Free Shipping* & 5% Rewards On Every Order* With Club O
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for American Horticultural Society A-Z Encyclopedia Of Garden Plants (Hardcover)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • good
    Verified Purchase

    Was highly recommended but I don't see any difference between this book and the western sunset book. Did not have a lot of stuff the western one had.

    Read More
    peggy s. February 2, 2016
  • Not great
    Verified Purchase

    Each plant has little information, not so helpful.

    Read More
    catskillmt April 21, 2015
  • Excellent Value
    Verified Purchase

    Just what I was looking for. All the information one could need. Was recommended to me by a cooperative extension master gardner. It is the reference they use.

    Read More
    nanaquinn June 23, 2008
  • Great book
    Verified Purchase

    Wow ,this book is awesome. Has everything in here you would want to know about plants. I love to be able to look it up by the common name & find out everything you would want to know about the plant.

    Read More
    happygardenercus May 26, 2008
  • good info, especially for horticultural varieties
    Verified Purchase

    the book is a great resource for gardeners and growers, and inculdes good info on a ton of horticultural varieties. i like the way it includes heat tolerance info as well as frost tolerance (heat zones and climatic zones). the info is a little sparse for some taxa though. for instance the commonly cultivated genus Encyclia is apparently missing, as are some more obscure genera and species that I have found in other books. still, this is a very worthwhile purchase and an excellent reference book for any indoor or outdoor gardener.

    Read More
    Cody H. March 18, 2008
  • American Horticultural Society Encyclopedia of Gar
    Verified Purchase

    Amazing amount of info. Everything you wanna know.

    Read More
    boughtabook December 31, 2007
  • American Horticultural Society A-Z Encyclopedia Of
    Verified Purchase

    This book is very informative and lists MANY plant cultivars, cultivation and propagation techniques, and also lists pests and diseases. It contains many photos of cultivars, plus a visual glossary on plant structures. The index lists both botanical and common names. The first 54 pages list different plant groups and information about each, the life cycle of a plant, etc. I was able to find this book on Overstock for half the price of other sites. It's a necessity for beginners and experts and very easy to use.

    Read More
    ashleyashley24 August 29, 2007
  • American Horticultural Society A-Z Encyclopedia Of
    Verified Purchase

    I you LOVE Flowers, this is a must have Book. Great Book. Great Price

    Read More
    mariandle May 22, 2007
  • if you only have room for one garden book

    this would be the one to have. I own a garden shop and refer to this book a gazillion times a day. The index is great with lots of 'common names' for plants while the book is organized alphabetically by latin names. The first pages are guides to pruning, pest identification, disease identification, USDA zone maps etc. The pictures are top notch, and ALL the info you might need is included in each listing. If I have one complaint, it would be that the pictures are almost all closeups of flowers or leaves, and there are few pictures of the overall plant for reference in the landscape. I own two copies of this book, and will be paying for another one for my daughter's landscape business rather than giving over one of my copies.

    Read More
    sarahdoh November 17, 2006
Sponsored Links