Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 65 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Nice color, quality, but impossible to assemble
 from New York, NY,  Feb 7, 2013

Unless you are the son or daughter of Einstein and Mother Theresa, and earned a PhD in cryptography, expect to spend days on end pulling your hair out and cursing the heavens for the mess you have gotten yourself into. So difficult to put together even though I am usually decent at assembling furniture. Otherwise, beautiful dresser.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate. The color is unique and beautiful.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Durable, sturdy, quality wood
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful dresser, well made for the price
 from Virginia,  Jan 14, 2013

This dresser looks beautiful and really classes up our master bedroom, which was suffering from a lack of cohesion due to using two tiny cast-off mismatched dressers. The drawers are nice and wide and we can fit much more in its six drawers than we did in the 4-drawer and 3-drawer dressers (combined) we had previously. Two people assembling this together took a few hours; the frame came together in about 1.5-2 hours, and each drawer took an average of maybe 10-15 minutes, working at a relaxed pace with distractions. I would not recommend assembling this yourself as it is quite heavy and difficult to turn over. Maybe the word is just "unwieldy," although it is pretty heavy, especially compared to our previous dressers. The product does have an "offgassing" smell for several days both in the box as well as once put assembled. I can only guess it's due to the processing or finish. I seem to remember this about a TV stand we bought from Overstock as well. The smell has dissipated a bit and we are burning candles to aide in the process.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Finish is even more interesting in person, a nice warm grey.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This is better quality than IKEA for not too much more money, considering how large the dresser is. Followed instructions carefully and product appears sturdy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Style and Finish, Needs More Support
 from Seattle, WA,  Sep 14, 2012

Dresser is average, finish, and color is just what I wanted. The sturdiness of the dresser after putting it together is questionable. I definitely will not be too forceful with it because I want it to last - and get my money's worth. For the price, I thought it would be a better than your basic Ikea furniture.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It's average; sturdiness of actual dresser and its parts needs work.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Average
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
6 drawer dresser
 from Maryland,  Feb 19, 2013

First set me start off by saying I love overstock & have bought several pieces from them & been more the impressed by the accuracy & price. This piece however I am NOT. I have spent months looking & considering spending a very high penny on a nice dresser from several designer stores for our master bedroom. I decided to check overstock & fell in LOVE with the color of this dresser. It had a vintage look but the color gave it a more distressed feel. I ordered the dresser & it arrived within a week. When the boxes arrived (3 total) everything was intact & perfect. The reason I am giving this piece 3 stars is because the drawers are NOT ENTIRELY WOOD. Let me repeat that, the back side & sides of every drawer is MDF.The front & bottom of the drawers ARE wood. My husband had already started building it when we noticed this. The description states "wood" not part of it is wood (like the actual visable parts are wood). IF I would have known this, I would have rather spent 2 or 3 times the price on a dresser that was ALL made out of wood. VERY disappointing & not expected since everything I have ever bought from overstock that states "wood" is actually ALL wood. Now i realize there were not many reviews on here, but I donít understand how everyone has FAILED to mention that.... ALSO, the second reason I dropped a star is because there is no bottom to the dresser! I have NEVER seen any piece of furniture designed without a bottom. I mean even the cheap all MDF pieces have a bottom.... A HUGE disappointment. HOW can they fail to mention that? So, basically you can put your hand underneath the dresser & feel the bottom of the drawer. There is no wood between the drawer bottom & the ground.. Assembly process wasn't bad at all. It took my husband by himself about 2 hours. Directions weren't clear but he doesnít follow directions anyways. If I wasn't soo excited about the look of this dresser & my husband hadn't built it already I would have returned it.From the outside you would never notice the drawers aren't wood or that there isn't a bottom. So, thats why I gave it a 3 stars because no one can really tell unless I point it out. I wrote this review to warn others. The drawer sides & back piece are MDF & the dresser doesn't have a bottom

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? 100% accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. the actual wood peices are great quality, the MDF pices however make the piece not the BEST quality...
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? not the best
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
high quality budget dresser
 from Houston, Texas,  Feb 22, 2013

Looks awesome in our midcentury ranch house master bedroom. Modern yet respectful of the period. Nice heavy inverted cone cabinet pulls. This was on sale under $400 which is a great deal. I would consider it high quality for its price range. There are other color variations but we chose this "charcoal" color. Website pictures are accurate however the piece seems to pick up some color characteristics of the room depending on lighting conditions. Color is not dark. Think toffee or driftwood. Solid wood except rear backer. Some reviewers complain that it is difficult to assemble. The number of parts can appear overwhelming. However advance sorting, organization, review of the instructions prior to commencing assembly as well as using a low torque electric screwdriver would help in getting this assembled in under an hour. There was one hiccup. The top arrive damaged. However, Overstock was quick to address the issue and sent a replacement.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. high quality considering budget price + solid wood!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful but very difficult to build
 from california,  Mar 15, 2013

This turned out beautifully but it came in a million parts. Had to have a handyman come and build it and it took 3 hours. Very nice quality though!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
vilas light charcoal 6 drawer dresser
 from Boise ID,  Mar 9, 2013

I am a stager and use furniture to display space in a room. I don't actually use the furniture - it just has to look good and be the right size, color and style. I feel this items looks very rich and was very easy to build and put together. Instructions were clear.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. seems to be good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice quality for the price
 from LA, California,  Feb 23, 2013

Nice furniture, great price. Matches Ikea color "gray brown".

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color is great. Matched my Ikea "grey brown" furniture.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Fairly easy to put together and quality of parts was better than expected.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate desription.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Vilas Light Charcoal 6 Drawer Dresser
 from nj,  Dec 5, 2013

We love this dresser. It is solid and worth more than we paid. The only problem was it was time consuming to put together. We wee lucky enough to have a friend who owns a furniture store do it and it took 2 of his employees several hours to do.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Dresser
 from Bend, OR,  Nov 5, 2013

As previous reviews said, this dresser comes in a lot of pieces. That being said, my boyfriend had no trouble putting it together. It took about an hour. Had I put it together, it would have taken a whole lot longer. The color is less charcoal and more of a grey brown, almost the color of a chinchilla. It's pretty and coordinates with my reclaimed wood bed. Upon assembly there was a drawer front that was scratched and a drawer side that split while it was being put together. I placed a call to Overstock and they had new pieces out to me within the week. Overall, I would recommend this dresser.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks just as it was pictured
 from Floyds Knobs, IN,  Sep 30, 2013

I ordered this even after reading all the reviews of how difficult it was to put together. it did come in 3 separate boxes and I was a little worried at first with all the pieces and parts. I had someone help me with it and it was a little confusing, but we were able to jointly get it together in under 2 hours. I love the way it turned out. It is exactly the color I expected it to be.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
happy camper..
 from Raleigh,NC,  Sep 13, 2013

I ordered 2 of these dressers for a long wall in my Master bedroom. I butted them right up next to each other as there is no overhang. I am very pleased with the quaility of these dressers. They are sturdy and do not look cheap. i am a very particular customer so this is saying alot! They look fantastic,very happy with this purchase! My husband and I assembled both dressers in about 3.5 hours.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dresser color and quality as expected
 from Denver, CO,  Sep 5, 2013

Reviews were helpful before we purchased this dresser. It is a little cumbersome to put together and is much easier with 2 people. We are satisfied with the quality and look - recommend picking out your own knobs for a better, more modern look!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dressers
 from Chicago,  Jul 25, 2013

Excellent value ..just as described. Assembly is time consuming but worth the finished product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Thought the quality was very good...packed well no damaged pieces
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
wow, great piece
 from Fort Lauderdale, FL,  Jun 17, 2013

I hate putting stuff together, but this thing was worth the wait. Very solid make up, very easy to follow instructions. Power drill/screw driver made it easier. 2 people working on it took a little over 2 hours. The color is awesome- not grey, but not brown, right in the middle. super slick. Would buy again and again. Wish I could pay an extra $50 to have it delivered assembled to my door. Not Ikea quality- much, much better. Love this.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very, very close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. such a high end product for the price- very impressed
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

I didn't have to suffer through putting this together - I paid someone, and it took them a long time indeed, but they did a beautiful job and the dresser itself is so sleek and chic. I love everything about it. The knobs on mine had an issue, and I'm waiting for them to send replacements that screw in properly. Other than that, a beautiful piece for a great price.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color is more of a mocha than grey. Its not as grey as the images, but still lovely.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate enough.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome dresser
 from San Diego, ca,  May 31, 2013

Love this dresser! Perfect in every way! Make sure you measure your space, because this is a very small, petite dresser - low profile and compact, but holds a good amount of clothes. I hadn't had my own dresser in almost 10 years....I love not sharing with my husband! The grey stain is awesome!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
dresser
 from savannah,  Apr 11, 2013

Very sturdy, odd smell but overall nice piece. Did come chipped but it was on the back so not very noticeable.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? not as grey as the pic
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? somewhat
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great in concept but finished product is lacking
 from Austin, TX,  Feb 18, 2013

Despite multiple attempts to put it together two of the drawers just won't stay together. It began when I was putting together the drawers, the instructions didn't mention the direction to which one of the sides needed to be. I found this repeated in the directions where it didn't specify a certain direction up or to the front after making the mistake with the drawers i was more careful. I just felt an extra instruction line would've helped. In the end I got it all put together. Took me about 5 hours. only to put the drawers in and have the front of two of them come off. I've tried putting them back together from scratch but the screw bolt just won't catch. Very discouraging. I've ended up gluing the pieces on. It looks nice but I feel that it's fragile and could fall apart at any moment. I regret buying it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? More brown than charcoal grey
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Decent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice looking, but poor quality.
 from Baltimore, MD,  Jul 9, 2014

I read the reviews about this dresser, but I went for it because it looks nice and the price is right. Be warned: this dresser took my partner and I about 3 weeks to assemble - the instructions are useless. Finally, we got it all together. It does look really nice. But every few weeks, a different drawer falls apart. We've even tried using gorilla glue or wood glue, but it still comes apart. If I could do it again, I'd spend A LOT more $$$ to get something of better quality. We're moving in a few weeks, and I fully expect the whole thing to come apart. What a bummer.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 65 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Array 6-drawer Dresser
Sale $449.99
Was $499.99
(2)
Back to top