Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
A Superior Product
 from Portland, OR USA,  Nov 6, 2010

I recently purchased the Oster 4096-009 because my old blender couldn't handle making the frozen fruit smoothies I really enjoy. I chose this product because the brand and style has been around since my mother was young. I was a little turned off by the idea of the glass beaker so I ordered the stainless replacement and put away the glass one. I also ordered the blend-n-go cup because of the smoothie thing. The blender is awesome. It looks great on my countertop and works better than any I have ever owned. Don't be put off by the concept that this blender only has two speeds - that's all you need. Be honest - how many times have you used anything more than pulse or full bore on your blender? I thought about it and realized that was all I ever used. This is one heavy duty unit, capable of reducting ice to snow and frozen fruit and alcohol into some incredible frozen drinks. A must have for anyone who's into shakes, smoothies or other blended products.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This is one great blender
 from southern california,  Jul 3, 2012

In 1991, I purchased my last Oster blender. It is the exact same beehive model. The motor was still going, but 20+ years later, it had lost some power and was having a little difficulty mixing up the frozen fruit chunks for a smoothie. The simple on/off switch is one reason I love this blender. Another thing I like is the blade it comes with. I actually ordered an additional blade, but it does not work near as well as the blade this blender already comes with. This blender is awesome and always has been. I was worried it wouldn't be available after 20 years, but there it was! The best blender you can buy. I use the stainless steel cannister instead of the glass top, and didn't need a new one of those. It's much lighter, easier to wash and pour from. Suggest getting it, but skip any fancy blade.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent for Frozen Drinks
 from Arizona,  Dec 29, 2011

Excellent blender. The key to a good blender is the motor wattage and a metal drive assembly. This one has both which makes it perfect for margaritas and other frozen drinks or smoothies. Many blenders have a black hard plastic drive assembly that wears out quickly with a lot of use. I have had this blender for over 1 year and make frozen smoothies almost daily and have had absolutely no problems. Great product, especially for the price. Usually this quality is much more expensive. Also the chrome look has kind of a retro bar look. Cool.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? true
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? true
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great basic blender
 from Lake Elsinore, California,  Jul 20, 2012

I bought this blender for smoothies which I have for breakfast daily. It is basic with no fancy frills. It works perfectly for what I need it for. There are 2 speeds which is one more speed than I need. It has a strong but somewhat loud motor. It appears well made and sturdy. Good blender.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Chrome looks the same on screen or live.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Does exactly what I want it for. Well built somewhat loud, strong motor.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
blender works great
 from redding,ct. mom,grandma,  Feb 24, 2012

the oster chrome beehive blender does the job I primarily use it for to make protein shakes crushes ice cubes and frozen fruit well even blends the powder completely only draw back is how loud it is need to plug my ears when it's on

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? chrome was nice
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. so far it seems to be powerful enough to chop ice cubes and frozen fruit
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
blender
 Dec 16, 2010

Great blender! Ice cubes are no problem. Zips up a drink in seconds.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product.
 from San Jose, CA,  Dec 15, 2010

Best blender I've used. I would recommend it to anyone just wanting a blender. Nothing fancy, just does the job.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
blender
 Nov 18, 2010

i have this blender and it is the best blender i have ever had. i am going to buy my daughter one for christmas. she always begs me to let her have mine, i make smoothies, drinks , and even hummus dip in mine..love it!!! very powerful , great price.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great blender for smoothies
 from Bloomer, Wi,  Jan 7, 2014

Makes great smoothies, great at crushing ice. Not as expensive as the Ninja or others, yet does a great job!!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not a great blender.
 from East Hampton, NY,  Dec 30, 2013

Nice looking blender and good value but for anything thick, the bottom gets blended and the top doesn't. Not great for thick yogurt smoothies and such.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 from Milwaukee, WI,  Nov 15, 2013

Love this blender-smoothies, salad dressings, frozen drinks. So happy with the beehive design,-kind of retro love it!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This blender is amazing!
 from Phoenix, Az.,  Oct 24, 2013

This is the best blender I have ever owed! I use it all the time. Heavy duty. Light weight.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Good Ole Stand By
 from Santa Fe, NM,  Oct 10, 2013

This is a sturdy good ole blender that works well. The style of it goes in my kitchen really well, kinda retro. The functioning of it is a little rough but it does fine. Easy to clean.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not As Advertised
 from WA,  May 30, 2013

The color was incorrect, the size of the container was incorrect, and the height was incorrect. Unfortunately, Overstock received incorrect information from the manufacturer on this product. Customer service handled the situation seamlessly and it was picked up by UPS within a few days. Take Note: If this item is still listed, be warned. This item number 4096-009 is stainless steel, has a 6-cup container, and is 16 inches tall.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Not chrome as pictured.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. NA
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Not as listed.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Oster Beehive Blender
 from PA,  Aug 21, 2012

I am very happy with this blender. It is very sturdy- reminds me of the days when things didn't fall apart a year after purchase. It works like a charm. I make a smoothy each morning and so far this blender is very reliable. It is loud, that's probably the only drawback. However, it blends everything nicely, there are no chunks left. It is also very stylish on the counter if that matters.... I would highly recommend this blender.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? same
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great blender!
 from upstate NY,  Aug 11, 2012

I bought this blender as a gift for my grandson, who is a vegetarian. He makes smoothies & other drinks every day and wanted a basic, POWERFUL machine. He loves it and uses it a couple times a day. It's easier to clean than his GOOD juicer and he agrees he doesn't need more than two blender speeds.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. as described
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
negative review
 from senoia georgia,  May 29, 2012

I ordered the beehive oster blender in chrome.What I got was a stainless steel one.I called and they were very helpful,checked to see if they had the chrome one in stock,which they did..said they'd send it and it would take 3 days.I repacked the stainless one,drove to the neighboring town,the closest UPS store to where we live.6 days later I get the new blender..it too is stainless steel,not chrome like I ordered.I caled again..the gentleman told me that he would have complaints resolution people either call or contact me within 48 hours.5 days later I get an email telling me the DO NOT have the blender I wanted..and that is that....

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The blender I ordered was a chrome one,the one I got was stainless steel.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excelent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Powerful
 from Pittsburgh, PA,  Apr 17, 2012

Great Product very powerful motor. Price was very good compared to others that do the same job.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product!
 from New York, NY,  Apr 3, 2012

I wanted a relatively cheap but good quality blender, and that is exactly what this is. I just use it to make smoothies and the occasional margarita, and it only takes about 5 seconds to completely blend the frozen contents. It is easy to use (two options: high or low - you don't really need much else) and cleaning is easy, too. It also doesn't take up a lot of space, so it fits perfectly on my tiny counter. I am so glad I didn't go for one of the $200+ blenders - this one is perfect! My only complaints: the glass makes it fairly heavy, the lid doesnt easily snap in place (although its unecessary to have it do that - I've never had a mess), and the first time I cleaned it, the upward facing blade caught me off guard and knicked me - more my fault than a complaint about the blender itself, really.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top