Read All Reviews for Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Child (Paperback)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
Club O Silver

Club O members earn Club O Rewards for writing reviews.

  • Book recommended to me
    Verified Purchase

    Book arrived very quickly. I have not started it yet as baby is not here but a friend recommended this to me who has three boys and they all started sleeping through the night by two months.

    Read More
    shopper November 16, 2014
  • Good book. Overstock good source
    Verified Purchase

    This book was recommended to me. I've found overstock.com to be a grat source for books

    Read More
    solargo June 25, 2011
  • Best Sleep Book out there
    Verified Purchase

    I have used this book since baby #1, and I now have 4 children. I tried Baby Wise (with baby #1), and it went against every motherly instinct I had (like "don't rock your baby to sleep", and "wake him up to feed him"). Healthy Sleep Habits is logical, common sense stuff that supports what decisions you choose to make with regard to raising your child. This is a very easy read, and also in sections by age and sections that discuss sleep problems or situations that come up that can affect sleep (like teething). I LOVE this book, and keep several copies on hand to give away as gifts for a new mom. I refer to it over and over again, when my babies reach a new stage of their sleep habits. To this day, my first child is my worst sleeper, and the following 3 have been very easy to train since going along with the advice and tips in this book.

    Read More
    pikasway November 9, 2010
  • Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Child
    Verified Purchase

    Great book for first time moms, I always give this as a baby shower gift that is practical!

    Read More
    hhansell June 8, 2008
  • Life Saver
    Verified Purchase

    This book completely changed my 8 month old son. He was a somber, straight-faced little guy until I started implementing these ideas. He soon became a great sleeper, which completely changed his attitude as well. I'm now using it to prevent sleep problems in my newborn. It is not a book that straight out tells you what to do. The author is a sleep researcher so he explains the anatomy of sleep to help you better understand your own child's needs. He offers strategies for different types of children and problems. I recommend this book to all my friends that are having babies.

    Read More
    nickiswan February 21, 2008
  • Informative and reassuring
    Verified Purchase

    I like to describe myself as being a mommy with a balance of both "attachment parenting" and "routine" approach. When my daughter was born, I knew that I wanted to be her constant comfort, to keep her close to me often, but I also wanted to make sure that I didn't go to the extreme and ignore the needs of her body in the process! This book does an EXCELLENT job of teaching about the neurological development process of children, and how to discern their sleep needs from birth through adolescence. The approach is very common sense and reasonable, without the author trying to force a "one-size-fits-all", rigid format onto every child!

    Read More
    lovetobemommy February 4, 2008
  • Great sleep book
    Verified Purchase

    This is our second copy of this book -- we "loaned" the first one to a friend that had a baby and never got it back. 4 years later, the advice we'd forgotten is (hopefully!) helping us with a new baby.

    Read More
    jilldvm October 25, 2007
  • Helpful, but with flaws...
    Verified Purchase

    I was so happy to get this book as a parent to a 4 month old who DOES NOT SLEEP...it had a lot of helpful information on how to help him get used to routines and about making sure he gets enough sleep, but no :magical answer" to the question of how to do I actually GET him to sleep....it was still informative and I am sure I will use it more once I have him sleeping somewhere other than my arms!!

    Read More
    mom2gizmo August 29, 2007
  • Convenience and a Great Source of Information
    Verified Purchase

    Several people had recommended this book to me and when I managed to run out to the bookstore between my full-time job and caring for my 4 month old, they didn't have it in stock. When I got back to the office, I looked it up on overstock. Not only did they have it, but they had it at a great price! As for the book once it arrived, it has been incredibly helpful. My daughter always slept well at night but didn't take consistent naps (and rarely slept for more than 30 minutes at a time during the day). After reading this book and using its principles, she is now a good sleeper all around and a happier baby when she is awake!

    Read More
    newlamom August 15, 2007
  • Repetative
    Verified Purchase

    Only down fall to this book is it is very repetative. The author could get the point across in a more concise manner.

    Read More
    lgayled August 1, 2007
  • nice
    Verified Purchase

    Helps out many unanswered questions. Not a 'mean' book. Helps you understand your babies needs.

    Read More
    tayl3334 September 7, 2006
  • Don't have kids without it!

    This book was given to us as a gift and also recommended by a half dozen or so other friends. I have a 12 month old who has always been an excellent sleeper, due in large part I believe, to this book. There have been times that I've had a momentary lapse in sanity, apparently, and deviated from my normal routine which was developed with this book. I get frustrated, not knowing what is going on with my child, re-read the appropriate chapters and go back to our normal routine. Amazingly it always works so I will NEVER deviate from the help this book offers again! Reading this book, which takes you through adolescence, is the best thing you can do for your child. Thank you Dr. Weissbluth!!!

    Read More
    mybabysleeps August 16, 2006
  • This book will help parents understand WHY their children need sleep as much as they do and the consequences they reap when it doesn't happen. I truly believe that alot of our children's problems might be solved if parents knew how important sleep was for their children.

    Read More
    January 30, 2006
  • This is the best book to help parents learn about sleep! If you want a healthy, happy, and well adjusted child, this is a must-have! It's simple to understand and the information just makes sense. And, best of all, it works!

    Read More
    January 30, 2006
  • Best baby book ever! I didn't read it until I had my third and fourth children(twins) and it saved my life. I wish I had known how much easier my life would have been if I'd had my first two on a schedule. My twins rarely get cranky because they get enough sleep.

    Read More
    January 30, 2006
  • Excellent book. Very helpful especially with newborns.

    Read More
    January 30, 2006
  • Great book! I highly recommend it.

    Read More
    January 30, 2006
  • This book is a fabulous resource and a great help in establishing healthy sleep.

    Read More
    January 30, 2006
  • We have really enjoyed the information in the book. Are child is 6 weeks and he already sleeps through the night. It is awesome. I would recommend it to anyone.

    Read More
    January 30, 2006
  • I absolutely love this book. I have finally gotten my children to sleep well using these techniques. It has all the information you will ever need to get your child to sleep better. I really like how it is broken up into age appropriate sections as well.

    Read More
    January 30, 2006
Sponsored Links