Starting at $155.99

Save $338.00 (68%)

Free Shipping*
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Serta Ultimate 4-inch Visco Memory Foam Mattress Topper

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Great gift for college students!
    Verified Purchase

    I live in a dorm on my college campus, and the beds are horrible to sleep on. They are very stiff and quite uncomfortable. The Serta memory foam mattress makes such a difference! The only downside about it is the smell - I tried to sleep on it the night i got it, but the smell from the foam just made me nauseous. Definitely need to air it out for atleast a day or two --- and if that doesn't work, put some fabric softener sheets across the mattress pad and all should be good. Definitely a great gift for any college student!

    Read More
    Anonymous November 23, 2007
  • memory foam mattress topper
    Verified Purchase

    My back has been hurting for years, couldn't get the right mattress, and they are expensive, saw this on Overstock.com, saw the price and decided to try it. I can't tell you how much better my nights are, the back is great!! The sleep is so comfortable, I show everyone and let them lay on it, I should have bought it years ago. And the one thing I was worried about was the sheets, I have a pillow top mattress and with this 4 inches, wasn't sure if the sheets would fit, but they do, most of the sheets now are deep pocket, so it works just great! You would never believe how much better you can sleep with this mattress topper.

    Read More
    tessalu November 23, 2007
  • Severe Back Problems
    Verified Purchase

    I have very severe back problems and have read on my Back Help line how the topper has helped so many people. I tried it and so far it has been great. My husband loves it also. It is the smartest money we have ever spent. We also love the pillows. We put our mattress pad on top of it and it has not been too hot at all.

    Read More
    katieb7 November 23, 2007
  • Not right for us
    Verified Purchase

    I think this mattress topper is very comfortable. Just not on my bed. My husband and I have body indentations in our current mattress from where we sleep. The mattress is about 8 years old and we just aren't in the market to buy a new bed yet. We decided to try this memory foam topper to see if it would help. Unfortunately, the mattress topper dips in the same exact spaces that our mattress does. Therefore, we woke up sinking in our own body molds and with major back pain. Because the topper sunk where the mattress sinks, we couldn't get good support for our backs. It would be more stable with a board underneath it. So there was no difference for us. However, we took it off the bed, put it on the floor, folded it in half (vertically) and tried lying on it for awhile and it was great. So, if I wake up in the middle of the night with back pain I can go into another room and lie down on this for the remainder of the evening. It's not the ideal situation, but it will do until we are ready to plop down $5000 for a tempurpedic.

    Read More
    dlrg November 23, 2007
  • AAAAAAHHHHH Yes...
    Verified Purchase

    I reviewed this topper and the suggested down alternative cover together because, in my opinion, you should not use this product without a cover of some type. I have only used this topper with the suggested cover. Serta Topper Review My wife and I purchased this because the typical coil mattress is too firm for my back. I have two herniated discs in my lumbar (lower back) and scoliosis. Lying flat on my back aggravates the condition. I typically wake up in the morning with pain and stiffness, and I have difficulty standing straight sometimes. Here is my review of the 4¿ memory foam topper after more than a month of use. Packaging: The entire package felt a bit heavy, but not as bad as I had feared. It¿s certainly too heavy for the tape used. There is only one piece of tape on each end and it was already ripped. Better tape and more of it is strongly suggested. The item could have rolled out of either end. The only branding was the tape on the box and a sticker in the plastic wrapper, but then again I¿ve never seen branding on a piece of foam. The box was less than three feet long and would fit easily in the back seat of a car if you needed to transport it (of course, once you allow the bed to expand you'll never get it back to that size - a machine is used to package it). The topper was rolled up and felt like an unbaked loaf of bread - kind of doughy. Shipping: The topper was shipped via DHL within a day of my order. It only took two days to arrive. The shipper is listed as Advanced Urethane Tech in West Chicago, IL. Tracking information was available and so I knew when to expect the package. The cover for the topper was shipped via FedEx and was sent at the same time. It came from IA. They arrived the same day. In summary, I ordered on a Sunday and was sleeping on it by Wednesday night. Setup: The instructions were very simple. Remove plastic and allow up to twenty-four hours for the foam to return to its original shape. This really took less than 10 minutes. We started on one corner of the foot of the bed and it rolled out to the head. It's folded in half before it's rolled, so flip the top half over to make it full size. This mattress fits perfectly with the suggested cover (place bottom part of cover on bed before rolling out topper and then flip the top over and zip). Condition: There was almost no odor to this foam (and we bought some stinky memory foam pillows in the past that stunk up the entire room for days, so we knew what to be afraid of with this much material). If you stick your nose on it and sniff you will detect a slight chemical smell, but you cannot smell this through the suggested cover. The documentation mentions a "Patent Pending Carbon" manufacturing process that eliminates the odor. The foam felt very spongy. Imagine sitting on your sofa cushions when removed from their covers. It felt kind of an awkward and sticky uncovered. Quality/appearance: It looks much like the picture. It has a light yellowish tone and the color is consistent all over. It is very porous, almost like Swiss cheese. It looks very good in the cover (and very incomplete without one). Size: Perhaps there are variations on mattresses from different makers. The topper one was about an inch or so short of my mattress on the left and right and about an inch short at the head and foot. Standard sheets will likely not cover both the topper and the mattress on your bed. We¿re considering our options, which include getting oversized sheets or getting an extra matching sheet (with the elastic ¿ don¿t know what it¿s called) and covering the mattress and topper separately. Over the course of several nights, this topper will travel an inch or two, which is not a big deal because it's pretty easy to straighten back up. Comfort: My initial impression was very good. We immediately placed the optional/suggested padded cover on it. The best description is that the topper is very plush. Lying on my back, my tail sinks down a little farther and the rest of my body creates a slight lift to the legs and head. This is kind of similar to a normal bed with 2 pillows under the knees and head, but not so extreme. The topper allows for a slight bend to the lower back and hips which is exactly what was being sought for the relief of my back condition. I experience a very plush, soothing sensation on this thing. It is not for someone seeking a firm, flat position. If two adults are sharing the bed, and they end up close to one another, they will sink into one large hole together and might feel trapped as they attempt to roll apart. This might happen several times per night as they move about in their sleep, potentially causing one or both to periodically wake up. We eventually adapted to this. Requisite: Buy the suggested padded cover. This topper really is not meant to be used without one. Memory foam mattresses usually come with some type of covering. The material could be sensitive to sharp objects (your belt buckle could snag it). You wouldn't remove the sofa cushions from their covers and sit directly on them. It's the same thing with this foam mattress topper. Before purchasing this item, I noticed the reviews for the cover were almost all positive, though washing apparently ruins it from what I read. If you treat the topper and cover like a mattress, you will use sheets. You cannot wash a mattress, anyway. To sample: Visit mattress store. This is the top layer of a two or three layer memory foam mattress. It's the functional part and feels exactly like one of the softer memory foam beds. Testers' physical conditions: Male (review author), 37, with two herniated discs in lower back and scoliosis, 6'2", 215 pounds. Female, 27, good health, 5'4", 140 pounds. Testers' improvements after use: I experienced significant improvement to my lower back, which is where the worst pain is from. The rest of the back is unchanged. My wife is still getting used to it but likes how it makes her feel warmer in our cold bedroom. She says the topper removes a lot of the stress from her back and she recommends it. Response to other reviews: I read through many of the reviews. I worried about the negatives. At the time when I was looking to purchase, most of recent reviews were excellent and almost no reviews were bad so I figured the problems of the older reviews had been worked out and I made my purchase. The suggested cover does make a slight crinkling sound like the liner on a baby¿s bed, but I really only noticed it because some reviews mentioned it. This really doesn¿t bother me, especially considering the comfort I experience. Summary: If you want a bedding surface which is plush, where you really sink into it, buy this. If you like a firmer feel, then don¿t. As far as curing physical ailments, everybody is different so no promises. However, I can say it helped me and since many of the reviews agree with me your chances might be good. I do happen to like this very much and my wife is also pleased, so I¿m going to recommend it. Be sure to get the cover or else it will be incomplete.

    Read More
    awheat2000 November 21, 2007
  • matress
    Verified Purchase

    I would recomened this for anyone with back problems.

    Read More
    jemule November 21, 2007
  • Serta Foam Mattress Topper
    Verified Purchase

    I was pretty sceptical about buying this mattress topper. But it has really helped me sleep better without tossing and turning. I can literally feel my body relax and mold into it. If you don't have lots of $$ to spend on expensive mattresses such as Thempur-Pedic, this is a very inexpensive solution that you will feel happy to own. Your back and body will thank you. The only downside is that there is a certain smell that takes a while to dissapear as it settles into its desired form.

    Read More
    agusta969 November 20, 2007
  • a winner!
    Verified Purchase

    I LOVE this topper. I have had trouble with my lower back for months and a shoulder injury. Within 3 nights of sleeping on the topper, I feel 100% better! Sleeping like a baby in comfort and feeling wonderful the next day. I can't believe how happy I am with this product! A+++I recommend this to anyone with back problems.

    Read More
    ye4266 November 20, 2007
  • We LOVE this Mattress Topper
    Verified Purchase

    My husband and I both have bad backs, and this topper really is helping us rest better. I am currently looking for a Down Alternative Cover in King size, but have yet to find one, so we are just using our bottom sheet over it, but we really need a separate cover as the sheets keep popping off the extra depth.

    Read More
    starrpiercy November 20, 2007
  • Serta Ultimate 4-inch Memory Foam Mattress Topper
    Verified Purchase

    This mattress topper really is comfortable and does help when sleeping on it . We have added a thin slat of wood under it to make sleeping easier as it was not only conforming to us, but when we slept it conformed to the mattress below us. The problem with it is that it is cut 3 inches shorter than a normal queen size bed so it doesn't fit well and we have to make adjustments to sleep on it.

    Read More
    jk01 November 20, 2007
  • topper
    Verified Purchase

    we love this this is the second one we pruchased and sure make our beds more comfortable. our friends also bought them.. every couple of months we turn them or turn them over depending the size ordered.

    Read More
    hayne November 20, 2007
  • Awesome!!
    Verified Purchase

    I work midnights and have a hard time sleeping on the mattress that I have. One of my co-workiers had suggested checking out Overstock.com which is what I did. I had just completed three midnight shifts and there on my doorsteps when I got home was the box from Overstock.com. I really wasn't expecting it to come in four days. Four days!! How awesome. Everything the product list had said was true. I totally recommend this foam memory mattress pad. It has made a world of difference. And you can't beat shipping as low as they have here! Seriously, if you have problems, just try it.

    Read More
    graveyardrn November 20, 2007
  • Mattress topper
    Verified Purchase

    Now I can sleep at night on the most comfortable and affordable matress topper. No more tossing and turning. Great price!! Fast delivery!!!

    Read More
    luvsbirds November 20, 2007
  • This thing is great!!!
    Verified Purchase

    I had just bought a new bed and thought it was very comfortable but then I got this mattress topper and the comfort level went up 1000%, now I don't want to get out of the bed in the morning because it is so comfortable. My back feels great now and I get a great nights sleep. I totally recommend this product. I am going to buy one for my parents I really think they will love it as much as I do.

    Read More
    nuendoguy November 20, 2007
  • Foam Mattress
    Verified Purchase

    The mattress arrived with the box pretty beat up. After opening it and taking out the plastic covered mattress I discovered that there was a deep cut through the plastic and the mattress running lengthwise in about the middle of the king size mattress. It was so heavy and my back was in bad enough shape that I decided to keep it as the split would be in the center between two sleepers. I don't know how long it will last, but the foam expanded to full expanded size and I am getting a great night's sleep.

    Read More
    rand2 November 19, 2007
  • Great buy
    Verified Purchase

    Two points: First - BUY ONE SIZE LARGER. I have a full size mattress, but having read the other reviews, I purchased a queen size memory foam, and I was lucky to have done so. Although it looked much too large when I first unrolled it, after I put the foam on the bed, I discovered that the "queen" size foam matched the borders of my full size bed perfectly, and my fitted sheets fit snugly over both the memory foam and mattress (though it was a little bit of a battle). If I had bought the "full" size foam, I suspect the useable space of my already-small bed would have dropped substantially. Second, the foam does reek when you first open it so you will need to air it out, but the odor dissipates in about 24 hours, after which you'd have to bury your nose in it to smell anything. I have a history of very bad neck & shoulder pain, so I decided to invest in a memory foam. Aside from just being a excellent bargain, the mattress provided great support through the night. I sat up & read in bed for a little while, and found my lower back cradled perfectly. Usually, I wake up in the middle of the night tossing and turning, but didn't with this memory foam. Most importantly, I did not wake up with my usual shoulder or neck pain.

    Read More
    shoulderpain November 19, 2007
  • Not what I expected
    Verified Purchase

    I am a little dissapointed in this topper. I bought this for a king size bed and it's a little off as far as size goes. Also, this thing moves all over my regular mattress, it does not stay put no matter what I try. I really thought by getting the 4' topper that I would be sleeping great by now, but to tell you the truth, I am not. I am right now debating on what I should do with the thing. You know, do I take it off, or leave it on. also, plan on buying some deep pocket bed sheets because regular bed sheets do not stay on because of the thickness between the topper and your mattress.

    Read More
    dr3529 November 19, 2007
  • Sleeping on a Cloud
    Verified Purchase

    I had a name brand mattress topper, but this one is by far the most comfortable that I have every slept on. My kids want one now. This topper envelopes you and hugs you. I have 3 bad discs in my lower back and then topper has helped my pain level tremedously. I highly recommend this product.

    Read More
    blondie67 November 19, 2007
  • PaulaAnne
    Verified Purchase

    This is the best product for sleeping I have ever purchased. We needed some extra volume on the bed in our RV. This mattress topper added volume and extreme comfort. I will probably purchase another topper to use on our bed at home!

    Read More
    November 19, 2007
  • Serta Memory Foam Topper
    Verified Purchase

    Great product. Doesn't look very fancy, but WOW, is it comfortable. My husband hasn't liked any of the mattresses we have ever purchased. He is FINALLY satisfied and sleeping like a baby!!

    Read More
    finallysleepingwell November 19, 2007
Sponsored Links