Read All Reviews for A People's History of the United States (Paperback)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
Club O Silver

Club O members earn Club O Rewards for writing reviews.

  • Donna
    Verified Purchase

    This should be required reading for every citizen of the United States.

    Read More
    sigma67 May 18, 2016
  • Another perspective
    Verified Purchase

    Not all history is written by the winners. This book was written by, for and about the losers. You won't hear these truths in school. Only for the open-minded willing to really think about the effects of power and conquest.

    Read More
    dragonlady86 January 16, 2016
  • alternative viewpoint
    Verified Purchase

    No whitewashing of history. When it say's People's History it is meant!! Viewpoint of the John and Jane Doe's of the world and the struggles they went through.

    Read More
    bookgeek November 29, 2011
  • should be required reading in schools
    Verified Purchase

    If you feel like taking your head outta your butt and learning just how screwed up our so-called heroic founding fathers were... read this. It is important to get this point of view because most of us are the little guy who will be crapped on by the country self-proclaimed elites.

    Read More
    nwinjay July 19, 2011
  • Legit
    Verified Purchase

    Perfect condition classic book for unbeatable price. Totally legit deal for the real, original, compelling book

    Read More
    dreambigmg February 15, 2011
  • Distorted History

    This is a very distorted history. Rather than directing anyone to a particular book or books that I know are more accurate, I suggest you read source material - letters, diaries, etc. You'll be surprised!

    Read More
    mombearof2 June 28, 2010
  • Wikipedia on Howard Zinn
    Verified Purchase

    Since I have just received the book and have not read it, I offer a description from Wikipedia: "A People's History of the United States is a 1980 non-fiction book by late American historian and political scientist Howard Zinn. In the book, Zinn seeks to present American history through the eyes of working people, rather than political and economic elites. A People's History has become a major success and was a runner-up in 1980 for the National Book Award. It has been adopted for reading in some high schools and colleges across the United States and has been frequently revised, with the most recent edition covering events through 2003. In 2003, Zinn was awarded the Prix des Amis du Monde Diplomatique for the French version of this book, Une histoire populaire des Etats-Unis.[1] Over one million copies have been sold."

    Read More
    mmmmarshall April 5, 2010
  • A People's History of the United States
    Verified Purchase

    The book came in excellent condition---and quite speedily! Thank you.

    Read More
    sjoanw49 March 17, 2010
  • Should be required reading.

    This is an incredible book. It contains many of the truths our public schools/government does not want our students to know. This should be required reading for every high school student. The text is very readable and one can skip back and forth between decades or subject. The book contained the best explanation and history of the Vietnam War I've read.

    Read More
    laura b. December 4, 2007
  • awesome read

    This is a fantastic book. As long as you are willing to learn about our country's past, you will not be disappointed. This book is about truth and the struggles. This is what the history books dont want to include because they are written by those who won the wars.

    Read More
    cteli May 7, 2007
  • good
    Verified Purchase

    i just needed this book for class. i'm not a history buff but its a good read. the condition was okay.

    Read More
    kaylee0628 September 18, 2006
Sponsored Links