Read All Reviews for Dreams from My Father: A Story of Race and Inheritance (Paperback)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Dreams from my father
    Verified Purchase

    Pleased to have President Obama's book added to our home library

    Read More
    jnotary June 6, 2015
  • Great gift!
    Verified Purchase

    Bought this book as a gift for my Aunt. We're both big supporters of our President so I know she'll enjoy this book!

    Read More
    lorrielu July 25, 2012
  • Great Gift for Dad
    Verified Purchase

    I love purchasing books on Overstock and this was no different. It arrived in perfect condition and my father enjoyed the read.

    Read More
    classicsforgreenville April 27, 2012
  • Very well written!
    Verified Purchase

    I gave this to my college son for Christmas. I was very disappointed with the time it took. I ordered it on 12/15/2011 It didn't arrive until after the New Year.. Disappointed. However my son seems to be thoroughly engrossed. I've read a couple chapters. The writing is impeccable.. Wow.. I'm an English critic.. Story line also grabs and hold the reader's attention. My kid won't put it down!

    Read More
    sammj January 10, 2012
  • recommend this
    Verified Purchase

    enjoyed content and layout of this book. very good and interesting reading!

    Read More
    andyjack971 October 18, 2011
  • Dreams From My Farher
    Verified Purchase

    Highly recommended for EVERYONE of any political or religious persuasion. People need to know WHO their President is. He is an amazing man and this is an amazing story that proves the content of his character.

    Read More
    roverdi October 3, 2009
  • Great Book
    Verified Purchase

    Great book, well written, very entertaining. Obama is a competent leader with down to earth roots.

    Read More
    lesg98 July 4, 2009
  • BOOK LOVER
    Verified Purchase

    GREAT BOOK CANT PUT IT DOWN UNTIL YOU FINISH. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS BOOK TO EVERYONE.

    Read More
    babytwin February 8, 2009
  • Obama memoirs
    Verified Purchase

    Great background history on Obama. Reads more like a novel.

    Read More
    runabout1 January 1, 2009
  • Dreams from My Father
    Verified Purchase

    This was an excellent book. It was one of those novels that once you start to read you do not want to put down. If you want to know the true story about Barrack Obama and how he became the Man and the Presidential candidate that he has become, this is a must read book.

    Read More
    netakaye September 9, 2008
  • A must read and great gift for anyone
    Verified Purchase

    I was pleasantly surprised, this is a really good book to read. I couldn't put it down. This is a great personable look into the author's life and background. Very enriching and well written with lots of compassion. Great father's day gift.

    Read More
    patndc June 18, 2008
  • Dreams from My Father
    Verified Purchase

    I haven't finished reading the book yet...it's the type of book you CAN put down. But you want to pick it up again in a couple of days. The story is okay...I think just too long. May instead of 300+ pages it could have easily been 100.

    Read More
    psychemnemonic March 19, 2008
  • Timely reading
    Verified Purchase

    Very easy to get into, wanted to know more about this potential Preidental Canidate. Gives an honest account of his background.

    Read More
    andrew01 March 19, 2008
  • Love it so far
    Verified Purchase

    I am only up to like the third chaper, but I love it so far. I actually lover this guy and am in full support of him being my next president. My brother had the pleasure of meeting him and said that he is really a charismatic, humble individual. I am in line with all of his values and I look forward to completing this book about the life of (very possibly) my future president.

    Read More
    babycheeks78 March 3, 2008
  • Highly recommended
    Verified Purchase

    One can't help but be drawn into this book. Powerful insight into a man who is part of our nation's present and will be part of our history. Take the time to read this book.

    Read More
    jojoii May 16, 2007
  • Interesting book...
    Verified Purchase

    This book was very entertaining and informative. Barack has opened himself up to the public reading world. I think he did a great job expressing himself and his family values. I would recommend this book to anyone who values family and history.

    Read More
    anakiat May 12, 2007
  • Dreams from my father
    Verified Purchase

    Although I am still reading the book, I findi it quite candid and true to reality, as lived by Obama and anyone who happens to be a minority in America who happened to be raised in a so called "third-world country" --- you just has to live it to believe it.

    Read More
    rev47 March 26, 2007
  • relevant and evocative title
    Verified Purchase

    Well-written and interesting, this book is especially relevant to USA voters, as the author, Barak Obama, is in the running for US president in the next election year. The majority of the book was written well before he had any presidential aspirations, and that makes it all the more refreshing and believable. Growing up in Hawaii and Indonesia, idolizing a father he met only once, conflicted about his racial identity, young Obama struggled to find his path. After 4 years in Chicage as a neighborhood organizer, then a long-awaited visit to Africa to discover his roots, Obama finds many of his answers.

    Read More
    susieq106 March 18, 2007
  • Dreams of My Father
    Verified Purchase

    Really good job at being candid but not gratuitous. A nice rainy day, or plane ride type read.

    Read More
    joey6 December 19, 2006
  • Verified Purchase

    Read More
    furbabymom February 14, 2017
Sponsored Links