Free Shipping* & 5% Rewards On Every Order* With Club O
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Handmade Blue or Rust Guatemalan Patchwork Quilt (Guatemala)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • isn't like a solid quilt
    Verified Purchase

    feels like the inside is separate from the outside. doesn't stay on the bed.

    Read More
    wendylace April 18, 2017
  • Not vibrant like picture
    Verified Purchase

    Muddy over-dyed monotone. Not like picture. This is one in a string of things I have gotten that had something about it not right. Two rugs, both with impossible to remove glue stains and this piece that shows lots of oranges and other colors, but in person those colors appear muted to a dull brick red as the entire thing seems to be died in a monochrome. Not pleased.

    Read More
    lili10s November 9, 2016
  • 2nd time I purchased this quilt!
    Verified Purchase

    Love the colors and the quality.

    Read More
    csc414 June 9, 2016
  • Meg
    Verified Purchase

    Beautiful quilt, however, the underneath side is a solid black silky material, which I didn't care for.

    Read More
    Margaret N. April 13, 2016
  • silverfox
    Verified Purchase

    This quilt is the perfect color for my bedroom. I am extremely pleased with this purchase.

    Read More
    Paula H. January 18, 2016
  • Not as bright as in the picture.
    Verified Purchase

    It looks dull not lively.

    Read More
    Deniz T. November 6, 2015
  • Looks like the picture
    Verified Purchase

    The bedspread looks just as it does in the picture, which is nice. Laid out on the bed, it looks fairly busy since all of the patches have a busy pattern but it is true to the picture. I bought a king-size spread for my queen bed and it fits, with sufficient overhang on each side. I don't think a queen-size would have done so. I put it through the washer and dryer as soon as it came and I don't see any fade or problem. (Can't see cat hair on it either, which is a plus.) It would be easier to manage if the backing were sewn to the front in several places. I may just do that myself. It's not much of a problem when it's on the bed but coming out the wash, putting it back in order takes some effort. That's why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5.

    Read More
    lynnej46 June 9, 2015
  • Undecided
    Verified Purchase

    I've been to Guatemala. I love their 100% cotton textiles. I know how much time goes into their handwork and I love it that things are still being handmade some places in the world. And I want to support those artisans. That said... Why in the world did someone supply them with stinking polyester to use as backing on these quilts??? It ruins the whole effect. It's slick and nasty. It's not practical for use as a blanket and it's too big to hang on a wall. MAYBE it could be a curtain, but you'd still be able to see the shiny black border. I couldn't wait to get this blanket, and now it's in a closet. It's a shame. Someday I'll replace the ugly backing with cotton material.

    Read More
    9juillet July 3, 2014
  • Never have I been happier with an on-line purchase

    I have owned this bedspread for at least ten years. Every time I walk into my bedroom I fall in love with it all over again. It is not really a quilt but when I bought it I believe it was advertised as a bedspread which is what I was looking for. All you see these days are comforters and/or quilts. It has a beautifully quilted top layer and a plain black underlining. Also when I first bought it some people said in reviews that it shrunk when they washed it so I have always had it dry-cleaned. And each time I get it back from the dry cleaners I love it even more. I have a double bed with extra visco foam topper so I got a queen sized and that works perfectly. Occasionally I think I'm in a rut and will buy a comforter for my bed but always end up changing back to this beautifully rust colored bedspread. It so perfectly accents my hardwood mission style bedroom set. I have been thinking for a while that I needed to check if these spreads were still available so I could have a replacement when mine finally wore out. And they are. And I think I'll try out the blue set also.

    Read More
    navane50mg May 21, 2014
  • Beautifly made Guatemalan Patchwork Quilt.
    Verified Purchase

    I am pleasantly surprised. The colors are clear. The fabric is soft and have a nice feel. The quality of the quilt is very very good. I couldn't be happier. I would buy more. Thank you.

    Read More
    anastazia December 12, 2013
  • Lovely bedspread
    Verified Purchase

    I don't usually bother writing reviews, but I am so pleased with this bedspread. It really is a bedspread, not a quilt -- as other reviewers have said, it's not much heavier than a good blanket. But I wanted it just for covering the bed (especially when the dog gets up there). And it's really beautiful. The colors (rust version) are rich, the quality is excellent -- plus it's Fair Trade, which is important to me. I'm very happy with it.

    Read More
    njpny March 19, 2013
  • Beautiful craftsmanship.
    Verified Purchase

    This is a beautiful quilt. The handmade quality is another plus; not some factory crafted one of a million pieces. I love this quilt.

    Read More
    Silvia BP de Forsyth December 28, 2012
  • Not a Quilt
    Verified Purchase

    It was accurate as pictured, but was not a quilt. There was no batting and the front was not stitched to the back, it was sewn only around the edges. It was beautiful colors, but I could not see washing it.

    Read More
    conkane December 12, 2012
  • I love this quilt
    Verified Purchase

    The colors in this quilt are vivid and beautiful! It is not to heavy and not to thin. It has a lining but no filling inside so you can use it during all of the seasons!

    Read More
    gfrantastic February 12, 2012
  • Beautiful, not a quilt.
    Verified Purchase

    I returned this as it didn't go well with a reddish brick wall in our bedroom. It is not quilted so would slip if used like a quilt. It is really a wall hanging, it has three tabs. I would have kept it as a throw even at the price, but it was not quilted so wouldn't hold together as a quilt. It is very pretty.

    Read More
    jocastart December 5, 2011
  • Guatemalan Patchwork Quilt
    Verified Purchase

    As lovely as this Quatemalan quilt is, the length makes it impossible to use on most regularly measured bed. The width is long enough to hang beautifully at the sides of the bed. However the length is too short to cover the pillows and the end of the mattress. If one has a solid bed frame, this quilt MIGHT WORK. I may not have ordered this quilt had the measurements been given, but maybe that was the reason the mreasurements were NOT provided.

    Read More
    patmuk January 29, 2011
  • Guatemalan Quilt
    Verified Purchase

    The quilt is astoundingly beautiful. In all honesty, It was even better quality than I expected and it arrived promptly.

    Read More
    ospinan December 16, 2010
  • Guatemalan Patchwork Quilt
    Verified Purchase

    Fantastic, light quilt. Love it! Not heavy, will use an extra blanket in the winter.

    Read More
    cashdog September 12, 2009
  • I'm Still Smiling
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased the blue w/pastels quilt after reading the reviews. I like the quilt because the style and colors are unusual. I own several traditional-looking quilts. I wanted something a bit different. I was not disappointed. The colors are vibrant. The patterns are unique. The product description calls the accent colors pastel. I'd call them more jewel-toned. I don't care what they are called. They are beautiful. I am so pleased with my purchase, I ordered another in red/earth tones. I have a way of testing my decorating decisions. I leave the room. After a few minutes, I return to see if what I did looks as good as I thought it did. Every time I enter my bedroom I smile. I made a very good choice. I read in another review that the colors faded after washing. I washed my quilt before using it. In cold water, the colors do not appear to have faded. I did encounter a surprise when I pulled my quilt from the dryer. Because the backing is secured only at the edges, the quilt and backing twisted into each other while tumbling. Material in the center of my quilt ball was still wet. After carefully untangling--I was concerned that the stitching would give--back to the dryer. No to worry--the stitching is strong. However, I have found a few spots where the material unraveled, creating a few thread balls between the layers of the quilted top and the backing. I won't be machine washing my quilt again. I strongly recommend dry cleaning to avoid this issue. The laundering drawback does not diminish my rating at all. A covering this special is worth special handling.

    Read More
    lindaaaaah May 18, 2009
  • Patchwork Quilt
    Verified Purchase

    I've been looking for a light spring/summer covering for my bed. I like quilts but the style of my bedroom furniture doesn't look right with a quilt. I saw this one, read the reviews and thought it might work. It does, it looks great, I love it. It's light weight but is 2 layers so adds enough to take the chill off. It's colorful without being overpowering, I bought the blue. I have a king bed so the price was not bad compared to other king coverings I was looking for. I haven't washed it so I can't comment on how it will look after, I'll be as careful as I can because I really really like this quilt. I bought a white bedskirt which I just last night put on the bed. It looks great with the blue quilt. I wasn't sure how it would go, but I'm very pleased. The one weird thing about the quilt is that one of the edges has tabs. I guess it can double as a wall hanging and the tabs are for a pole to hang it. I don't want to cut them off so I put that side of the quilt on the side of the bed that faces the wall. That way anyone walking into the room cannot see them, and really, they aren't that noticeable anyway. I'm thinking of getting the rose colored quilt as well so I can switch colors from time to time. I think a blanket paired with the quilt would be quite comfy in the winter. Maybe rose in the winter and blue in the summer. .. :)

    Read More
    carolynneh June 6, 2008
Sponsored Links