Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Maxine Paisley 3-piece Cotton Duvet Cover Set

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Relevant
  • Most Relevant
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Maxine Printed Paisley Duvet Set
    Verified Purchase

    Let's face it, with Overstock, it's a hit or miss game. This duvet is a hit. The product arrived exactly as described. The fabric was soft, the measurements exactly correct. (I ordered the 86 x 86 size) The shams fit perfectly for a regular sized bed pillow (meaning the proper size for this set). The fabric is soft and the edges are tailored so that the buttons on the duvet are hidden once properly closed. I will probably dry clean to be on the safe side.For those who posted that the fabric was "yellow", I can see some feeling that way, but really it is a deep or a rich ivory or one or two shades UP (meaning lighter) from being an "egg nog" colour. The only thing I would add would be to sew four ribbons on the inside of each corner of the duvet to prevent any shifting. If you decide to do it, make your ribbons about 8" long , fold in half and securely sew on the crease into each corner. Then tie each corner of your duvet to the ribbons. Does the trick every time.Hope this helps! Enjoy!

    Read More
    mspickyconsumer May 27, 2009
  • Beautiful Duvet
    Verified Purchase

    I love this duvet set! I have a king size bed and the cover hangs a few inches over/around my down comforter, but it looks like the cover actually fits my bed now. It came with two king pillow shams, so I was super happy about that. And it's reversible. It has stripes on the back if you get sick of the paisley. This a really beautiful fabric that has a slight shimmer to it. The pattern isn't overwhelming, as I thought it might be. My husband even said it was really nice. Great purchase!

    Read More
    crystalholland October 25, 2010
  • Paisley Duvet Set
    Verified Purchase

    I am very pleased with my purchase of the Maxine Printed Paisley Duvet Set. I purchased the King size cover because I have an oversized down comforter for my Queen bed. I love the quality of the duvet cover. It fits perfectly and can be used on either side - the reverse side is striped to match the sheets offered on this website. I will probably purchase the sheet set to match in the future. The feel and look of the duvet cover is fantastic and quite soft. I have not yet washed this cover, so I cannot comment on any shrinkage. I would definitely recommend this duvet cover for the price and quality.

    Read More
    joyce5648 December 29, 2009
  • Very Satisfied
    Verified Purchase

    I bought 2 duvet sets for a guestroom since I wanted the room to present itself as male or female in gender. I bought the black and it is very sophisticated. The fabric is very soft, washed and ironed nicely. I sew, so I ordered the matching sheet sets and made the bedskirts in the striped coordinated pattern on the reverse of the duvets. The beds look terrific. One thing I would alert a buyer is that this is not a black and white color scheme - it is black and cream color. Personally, I think the cream color is richer than white would be.

    Read More
    timsfordlake1 January 29, 2011
  • Love this duvet
    Verified Purchase

    This duvet is made of high quality fabric. It is soft and silky. What you cannot see is that the underside of the duvet and shams is a coordinating stripe. We are very pleased with this.

    Read More
    jh85 December 29, 2009
  • We like it
    Verified Purchase

    We are very pleased with the duvet. It is a nice bonus that pillow shams are included. It looks good on our bed.

    Read More
    dobr December 17, 2009
  • Maxine Printed Paisley Duvet Set
    Verified Purchase

    The Maxine Printed Paisley Duvet Set is wonderful! The quality is what stands out to me. I wanted something light for the Spring & Summer months & this is just what I was looking for. I ordered the black paisley duvet & it is so, so soft & comfortable. At 100% cotton sateen - I love the way it looks & feels. It reminds me of Egyptian cotton. I also purchased a black dust ruffle to coordinate with the bedding & it looks great. I am very pleased, from ordering online to finding the shipment at my door - everything went seamlessly. Thank you Overstock for exceeding my expectations!

    Read More
    inarkansas1209 April 7, 2010
  • Great Purchase
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this duvet set in Queen - Mocha, it came withing 2 days, excellent service! The picture online definitely does not depict the true color, it is definitely more a cream background than white. However, that been said, the cream color does this duvet a LOT more justice I think than white would. I love the set and also ordered the matching sheets, which are also phenomenal. As a matter of fact I placed another order for the sheets and duvet cover in the burgundy color. They feel lovely, muc higher than a 310 thread count. I normally don't purchase any less than a 400 thread count, but liked the pattern on this cover so much, I decided to go ahead and order the 310 - I was not let down. Overstock is fantastic!!! Thanks!

    Read More
    mbm123 February 17, 2010
  • Color

    Just received the black duvet. Be aware that it is not nearly as white as the picture shows. It is a cream color. Unfortunately, I was looking for more of an off white. This is the second duvet I have purchased from overstock that was not the same color as pictured. I realize that all monitors show colors differently, but this looked the same color on both my screens.

    Read More
    princesseng September 16, 2008
  • Gorgeous. from a distance... a nightmare up close
    Verified Purchase

    From a distance, this duvet cover is stunning. beautiful, classic, and the cotton sateen finish keeps it looking FAR from flashy (a desirable trait in my mind). The fabric is very soft...has a nice feel to it. I also really like how the pattern has the Stripe on the reverse side, giving it even MORE simple charm. As other reviewers have already mentioned, the color of the background is absolutely a very creamy Ivory. The one that I chose was the burgundy....the color is beautiful and perfect for my guest Bed Regarding construction, I am extremely glad I did NOT examine the Duvet cover closely. I simply unpacked it, put the duvet in it and put it on the bed. So, it's possible that the construction is fine. I do not know and I choose NOT to know....I'm fairly sure I would just be setting myself up for a disappointment. The fabric, while beautiful, it is VERY thin (it is possible to objects through the cream areas if you hold it up to the light) and arrives extremely wrinkled, but beware! a trip to the dryer will not help. the fabric seems to WANT to remain wrinkled. I still have not yet found a safe way to remove them. (more on that below and.... I will update my review if I find a safe method of getting it to lie smoothly). When I examined the pillow shams, my jaw dropped open. they were - hands down - the WORST construction I had EVER seen in any bedding ensemble. q0x worse than anything you've ever pulled out of a "Bed in a Bag" set. One would think that since one side has lines that the stitching might vaguely align with them. not even close. not even in the same vicinity of close. I think in one place the stitching was about 20 degree out of alignment with the striped fabric. Bottom line: the pillow shams were made of the same beautiful looking fabric, but....it looked like a junior high school craft project gone very, very wrong. and that's the nicest thing I can think to say about them. I decided to rip out EVERY single stitch and reconstruct them so they did not look so horrible and sloppy. I found that the fabric was not even cut straight: the shape was not even rectangular...perhaps much closer to a Rhomboid (.a leaning kind of rectangular shape.) Ok. so I re-cut everything square and put it back together after several hours of lining up everything nearly perfect. so much better. but wait, there's more! as I was pressing them in preparation for the final stitching (to create the flange around the sham...a typical kind of detail), I discovered to my horror that the burgundy dyes were being transferred to the ivory background (meaning, the colors were in no way "set"). I got a damp towel with a bit of mild liquid detergent to gently wipe off the burgundy smears. and...the fabric started to fall apart. it is only slightly more sturdy than hand-made paper. no kidding. it is THAT fragile. I estimate that 20 seconds of gentle wiping managed to wear away at least 25% of the fabric itself. I can see EVERY single place that my towel touched. so, I would recommend that - no matter what, do NOT EVER get this fabric wet. DO NOT iron it. or, if you must, turn off the steam entirely! and don't use the cotton setting even though it IS cotton. It will scorch if you set your iron that high. So, you can't get it wet, steam it and ironing is only somewhat useful since you can neither use high heat or steam. Like I said, this fabric WANTS to be wrinkled...you are at it's mercy. In any case, now my pillow shams are reconstructed and I will just have to make sure I position them on the bed so that most of the "rubbed away" fabric edges are disguised by the bed or the adjacent sham. The bottom line on this product? It really does look gorgeous. but, if you are at ALL picky about workmanship, don't even think about it.

    Read More
    LauraRamsey December 8, 2014
  • Pretty and Soft
    Verified Purchase

    I love this duvet cover! It is soft and looks high quality. This was definitely worth my money. Compared to the sheets of the same thread count that I bought along with this duvet cover, the duvet cover wins in quality 100%. The cover is only a smidge larger than my duvet, but isn't very noticeable.

    Read More
    chimeralesque November 6, 2010
  • Beautiful Duvet
    Verified Purchase

    The feel of this fabric is wonderful and it feels like a higher thread count than what is listed on the site. I would like to note that the color of the duvet is ivory and black. It is difficult to tell on my screen if it was white or ivory. The duvet and shams are very soft, even without washing. (Although I did before putting them on the bed. It did not require ironing after taking it out of the dryer.) I ordered the king size duvet and shams for a queen size bed. I don't like to have to fight over the comforter. It looks like it fits the bed perfectly. You really can't beat the price and shipping! The color and pattern look great with my porcelain blue walls and accessories. I love it!

    Read More
    lovestashop November 6, 2008
  • Great Item
    Verified Purchase

    I recently purchased this duvet cover and was pleasantly surprised by the soft cotton sateen finish. For my room the print was excactly what I had been looking for for quite sometime. The duvet barely covers my oversized king matress which is 14" deep, but it does cover. I wish it was a few inches more both ways. It also doesn't have the tie-ins for the corners of the comforter inside the duvet as I have had on others. The only downfall is the lack of a bedskirt which I would have liked. I have ordered a set of Maxine sheets to make a striped bedskirt which is the lining on the back of the duvet and pillow covers. Overall this I am very pleased with this purchase and would recommend it!

    Read More
    windchasers February 12, 2010
  • Perfect weight of fabric
    Verified Purchase

    I'm very pleased with this duvet cover and the quality of the fabric. The hand is very soft and it also has a nice drape. Because of the thread count is around 300 threads per square inch, it isn't as heavy as a higher density thread count duvet which suits me just fine. I've tried the very high end fabrics but they added so much weight to my comforter that I found I didn't like them. While I like the pattern very much, the overall layout across on the fabric could be better (it looks to me like 2 wide stripes of the pattern on the queen size rather than one overall design). I also wish I had found this product sooner since I would have preferred the mocha color best, but even the red is fairly neutral and looks surprisingly nice against a pale turquoise wall color. Another reviewer said that that the matching sheet set didn't hold up after many washings. That may be true, but since the duvet cover will probably receive far fewer washings compared to a sheet set, I still think it's a very fine product for the price.

    Read More
    vespadeb January 16, 2009
  • Love it!
    Verified Purchase

    This is a wonderfully soft duvet cover. I was concerned about putting a duvet cover on my new comforter since I loved the fabric and the softness. This duvet cover is perfect in size, color, and feel.

    Read More
    csetapen March 6, 2013
  • Love it!
    Verified Purchase

    I had been looking for a new duvet cover or comforter set for months when I found this one! It looks so nice in my bedroom and it is good quality! And you CANNOT beat the price! I love it!!

    Read More
    kbrilz March 19, 2010
  • Beautiful
    Verified Purchase

    This duvet is exactly as beautiful as it looks in the pictures. Color very true to the displayed images, and a very good quality. It is so warm and cozy I never want to get out of bed!! Very elegant looking. I am very pleased!

    Read More
    mrsnelson1028 August 28, 2010
  • love it!
    Verified Purchase

    This duvet cover has been the best buy ever!!! I simply love it , it goes so well in my bedroom. I got the burgundy one. The only problem is the pillow shams....on the website they mention "standard" pillow shams, but they actually were "king " size ( I ordered the king size duvet).

    Read More
    R J November 11, 2010
  • Beautiful
    Verified Purchase

    The duvet covers are beautiful--I ordered the mocha color. The cotton is very soft, the color is as it looks on my computer. There is a thing black outline between the mocha design and cream-colored background.

    Read More
    lanancydee February 22, 2010
  • Great product for price!
    Verified Purchase

    This was one of the more inexpensive duvet covers that I have owned and is definitely the most comfortable and prettiest. The only thing worth mentioning is that the cream has a strong yellow tone, so it did not go well with the wall color that I had in my room. However, I liked the cover so much that I repainted my bedroom, much to my husbands non-enjoyement. However, all said and done - with the new wall color and the new bedding, we love our bedroom. All because of the bedding. And a side note is that a friend thought that it was a much higher thread count than it is, so there is something to be said for its softness! Hope this helps!

    Read More
    krissyp44 October 24, 2008