Juan's Reckless Daughter, and Mingus. The first four are regarded as her "singer/songwriter" era offerings, the next one (For the Roses) details her crossing over into pop success (without compromise, of course), and the final five as her "jazz period," an era that lasted longer than her tenure with Warner Bros, and into her years at Geffen. What's remarkable is that they are all indelibly Mitchell. From the earliest, her vocal phrasing and guitar playing were just off enough to underscore the depth and poetry in her lyrics. By the time she reached For the Roses, she was already inventing new melodic and rhythmic paths. By Hissing of Summer Lawns, Hejira, and especially on Don Juan's Reckless Daughter, she was off-road, cutting a new swath of rhythmic invention in popular music, utilizing jazz syncopation and harmonics, Brazilian and Latin rhythms, and even modal elements that seemed to make time, melody, and lyric concerns more elastic. There is a great anecdote from Robbie Robertson about Mitchell asking the Band to back her at the Watkins Glen rock festival. They were unable to play with her because only drummer Levon Helm could flow with her sense of groove. All these albums feature their own mini-LP sleeves (no fancy paper, sorry). There is no bonus material of any kind included. The art is not so much redone as extremely reduced, making most of the print small enough that reading can be difficult. There is no liner essay in the package, either. The plus -- in addition to a stellar body of music -- is that the price is right; each album prices out to considerably less than these recordings sell for individually. ~ Thom Jurek


    UPC 081227971786
    Runtime 425 min.
    Type Boxed Set
    Genre Rock & Pop
    Sub Genre Folk Rock
    Label Rhino Records
    Number of Discs 10
    Track Listing Disc 1
    • 1. I Had a King
    • 2. Michael from Mountains
    • 3. Night in the City
    • 4. Marcie
    • 5. Nathan La Franeer
    • 6. Sisotowbell Lane
    • 7. Dawntreader, The
    • 8. Pirate of Penance, The
    • 9. Song to a Seagull
    • 10. Cactus Tree
    Disc 2
    • 1. Tin Angel
    • 2. Chelsea Morning
    • 3. I Don't Know Where I Stand
    • 4. That Song About the Midway
    • 5. Roses Blue
    • 6. Gallery, The
    • 7. I Think I Understand
    • 8. Songs to Aging Children Come
    • 9. Fiddle and the Drum, The
    • 10. Both Sides, Now
    Disc 3
    • 1. Morning Morgantown
    • 2. For Free
    • 3. Conversation
    • 4. Ladies of the Canyon
    • 5. Willy
    • 6. Arrangement, The
    • 7. Rainy Night House
    • 8. Priest, The
    • 9. Blue Boy
    • 10. Big Yellow Taxi
    • 11. Woodstock
    • 12. Circle Game, The
    Disc 4
    • 1. All I Want
    • 2. My Old Man
    • 3. Little Green
    • 4. Carey
    • 5. Blue
    • 6. California
    • 7. This Flight Tonight
    • 8. River
    • 9. Case of You, A
    • 10. Last Time I Saw Richard, The
    Disc 5
    • 1. Banquet
    • 2. Cold Blue Steel and Sweet Fire
    • 3. Barangrill
    • 4. Lesson in Survival
    • 5. Let the Wind Carry Me
    • 6. For the Roses
    • 7. See You Sometime
    • 8. Electricity
    • 9. You Turn Me On I'm a Radio
    • 10. Blonde in the Bleachers
    • 11. Woman of Heart and Mind
    • 12. Judgement of the Moon and Stars (Ludwig's Tune)
    Disc 6
    • 1. Court and Spark
    • 2. Help Me
    • 3. Free Man In Paris
    • 4. People's Parties
    • 5. Same Situation
    • 6. Car on a Hill
    • 7. Down to You
    • 8. Just like This Train
    • 9. Raised on Robbery
    • 10. Trouble Child
    • 11. Twisted
    Disc 7
    • 1. In France They Kiss on Main Street
    • 2. Jungle Line, The
    • 3. Edith and the Kingpin
    • 4. Don't Interrupt the Sorrow
    • 5. Shades of Scarlett Conquering
    • 6. Hissing of Summer Lawns, The
    • 7. Boho Dance, The
    • 8. Harry's House/Centerpiece
    • 9. Sweet Bird
    • 10. Shadows and Light
    Disc 8
    • 1. Coyote
    • 2. Amelia
    • 3. Furry Sings the Blues
    • 4. Strange Boy, A
    • 5. Hejira
    • 6. Song for Sharon
    • 7. Black Crow
    • 8. Blue Motel Room
    • 9. Refuge of the Roads
    Disc 9
    • 1. Overture: Cotton Avenue
    • 2. Talk To Me
    • 3. Jericho
    • 4. Paprika Plains
    • 5. Otis and Marlena
    • 6. Tenth World, The
    • 7. Dreamland
    • 8. Don Juan's Reckless Daughter
    • 9. Off Night Back Street
    • 10. Silky Veils of Ardor, The
    Disc 10
    • 1. Happy Birthday 1975 [Rap]
    • 2. God Must Be a Boogie Man
    • 3. Funeral [Rap]
    • 4. Chair in the Sky, A
    • 5. Wolf That Lives in Lindsey, The
    • 6. I's a Muggin' [Rap]
    • 7. Sweet Sucker Dance
    • 8. Coin in the Pocket [Rap]
    • 9. Dry Cleaner from Des Moines [Rap], The
    • 10. Lucky [Rap]
    • 11. Goodbye Pork Pie Hat
    Format Compact Disc
    Spars Coding n/a
    Artists Mitchell, Joni
    Country of Origin United States

    Questions & Answers

    Yay! Be the first to ask a question about this product.

    Shopping Tips & Inspiration

    Shipping & Returns

    Contact Information

    This item will be delivered to you via USPS Trackable Media Mail or UPS Mail Innovations and will take from 2 days to 3 weeks from the time the item leaves our warehouse. *

    This product is not yet released, and is expected to ship on Feb. 12, 2013.

    This date is subject to change. In order to assure you receive's low price on this item, your credit card will be charged upon order placement. The item will ship immediately upon release.

    Standard Return Policy:

    Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

    FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

    For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

    ** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.