Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 42 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
AWESOME
 from Arizona,  Jun 28, 2010

I build djembes and teach West African hand drumming and was a bit weary when I bought this drum as an extra for the circles I facilitate..boy was I IMPRESSED when it came! The tones and bass sound great and the carvings were beautiful! For this price you usually will get a cheap, poorly constructed 20x12 djembe made in Indonesia (where the builder gets a TINY fraction of the profits). If you are looking for a big beautiful, good sounding djembe, buy this one...I just bought two more! Thanks!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Portland/Maine/USA,  Jan 30, 2006

Beautiful peice of handmade art, but... dissapointed in the tone quality. The bass tone is weak and does not resonate too well. Okay for small rooms but sound will not carry well otherwise.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Djembe Drum
 from Hebron, CT,  Sep 9, 2008

This is a great looking drum and makes a wonderful sound. The bass note is not a deep as some drums, but the open tone and slap is great. I love playing my Djembe.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Winchester, Ca USA,  Jan 30, 2006

i like the drum very much. the price was very good as well. the drum was advertised as being handmade, etc., and it indeed has a real handmade quality to it. the sound is excellent as well. all in all, a great deal. thanks

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Middlefield,OH,  Jan 30, 2006

I purchased the large handmade Djembe drum made in Ghana. I paid half the price of comparable drum. Great sound. Very pleased, all around.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Ghana drum
 from N.M.,  Dec 6, 2009

The price on this drum was close to unbelievable and I held my breath waiting for it to arrive, which it did in record time. I am using the drum with a group I drum with and it is all I could have hoped for and at about half the price of any that I had seen previously. The size is good. It is easy to hold in position. And all agree that it has a very good sound. Thank you.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Durham/NH/USA,  Jan 30, 2006

High quality; details are beautiful; wide range of tones

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice drum and sound but only one problem...
 from Hartford, CT,  May 1, 2014

Very quick delivery than another drum that I ordered with another company. That one took a month before I finally got it, but then it was shipped from Africa. I think this one came from Midwest where it was until someone placed an order for it. Nice sound to the drum and love the carving and size of the drum. But I had to return this one because there was a crack at the base that was 4 inches and went halfway thru the thickness of the wood. They even had place a glue or coating on the bottom probably to keep it from cracking further. I contact Overstock and they took care of the matter and sending a replacement. I'm hoping the next one is not cracked. Otherwise this would have been a perfect drum and I would have been a happy customer. But I figure if I'm paying for the drum it shouldn't be cracked. There is not telling if the crack will get bigger or not. And I would rather start with a drum that is not cracked. With proper care, a drum should not get a crack in it. So make sure you check your drum to make sure it's not cracked. Otherwise, I would say this is a great drum for the price and your purchase will help to support a family in Ghana. So get a drum from there. I lived 4 yrs in Ghana. So I wanted a drum from there. :-)

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
As shown and described.
 from Dobbs Ferry NY,  Jul 19, 2013

I love this drum, which I bought both as an item to display and a drum to play. But I should be clear that I am not a trained drummer who understands the nuance of drum quality. It's large, it has a deep, resonant tone, and it sounds exactly as I hoped it would. It's also quite attractive, which was important to me (though it may not be to others). It is rather heavy for its size (which may be perfectly normal; as I said, I'm not a trained drummer).

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. As described
  • How accurate was the sizing? As descri ed
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
BEAUTIFUL DRUM
 from los angeles ca.,  Dec 4, 2012

I GET THIS FOR MY HUSBAND AND WHEN I OPENED THE BOX I WAS SO IMPRESS IT'S BEAUTIFUL YOU DON'T SEE THIS GREAT QUALITY IN USA IN THIS DAYS THE SOUND IT'S WONDERFUL, I GOING TO HAVE ANOTHER ONE FOR MY SON, I REALLY RECOMMENDED IT IT'S GREAT PRICE I CAN BELIEVED MY LUCK ' I SAW IT YESTERDAY FOR $*** SAME SIZE BUT IT WAS SINTETIC MATERIAL THIS IS A REAL THING !! IT'S A GREAT BEAUTIFUL PIECE I LOVE IT!!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? VERY BEST IN PERSON
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. THE MOST GREAT QUALITY
  • How accurate was the sizing? BIG AND MORE PRETTY ON PERSON
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Djembe Drum
 from Lilburn, Georiga,  Mar 23, 2012

The drum ariived in perfect condition. The handmade drum was a Christmas gift for my 16 year old "music loving" son. He thought I had ordered another lamp for the house, and he had no idea that this big package was for him. On Christmas day, he opened this mysterious big box and was wonderfully surprised to see this gorgeous drum. We are all enjoying the craftsmanship of this piece of art and the strong, powerful, musical sound that it brings! I rated it a four star because the sound of the drum is not as rich as I had hoped, but maybe this is the characteristic of the Djembe Drum.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • How accurate was the sizing? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
If you Love Drum DON'T waist you money on this
 from Los Angeles,  Mar 22, 2012

I was so excited to order this drum. I Thought I had a great deal until I tried to play the drum. Out of the box the wood smelt great how ever I hit the center of the and quickly realized the drum was totally out of tune. Immediately I called overstock to complain and ask how can you ship an untuned instrument? The customer service rep said sir we stand behind our product. I told her the drum isnt tuned I realized she didn't know anything about Djembe drums. 1. The wood was NOT Djembe Wood 2. The rope used on the drum was Too THIN 3. The Skin of the Drum head Was Too THIN and very poor quality. So I took the drum to ***/ They have by far THE BEST drums I have seen professional grade. They offer tuning services for drum all done professionally so I left IMO drum from overstock there. I came back and the service technician said your drum head ripped! I asked why did this happen he instantly showed me how thin the skin of the drum head was compared to what they use. All the animal skins at motherland music use are imported from Africa. Clearly there was an obvious difference in quality. The owner of the store offered to replace the drum head at a discounted price however I asked how can overstock ship a drum of POOR quality. After 9 phone calls and 2 managers overstock agreed to SPLIT the cost of replacing the Drum head which was $100. So save yourself the trouble and buy from *** every drum is hand carved hand made by African craftsman. DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES BUY THIS DRUM. If you have any passion for drumming!!!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? ABSOLUTEY NOT
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Drum head is of terrible super thin quality.
  • How accurate was the sizing? Size was as advertised
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Djembe
 from Chula Vista, CA,  Feb 3, 2012

Great djembe, great price, fast shipping = BUY IT.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excelent size Djembe for intermediate players like me.
  • How accurate was the sizing? 14 inches = Great size
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I am only giving the 4 stars because...
 from Boston, MA,  Dec 24, 2011

I had such high hopes for this drum as everything else I have bought from Overstock was always great quality. But this drumhead was cracked and on edges and was not strung tightly at all so was not playable. Yes, I could have it restrung and headed but just didn't want to spend the time or money. Would have cost way more than the drum I paid for. I contacted OS Customer service and they will be shipping out a new one and arranged for this one to be sent back. I think this drum has potentail but I need something that works out of the box. I would not recommend this particular drum to anyone unless they rehead and rope it. Otherwise the design and size etc. was beautiful! I am hoping the replacement will be better so I can recommend to a friend! :)

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? I liked it better than the one in the picture. Carving and painted colors are wonderful!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Well, I am hving to send it back as the head was cracked upon receiving... :( I though it was just the ropes were very loose that is sounded so bad. I took to a drum repair person who informed me the little cracks on the edge make it unusable and will have to be reheaded.
  • How accurate was the sizing? Perfect!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Buy!
 from South of Pittsburgh, PA,  Dec 23, 2011

I was a little worried about the products quality considering the price, I was shocked when it arrived. The drum is tall with a wide head. Nice to see some hair on the head. Carvings are deep and the colors were dark (mush darker than the picture) and beautiful. Drum has a great sound to it! I cannot wait to take this out during festival season. I love it so much, I am considering a second as a gift.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Darker than pictured. BETTER!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Fantasic! Deep carvings! Great sound!
  • How accurate was the sizing? Pretty accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
this is a beautiful handmade drum
 from rossville georgia,  Dec 22, 2011

much better price than i could find for same quality handmade djembe drum

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. hand made quality
  • How accurate was the sizing? sizing was correct
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Djembe
 from New Jersey,  Nov 17, 2011

Excellent drum! The quality is great and the price was amazing. You won't find a nicer drum for this price. I have purchased 11 djembes in the past two months for my school, and this one is by far the best!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? No- the drum was actually all black and natural wood
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the sizing? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mostly pleased.
 from Oregon,  Nov 1, 2011

I was pleased with everything about the drum, except the lack of bright color I was expecting. Perhaps showing an example of several in a group to represent what colors you might receive would help. The sound is good and will paint in bright colors in design.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? It bore little resemblence to the pictured color. Mostly black rather than red.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality is good.
  • How accurate was the sizing? Sizing was what I expected.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
overall good deal
 from wa,  Oct 16, 2010

Good price for the size of Djembe. 24in x 13.5in. However quality was only ok. It didn't look like the picture. It was a darker coloring, but somewhat similar carving. The base of Djembe was carved uneven so it stands a little lopsided. It could use tuning because the bass sound occassionally gets a higher pitch aftertone. The tone is good. The slap has a nice higher pitch for a bigger drum

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
overall satisfied
 from Humboldt,  Sep 5, 2010

The drum arrived when promised and very nicely packed. However the first thing I noticed was that it was not painted, the second was that the carvings were very different and the third was that it was not tuned at all. I had to look back at Overstock to see if they sent me the wrong drum but after comparing the carvings I saw enough of a similarity to assume that it is supposed to be the same drum. After tunning it and having a conversation (session) with it I am happy with the drum for the price and glad I kept it although I was really hoping for a nice painted drum like the one in the picture.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 42 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top