James McMurtry - Walk Between the Raindrops

by Precision Series
Today: $16.24
Out of Stock

Club O Gold Members Earn

$0.81 | 5% Rewards*




5% Rewards

Earn even faster

Free Shipping

Never pay extra*

Exclusive Rewards

Save big-- up to 40%

Exclusive Offers

Straight to your inbox

5% Dining Rewards

Get paid to go out tonight

ITEM# 2386015
    Notify me when it is back in stock!

    Enter your email address, we will notify you if it comes back in stock.

Love this item?

Save it to a list so you can find it anytime!


something went wrong.

Please refresh the page and try again.


ITEM#: 2386015

Personnel: James McMurtry (vocals, guitar, fiddle, harmonica); Randy Garibay, Jr. (vocals); Lloyd Maines (guitar, dobro, mandolin); Charlie Sexton (guitar); George Morgan (pennywhistle); Jon Blondell (trombone); Lisa Mednick (keyboards); Fred Remmert (synthesizer, shaker); Daren Hess (drums, tambourine); Paul Pearcy, Chris Searles (drums, percussion); Charles Searles (drums). Audio Mixer: Fred Remmert. Recording information: Cedar Creek Recording Studios, Austin, TX; Flashpoint Studios, Austin, TX. Photographer: Wyatt McSpadden. Singer/songwriter James McMurtry, son of novelist Larry McMurtry (Lonesome Dove), seems to have inherited his father's knack for weaving a story with memorable characters, the aural equivalent of a page-tuner. McMurtry's tales of lovers, losers, wanderers and rebels trying to make their way through America's heartland are as rich with detail as anything by Faulkner or Capote. "Soda and Salt" is a darkly amusing tale of a rebel-without-a-cause--at the grade school level. The snaking, sardonic mid-tempo rocker "Racing to the Red Light" is a slice-of-life about a guy desperate to escape Nowheresville, USA, where most others seem content--or have just given up. Stylistically and vocally, McMurtry recalls Loudon Wainwright III (earthy but with a dry, wry wit), Lou Reed (if Reed had grown up in the Midwest) and John Mellencamp (catchy rock and roll with a keen awareness of the American working class and an affinity for folk and country). His tunes have subtle melodies and touches (like the Irish folk-tinge in "Every Little Bit Counts")--they don't hit you over the head, but instead get under your skin, like you're getting to know the people he's singing about. McMurtry's songs stay with you long after the player reads "0:00."


UPC 015891106021
Runtime 46 min.
Type Performer
Genre Country
Label Sugar Hill Records
Producer Lloyd Maines
Number of Discs 1
Track Listing Disc 1
  • 1. Walk Between the Raindrops
  • 2. Every Little Bit Counts
  • 3. Soda and Salt
  • 4. Fast as I Can
  • 5. Tired of Walking
  • 6. Airline Agent
  • 7. Racing to the Red Light
  • 8. Comfortable
  • 9. I Only Want to Talk to You
  • 10. Rex's Blues
Format Compact Disc
Spars Coding n/a
Artists McMurtry, James

Questions & Answers

Yay! Be the first to ask a question about this product.

Shopping Tips & Inspiration

Shipping & Returns

Contact Information
This product is not yet released, and is expected to ship on Aug. 18, 1998.

This date is subject to change. In order to assure you receive Overstock.com's low price on this item, your credit card will be charged upon order placement. The item will ship immediately upon release.

Standard Return Policy:

Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.


This item cannot be shipped to Alaska or Hawaii. More details

For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.