Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 40 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Good Value Shade
 from Dallas, TX,  Apr 2, 2011

We bought this to shade part of our pool from the intense Texas sun. It's still spring but it is already doing a good job. The included hardware was poor quality but I expected that based on reviews from others. Installation went well after picking up some good turnbuckles and anchor bolts from the hardware store. This product is large and awkward so plan on having a couple of able bodied folks on hand for installation especially if stretching it over a pool. Given our available mounting locations, we weren't able to mount it with 2 diagonal corners higher than the others as recommended in the instructions. This led to a sag in the center with our installation due to the size/weight of the product. It stood up to some big winds but seemed ready to "take flight" so I'd recommend taking it down if high winds are expected.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Adequate Shade
 from New Caney, TX,  May 27, 2012

This shade does provide an adequate amount of shade but the product description is misleading. It says the dimensions are 18x18 when in fact that is the possible dimension it can be stretched to, at least that is what I was told by the customer service rep. The square shade went up as shown however no matter how much tension we put on it even with a pitch allowed for rain, dew, etc it still sags in the middle. i am thinking overall the traingular ones would have been a better buy than the square. The sagging in the middle drives me crazy not to mention that overall it is not good for the fabrics longterm wear.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? the color was right on target
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. quality appears to be good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? not quite accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Shade, Dangerously Horrible Hardware
 from Houston, TX,  Jun 22, 2011

Do not underestimate the poor quality of the included hardware, especially the turnbuckles. Unlike some other reviewers, I went ahead and attempted installation with the included hardware. Without even reaching the necessary tension, one of the turnbuckles failed completely, with the eye bolt slipping right through the turnbuckle body. Local hardware store sells stainless 5 1/4" turnbuckles for about $5/each. The shade itself is very nice and appears to be good quality, but they sure dropped the ball on the hardware and would have been better off not even including it.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? excellent, except for hardware
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
True Test
 from Hagerstown, Maryland,  Jun 8, 2012

Two weeks ago we had a bad bad storm come thru our area, our shade sail is hung under our soffit with heavy eye bolts and off the house I put in two 6x6 post concreted in the ground with heavy eye bolts too, well the strom came thru and we had 80 MPH winds I was worried stood at the door and watched the shade sail it just waved in the wind I was amazed with stood 80 MPH winds great product but I would also say it was anchored very well too. worth the money only downfall it you still get some of the hot sun thru it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Outstanding
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for schools
 from San Jose, CA,  May 25, 2011

I purcahsed to of these sails for our playground. They were very affordable. Our handyman installed them with a helper. It was definitely a 2-man job. He replaced the hardware with a better quality and the ropes with steel cables because we were concerned ablout wear and tear. The sails look great and provide cool shade. The children and staff are enjoying them.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Large square shade sail
 from Franklin, Texas,  Jun 12, 2012

We upgraded the hardware to install this shade sail. As we live in Texas and face heavy winds daily on our hilltop acreage, I read the other reviews and made the decision to use stronger hardware and wire instead of the nylon rope. I am using the shade sail over my vegetable garden as the Texas sun is extremely brutal in the later summer months. I believe this will keep my garden producing throughout the season and into the fall.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? As described
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality. Compares to those used in commercial applications.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best investment I made in a long time
 from Sacramento, California,  Oct 31, 2011

After 2 umbrellas breaking (200$ and 300$), and one gazebo (350$), I saw a sun shade while driving and thought I would give it a try. I already spent $850 on the umbrellas that had broke and the wind ripped the gazebo to shreds, so for the price less than any of those I ordered this. Its huge, its perfect, its thick and drops the temp by at least 10* , and I am so very happy with it. It requires two people and a good amount of strength to get it up tight but it can be moved, or put away for the winter, and its even been rained on with no issues WHATSOEVER! I highly recommend it. I give it 10 stars even though 5 was as high as I could rate it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes and matches nearly any patio furniture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality, VERY durable, capable of handling decent amount of wind and even rain
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? true
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works better than expected.
 from Mobile,AL,  Aug 23, 2011

Everything is wounderful. Very easy and fast to install. Bought new hardware instead of using the rope they sent I got wire so it would't sag. Very great shade and BIG.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good so far.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent product
 from Rancho Santa Margarita, CA,  May 28, 2013

We get full sun in the backyard all day long, and in the summertime it gets really hot. We used the Sail Sun Shades over our slatted patio roof attached to the back of the house and it lowered the temperature under the patio and in the rooms on the back of the house by 10-20 degrees. At the height of the summer, prior to us installing these shades, it was impossible to sit out on the patio because it was unbearably hot. Now we can sit outside all summer long and enjoy the backyard, It also helped to reduce our air conditioning bill. Great product. We've had our Sail Sun Shade for over 2 years now, and will likely purchase more of them.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect color match.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate description.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sail shade
 from New orleans, la,  Aug 8, 2012

The product was ok....but smaller than i thought wanted 18 foot of covered space....much smaller

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Shade is good...hardware is not so good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Confusing....size of 16-18 feet without a good explanation
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect Sun Shade
 from Dallas, Texas,  Aug 19, 2011

Purchased two of these for our business. The fabric is great but no so much the hardware. Went to Home Depot and bought heavy duty hardware and it looks and works great!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sun Shade
 from Houston, Texas,  Jul 19, 2011

Did not work for us - we could not get the sail high enough, had to return it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color was as described
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good heavy quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A Great Pergola Cover
 from Louisiana,  Jun 20, 2014

I bought this to place over the top of my pergola to shield the hot Louisiana sun. it blocks the sun beautifully, and still allows the light to filter through. I did have to buy additional mounting hardware from the local hardware store, as the ones sent were of poor quality. Overall, it looks great and works very well. Thanks overstock!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love my sun shade sail a lot
 from Medford, OR,  Jun 12, 2014

Rec'd my order very fast and in very good condition. Researched installation of these sails extensively before we installed. We ended up attaching to the bottom of our eaves, which are visible (not enclosed) and set two posts in concrete on the other side. Attached well, but due to the size of this one (18' x 18'), it does sag just a little in the center, despite tight tensioning. So far is handling the wind on the south side of my patio pretty well. Have had installed for 2 weeks now. I would most definitely recommend this product and this shipper.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sunshade
 from Charlestown IN,  Jun 11, 2014

Absolutely love, love, love this on my deck. Easy to install, color is perfect. It was stated silver, but it has some bluish, and black threads that perfectly match my cape cod grey/blue deck stain and spa blue deck furniture. Had a party and everyone wanted to know where I got this and wanted one too. It was a chance and turned out great. Turned a hot unusable deck into a retreat area. So happy.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
SECOND PURCHASE
 from Florida Keys,  May 1, 2014

Very good quality material and hardware...this is my second Sail Shade!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

We purchased the medium size sun-sail a few years ago and loved it, but we needed even more shade over our pool. The only thing I would point out on the large sail is that is has a reinforced seam that runs along the middle of the sail. I think this should be in the description, as I was surprised, It's like they took a medium size and sewed on more to make it a large. It is still very durable, just don't pull it too tight. We did and it ripped but Overstock replaced it with no hassle. Allow it to have enough give for changing weather, which can be extreme here in Texas. It looks fantastic over our pool and we get many compliments on it,

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Large Yellow Square Shade Sail
 from North Carolina,  Sep 28, 2013

The sail has been up and shading a portion of my deck for several weeks. Works perfectly. The only downside is the color. The web site said yellow which is what I was looking for, but the actual color is more of a dirty mustard color. The color on the web site was not portrayed accurately (either because of the source or my monitor.). But, it does what it is advertised to do.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This is an excellent product...
 from Ulster Co. & NYC, NY,  Aug 9, 2013

I purchased this large Sun Sail Shade in the beige color option several years ago, (when it was on sale for a fraction of today's price), so I can say with all honesty that it's even well worth the current price! Keep in mind that it is NOT a rain barrier... It is an open mesh weave, also used for shade covers on farms and the like. Because of the weave, it never gets hot underneath, gives wonderful shade without blocking light, and is airy and breezy... When I was first deciding to purchase this, I was aware that some of the reviews nixed the cheap attachment hardware (turn-buckles) that this sun sail comes with... They are indeed crappy and not terribly useful, but that does NOT detract in any way from the sun sail itself. We have a country house up on a very windy hilltop with an open deck. In order to attach this sail to the two corners that would provide shade between the house and the deck railing, we had to attach two strong posts to the deck railing, with a heavy duty screw eye in each. The two attachments to the roof eaves are fixed (we use an S hooks or S caribiner hooks for easy detachment). Because of our windy conditions, we understood that the attachments to the posts at the deck railings needed to be very strong, but also very flexible, so as not to do damage to the deck or rip off the sun sail... To accomplish this, we purchased two 7" - 8" heavy duty coil springs from a local hardware store, and again using S hooks to attach the sail to the posts. This has worked like a dream! We've only had to take the shade down during a major storm. (It rolls up quickly and easily, secured by two or three small bungies, and can actually be left hanging in place under the eaves.) So, I would recommend using these heavy duty coil springs to attach the sun sail at least on two points for flexibility without wind damage... We love our sun sail. It was one the best purchases we made for this house. Because of extreme winds here, especially during the winter when the trees are bare, installing a permanently fixed, retractable awning (sun shade), would not have been possible... Highly recommended!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect shade without huge cost
 from Las Vegas, NV,  Jul 31, 2013

Sun Shade was exactly what we were looking for. Construction is strong, all hard ware is included. The only request would be better documentation for the various hardware and the options for rigging. The sail survived a sudden storm about a week after putting it up. A bolt pulled out of the wooden beam but the sail didn't suffer any damage at all. Impressive.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Just right
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Fabric weave is strong, ropes and seams seem durable.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 40 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Medium Square Sail Sun Shade
Sale $47.69
Was $52.99
(122)
Small Square Sail Sun Shade
Sale $31.49
Was $34.99
(74)
Medium Triangle Sail Sun Shade
Sale $32.39
Was $35.99
(48)
Back to top