Today: $8.22
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for 1984 (Paperback)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
Club O Silver

Club O members earn Club O Rewards for writing reviews. Learn More

  • Required reading especially now
    Verified Purchase

    One of Orwell's finest works, he predicted many years ago in his Sci-fi classic that "Big Brother" would be watching us all. 1984 used to be required reading in school. I highly recommend this book especially now, to everyone!!

    Read More
    lynnenyc December 25, 2016
  • Boring and Depressing
    Verified Purchase

    I did not finish this book. IT was boring and depressing.

    Read More
    whatonearthfor May 11, 2016
  • Very good and very prophetic.
    Verified Purchase

    I'd always heard about this book but disregarded the reviews as overly possitive. As I read it I realized that the book has a direct and accurate view of the way governments work today. It should be a book on anyone's reading list.

    Read More
    4saken June 29, 2012
  • Good book
    Verified Purchase

    Good book, this is a great piece of literature....

    Read More
    jason901519 December 6, 2011
  • A must-read!
    Verified Purchase

    This book is a must-read for every man, woman, and child, especially in today's political environment.

    Read More
    stephaniedb November 11, 2011
  • 1984
    Verified Purchase

    Book came in good shape, no problem there. Shipping took longer than expected. A classic novel for my collection.

    Read More
    schmooz69 September 9, 2010
  • 1984.... Today!

    Practically everyone in today's world has heard a phrase that originated with this novel: Big Brother is Watching. It is a real shame that while so many have heard that phrase, so very few have actually read the book.Read the novel, and while reading, keep in mind the events, policies and practices of the State in real life, here right now.When he wrote this book, Orwell imagined a horrendous future in which a totalitarian government constantly monitored the movements and communications of its citizens. He imagined a future in which it would be difficult, if not impossible, to distinguish news from propaganda and governmental truth from governmental lies. He postulated a future in which history was re-written to suit the current needs of the State. He foretold of a time when cameras were omnipresent, and privacy was utterly a thing of the past.I challenge anyone to read this book and not come away shocked at how close we are to living.... in 1984.

    Read More
    komicsken August 9, 2009
  • It's a classic
    Verified Purchase

    As far-fetched as parts of the book may be, many ideas are very real: control by marginalization, fascism, and dishonest media to name a few.

    Read More
    jfi43jfahe9f8efrjwaep98fj July 9, 2007
  • 1984
    Verified Purchase

    Excellent value. Came sooner than I expected. I had been looking for locally and couldn't find.

    Read More
    woodsedge July 4, 2007
Sponsored Links