Hubert Laws - Land Of Passion

Today: $11.95
Out of stock

Club O Gold Members Earn

$0.60 | 5% Rewards*




5% Rewards

Earn even faster

Free Shipping

Never pay extra*

Exclusive Rewards

Save big-- up to 40%

Exclusive Offers

Straight to your inbox

5% Dining Rewards

Get paid to go out tonight

ITEM# 15088976
    Notify me when it is back in stock!

    Enter your email address, we will notify you if it comes back in stock.

Love this item?

Save it to a list so you can find it anytime!


something went wrong.

Please refresh the page and try again.


ITEM#: 15088976

Personnel: Hubert Laws (alto, flute); Debra Laws, Eloise Laws, Blanch Laws, Johnny Laws (vocals); Roland Bautista (guitar); Dorothy Wade, Marcia Van Dyke, Janice Dower, Robert Sushel, Sandy Seymour, Arnold Belnick, Bonnie Douglas, Paul Shure, Endre Granat (violin, strings); Ron Cooper, Raymond Kelly, Nils Oliver (cello); Ronnie Laws (saxophone); Garnett Brown, Benny Powell, Maurice Spears (trombone); Raymond Brown, Oscar Brashear, Snooky Young, Bobby Bryant (brass); Patrice Rushen (piano); Larry Dunn (synthesizer); Leon "Ndugu" Chancler (drums); Victor Feldman (percussion). When Columbia released Land of Passion in 1979, the album received scathing reviews from jazz critics. They knew Hubert Laws for his work as a jazz instrumentalist, and for the most part, Land of Passion isn't instrumental jazz -- it isn't hard bop, post-bop, or even fusion. The main focus of this LP is mellow, mildly jazzy R&B/pop (with the occasional instrumental). So serious jazz standards shouldn't be applied. Unfortunately, the critics who trashed Land of Passion did apply serious jazz standards, which is sort of like a food critic lambasting an Italian restaurant because it doesn't provide Vietnamese or Cambodian cuisine. Land of Passion needs to be judged by R&B/pop and quiet storm standards, and when those standards are applied, one has to say that this record is likable but not mind-blowing. Laws was obviously going after the quiet storm crowd when he recorded gentle tunes like "Music Forever" and "We're in Ecstasy." Arguably, quiet storm music falls into two main categories: R&B/pop vocals (Luther Vandross, Phyllis Hyman, Anita Baker) and R&B-minded crossover jazz (Grover Washington, Jr., David Sanborn, Lonnie Liston Smith). For the most part, this LP (which had yet to be reissued on CD when the 21st century arrived) falls into the former category, although it does contain two gently funky instrumentals: "We Will Be" and "Heartbeats." Neither are masterpieces, but they have a lot mor...


UPC 664140570825
Runtime 40 min.
Type Performer
Genre Easy Listening
Label Wounded Bird Records
Number of Discs 1
Track Listing Disc 1
  • 1. Music Forever
  • 2. Land of Passion
  • 3. We're in Ecstasy
  • 4. Heartbeats
  • 5. Key, The
  • 6. We Will Be
  • 7. Land of Passion [Single Edit]
Format Compact Disc
Spars Coding n/a
Artists Laws, Hubert
Country of Origin United States

Questions & Answers

Yay! Be the first to ask a question about this product.

Shopping Tips & Inspiration

Shipping & Returns

Contact Information
This product is not yet released, and is expected to ship on Jan. 29, 2013.

This date is subject to change. In order to assure you receive's low price on this item, your credit card will be charged upon order placement. The item will ship immediately upon release.

Standard Return Policy:

Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.