Today $59.99
Out of Stock
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for North States Wide Stairway Swing Gate

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Swing Gate
    Verified Purchase

    Great 👍 would buy again keeps the kids out of other rooms

    Read More
    mta1017 January 25, 2017
  • works great
    Verified Purchase

    works great looks great works great and good quality

    Read More
    betsypaint May 6, 2015
  • very hard to install
    Verified Purchase

    very hard to install for our application but once done (by a contractor) it works great

    Read More
    katy4257 February 4, 2015
  • Not pretty, but it gets the job done
    Verified Purchase

    We ordered this gate because the stairway in our Victorian-style house presented a bit of a challenge--we needed a gate that could be used at weird angles (not perpendicular to the wall) and this did the trick. It does look a bit tacky, I'm a bit tempted to stain the wood to match the banister, but with a baby who has the time? The latch isn't super user-friendly, it can be a bit tricky to match up the grommets, especially one-handed, but it seems sturdy and keeps our baby safe. For the price, I can't complain.

    Read More
    lmontrose April 23, 2013
  • Our Granddog
    Verified Purchase

    We are the grandparents and caretaker of our granddog. Not having a pet in our home, we had to make many adjustment. Including sectioning off rooms. This product saved the day. I plan to buy another one or two.

    Read More
    g7306 January 12, 2013
  • Would not recommend
    Verified Purchase

    This gate is cheaply made and not worth the money. It did not come with all of the screws to secure the gate to the walls and is flimsy. Keep this in mind with small children. Our son is 7 yrs old and can easily break the gate by bumping it if he wasn't careful, so a small child hanging on it won't work. The gate is only secured by an o-ring twisted into the wall. Obviously this gets weaker and weaker by daily usage. If we weren't in a crunch because of our puppy - we would have returned the gate.

    Read More
    wlori December 28, 2011
  • Dog gate
    Verified Purchase

    purchased this to prevent our 3 little dogs from entering the main living room. Wanted something that could just be moved out of the way but, not difficult for any of the kids to use and this works perfectly. Was a little bit of a pain to install with one person but, can be done.

    Read More
    toyz4us October 23, 2011
  • Dissapointed
    Verified Purchase

    I ordered this gate because I have an oversized area (60.5') to block to contain my puppy to the kitchen. When the gate was assembled, it didn't even measure the advertised 63"...it wasn't even 60" long!!! How is this supposed to work for areas up to 63"??? The quality of the product was also pretty shoddy. The wood that it is made of is flimsy. My puppy would have gotten through it in a week, either by chewing through it or by simply busting it down. Needless to say, this product was quickly returned after it was received.

    Read More
    riley529 August 27, 2011
  • Installation instructions weren't that great
    Verified Purchase

    Installation took some time. Instructions not that clear and parts not marked or diagramed. The gate itself does the trick; however, the rails come out of the tracks if not extended.

    Read More
    teri54 August 26, 2011
  • dog gate
    Verified Purchase

    easy to put together, great economical value for the gate.

    Read More
    wheelerk July 22, 2011
  • Gate is great
    Verified Purchase

    Using it to block front porch so my grandson can play outside safely

    Read More
    sssssssssssmmmm June 15, 2011
  • A little more information would've helped....
    Verified Purchase

    This gate was not quite as easy to install as it could've been. The other thing that the description doesn't mention is that all four anchors to hold the gate in place are meant to be attached to solid wood. Not every place you'd like to install this has four wooden attachment points available. For example, one side of the staircase may have a banister with wooden supports, but there's no guarantee that the opposite side will be where a stud/wooden beam is installed under the plaster/drywall. There are work-arounds, but this is important to know especially if you're a novice installer. Also, installation takes a drill, and I also needed a pair of pliers to screw the anchors in all the way. It's not hard if you have all the equipment and your installation location meets the specification. Now that it's installed, the gate is working well, and even my very clever toddler and almost as smart yellow lab haven't been able to manage the manual dexterity necessary to open the gate. Unfortunately, my husband has a little trouble, too, when he's not wearing his glasses.

    Read More
    antifur June 12, 2011
  • Great product, just not the size we needed
    Verified Purchase

    I would definitely recommend this to someone who has a small or medium sized dog. We have a Welsh Corgi puppy and we wanted to limit the amount of space he had in the house. Some wrong measurements made us realize we actually needed something wider for our larger doorway. It only goes to 63 inches, and we needed 65 inches. However, we have kept it because we are probably going to place it somewhere else. It does take some handy work, and you will need a drill, most likely, to insert the screws in the wall. Not pressure mounted, but it does swing open pretty easy. I can't seem to find an extension for it, but for the price, it is a good buy. Apparently we just have freakishly wide hallways.

    Read More
    squintana89 May 25, 2011
  • Swing Gate
    Verified Purchase

    We love this gate. We have a cocker spaniel and this gate is perfect to him out of certain areas of the house.

    Read More
    janisy4evr January 18, 2011
  • OK for KIDS
    Verified Purchase

    I bought two of these gates to keep the dogs from escaping off the decks.....on the upper deck, it blocks them from going down the steps, on the lower deck, it keeps them from going out into the yard. They would be fine--if you had kids! Or LARGE dogs! But our small puppy was ingenious enough to squeeze herself through the bars, and escape into the yard! I then had to engineer attaching plastic lattice-work to the gates, so she could no longer DO that! Necessity is the mother of invention, I guess. Installation was pretty simple--except the template for drilling the hinge plates raises the bottom of the gate too high (no sense letting the dog crawl under it as well...) You're better off just marking the bottom hinge plate at the desired height for the bottom of the gate, then measuring up (use the template for that) to get the correct placement for the top hinge.

    Read More
    tmf1253 July 30, 2010
  • Wide pet gate
    Verified Purchase

    This gate is just what I was looking for. As always, Overstock came through!

    Read More
    woodenshoes July 30, 2010
  • possible safety concern
    Verified Purchase

    The space between the vertical rails is over 2 3/8 inches, which is the maximum space for crib rails (an upright soda can shouldn't pass between the rails). I couldn't find info on regulations or recommendations for spacing on safety gates, but if that space can create an entrapment/strangulation hazard on cribs, then it makes sense that this could be unsafe on a gate. I am returning the product.

    Read More
    rowdychow February 20, 2010
Sponsored Links