George Jones - 50 Years of Hits

by Precision Series
Today: $24.04
Free Shipping*

Club O Gold Members Earn

$1.20 | 5% Rewards*




5% Rewards

Earn even faster

Free Shipping

Never pay extra*

Exclusive Rewards

Save big-- up to 40%

Exclusive Offers

Straight to your inbox

5% Dining Rewards

Get paid to go out tonight

ITEM# 3199893
  • Delivery Estimate

    Select a Product Option to view shipping

      **Delivery date is approximate and not guaranteed. Estimates include processing and shipping times, and are only available in US (excluding APO/FPO and PO Box addresses). Final shipping costs are available at checkout.

    • Warranty
      Select an option before changing warranty
    • Notifications

    Love this item?

    Save it to a list so you can find it anytime!


    something went wrong.

    Please refresh the page and try again.


    ITEM#: 3199893

    Personnel: George Jones (vocals, guitar); Melba Montgomery (vocals); Garth Brooks, Alan Jackson, Merle Haggard, Randy Travis , Tammy Wynette, Waylon Jennings. Liner Note Author: George Jones. Even the title of the three-disc George Jones collection 50 YEARS OF HITS should be enough to tell you that the man being anthologized is one of the all-time giants of country music. A towering influence on all that followed him, not only in country but in rock and pop as well, Jones started out in the 1950s as a Hank Williams-influenced honky-tonk man who wasn't afraid of a little rockabilly either (the Hank influence is clearly audible on such early tracks as "Just One More"). By the '60s, he'd refined his approach, taking a bit from the jazz-inflected style of Lefty Frizzell and becoming a striking balladeer. "She Thinks I Still Care" and "Color of the Blues" stand as templates for how to sing a country ballad. For most performers, that would have been enough, but Jones never stopped turning out heart-stopping performances. This is underscored by the presence of the mid-period mind-blower "He Stopped Loving Her Today," which reaches a superhuman level of pathos, and latter-day tracks such as the unstintingly bleak "The Cold Hard Truth," as well as the high-spirited, good-humored "Beer Run (B Double E Double Are You In?)." In case future generations want to know what country music was all about back in the 20th century, there should be a copy of 50 YEARS OF HITS placed in a time capsule.


    UPC 015707022026
    Runtime 150 min.
    Type Performer
    Genre Oldies
    Sub Genre Rockabilly
    Label Welk Music Group
    Producer Pappy Daily; Billy Sherrill; Norro Wilson; Buddy Cannon; Kyle Lehning; Emory Gordy, Jr.; Keith Stegall; Brian Ahern; Pappy Daily
    Number of Discs 3
    Track Listing Disc 1
    • 1. Why Baby Why
    • 2. Just One More
    • 3. Tall Tall Trees
    • 4. Color of the Blues
    • 5. White Lightning
    • 6. Window Up Above
    • 7. Tender Years
    • 8. She Thinks I Still Care
    • 9. You Comb Her Hair
    • 10. Race Is On, The
    • 11. We Must Have Been Out of Our Minds
    • 12. Still Doin' Time
    • 13. Walk Through This World With Me
    • 14. She's Mine
    • 15. I'll Share My World With You
    • 16. Good Year for the Roses, A
    • 17. Take Me
    Disc 2
    • 1. Picture of Me, A (Without You)
    • 2. Once You've Had the Best
    • 3. Grand Tour, The
    • 4. These Days I Barely Get By
    • 5. Her Name Is...
    • 6. Near You
    • 7. Bartender's Blues
    • 8. Night Life
    • 9. He Stopped Loving Her Today
    • 10. Yesterday's Wine
    • 11. Same Ole Me
    • 12. I Always Get Lucky With You
    • 13. She's My Rock
    • 14. Who's Gonna Fill Their Shoes
    • 15. One I Loved Back Then, The (The Corvette Song)
    • 16. Right Left Hand, The
    • 17. Radio Lover
    Disc 3
    • 1. I'm a One Woman Man
    • 2. Few Ole Country Boys, A
    • 3. You Couldn't Get the Picture
    • 4. Finally Friday
    • 5. I Don't Need Your Rockin' Chair
    • 6. High-Tech Redneck
    • 7. One
    • 8. I Must Have Done Something Bad
    • 9. When Did You Stop Loving Me
    • 10. Wild Irish Rose
    • 11. Choices
    • 12. Cold Hard Truth, The
    • 13. Beer Run (B Double E Double Are You In?)
    • 14. 50,000 Names
    • 15. I Got Everything
    • 16. Amazing Grace
    Format Compact Disc
    Spars Coding n/a
    Artists Jones, George
    Dimensions 0

    Product Reviews

    5 Stars
    4 Stars
    3 Stars
    2 Stars
    1 Stars
    Club O Silver

    Club O members earn Club O Rewards for writing reviews.

    • Most Recent

    • love the possum
      Verified Purchase

      Love George's music; never a disappointment

      Read More

    Questions & Answers

    Yay! Be the first to ask a question about this product.

    Shopping Tips & Inspiration

    Shipping & Returns

    Contact Information

    This item will be delivered to you via USPS Trackable Media Mail or UPS Mail Innovations and will take from 2 days to 3 weeks from the time the item leaves our warehouse. *

    This product is not yet released, and is expected to ship on Nov. 9, 2004.

    This date is subject to change. In order to assure you receive's low price on this item, your credit card will be charged upon order placement. The item will ship immediately upon release.

    Standard Return Policy:

    Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

    FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

    For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

    ** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.