Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 52 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Warranty 1yr, broke 1.6yrs later!!!
 from GR, MI,  Aug 8, 2009

OK, I wrote a review after the purchase but thought I would add that I was woke up last night with the closet unit broken and all our clothes on the floor. :( As the title states warranty is up, n I'm stuck with pieces of wood n clothes all over my closet floor. Thanks to overstock I got a good deal on it but it didn't hold up! The wood attached to the wall is still attached and I already told you about the rest of the unit. Dont buy this one unless u just care about looks..:(

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Get Custom Closet Styling at a Great Price!
 from Ft Lauderdale, FL,  Dec 19, 2011

The Long and Short of it...First - I'm a Girl! (A Girl with average strength and DIY skills, but a Girl just the same) I wanted to upgrade the closets in my 1950's house in Ft Lauderdale and after checking into some of the closet contractor pricing, felt that I could get similar results at a third of the price if I did the job myself. I bought two Deluxe Red Mahogany kits, one for a 10ft wide reach in closet and one for my smaller 6 x 4 walk-in. I saw them at one of the Hardware Superstores and the same kit was $$ more so I saved $$$ at Overstock and enjoyed shipping! The kits arrived in large cartons well packed and protected and unlike many of these systems where midway through the project, you find they have forgotten to include something that invariably takes weeks to arrive, the inventory matched the packing list. I started on the 10ft closet first and though it did take me two days, the resulting build in is spectacular and even my handyman was impressed with the quality of the kit not to mention that I was able to do it myself. : ) The most important part of the install is the measuring (oh, and beer!). Measure and mark and measure again. Particularly with the tower brackets, of you get this sideways, the shelves won't fit. Get your level out and spot check your widths (do this before you drink too many beers! lol). Though I tried to drill into studs where possible, I did have to purchase a box of different wall anchors ($) as the ones included in the kit were unsuitable for the type of plaster in this older 50's house. In this install, I had a leftover piece of shelving that I cut down into an additional tower shelf and by drilling in four pin holes, was able to gain an extra storage space (it comes with additional shelf pins which was nice). If you don't have any extra shelving, you might want to buy the tower shelf kit in addition, as the base kit only supplies two shelves for a six foot tower. My boyfriend very kindly helped me install the 6x4 walk in system and it went much more quickly even though the configuration was different. The additional storage space is great and so much more efficient than the old home built shelves that were there when I bought the house. All in all, these two improvements look fantastic and I saved a LOT of money by investing my time, not to mention, improved my DIY skills and built my confidence in my abilities. Love this product - just get your tools out and get started and before you know it, you will be enjoying a custom fitted closet!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Red Mahogany was very accurate.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality - nice staining, rugged hardware, well thought out packing and easy to follow instructions.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good, though for dimensions, you will need to go to the John Louis website.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Worth the effort
 from East-central Wisconsin,  Mar 31, 2008

I'm pretty handy, as well as physically strong, for a woman; I had big dreams about being able to install this while my husband was out of town on business. Well, that didn't happen... A lot of the dificulty we ended up encountering was caused by a slightly bowed wall in the closet. The system is NOT designed to accomodate things like that, and we ended up having to plane several of the shelf pieces off in order to get them to work. Also, if you are cursed with plaster walls, as we are, invest in steel stud savers or toggle bolts, as the plastic ones that come with just won't work. Once we got past the structural issues, the closet went together beautifully. It looks great, it holds a TON of stuff, and it is a significant addition to the value of our home. We plan to put them in our kids' rooms, too.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice looking; quality product
 from Austin, TX,  Mar 20, 2012

I love this closet shelf system. I compared several different closet systems before buying this one. All high quality systems are about the same price. Some are more adaptable than others - this system is the most flexible. I was able to mix the deluxe closet system (16' shelf depth) on both sides of my walk-in closet with a standard shelf (12") across the back wall that supported a stand alone tower unit. I like the metal closet rods on the deluxe closet system instead of the wood closet rods on the standard (12" shelf) closet system. Get ready to spend some time installing all the parts. The finished product is well worth it!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Closely matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good affordable organizer
 from Arlington, VA,  May 20, 2008

We used this set in a small walk-in closet. It helps to have someone that is handy with tools and design. My husband played around with a couple of designs to be able to use the organizer on both walls. Now my closet is wonderful and I can find everything! Overstock.com was also very responsive when we realized a couple pieces had broken in shipment.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
John Louis Closet System
 from Arkansas,  Feb 25, 2010

I would recommend this product if you are fairly handy with tools. The walls of your closet must be straight and you need to follow the instructions closely. You should also be patient, and plan to have limited goals for each session of the process. My walls were not quite laser straight, and I had to compensate by using a variable number of washers behind the brackets to adjust. Once you start with your first component, a four foot level and laser/stud finder will be very helpful to keep subsequent components in line. It took me a few tries to keep from breaking the plaster anchors, but there were plenty supplied. The ultimate result is pleasing and functional, but be aware that the wood used in this product is very soft and easily marred. There is a felt tip pen supplied to cover most accidental scuffs that works quite well. Bottom line... you might start with one tower and make sure you are up to the task before ordering the whole system if you are doing a larger project. I would do this again if I knew then what I know now.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent Style : Excellent
Your closet will be the envy of all your friends!
 from San Rafael, CA,  Oct 19, 2013

The whole John Louis closet system is just beautiful and a real bargain on Overstock.com. I ordered 2 whole systems and 2 extra towers, drawers and 2 sets of cabinet doors, (and a couple bits of extra hardware from another site and the manufacturer)... This was all for a master closet with His and Hers sides. The total including labor (got a handyman to put it together for me), came out to $200 less than 2 companies who came out to give me bids on designs with Melamine systems. John Louis is solid wood - it looks very very nice in comparison...I spent $2600 instead of $2800 and it looks like I spent at least $4000-5000! The drawers were not the easiest to align per my handyman and some of the drawers slightly rub against each other with 2 towers next to each other, but we couldn't be happier with the project. I highly suggest you get a handyman to help as it took him 3 days to do.... you know what that would have meant for amateurs like us! By the way - I was very shocked at the cost if you order from other sites and manufacturers - Overstock.com is a great deal. We love our closet so much, we wanted to sleep in it! It's now the best looking room in the whole house!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Good Style : Excellent
beautiful
 from Connecticut,  Jul 4, 2013

To hang at the indicated hight or not? well, it is where it should be, but at 5'6" I had to get me a little step stool to get to put somethings on the top rack which ended hiding behind the top of the closet wall. Still most of my short clothes (shirts, skirts) drag either on the floor or on top of the lower rack. Beauty or function cannot meet at less than $500.- but it looks terriffic anyway, and I can put tons of things in it and under it.The matching drawers purchased separately are not really matching. It will add value to my house, and for now is just what I needed.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome Closet System!
 from New Jersey,  Jan 4, 2012

Excellent shelves, amazing quality and looks very expensive. Had a contractor install it and you definitely need to unless you are completely handy. Very flexible because you can choose whatever layout you want.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Was the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A great purchase -- high quality and attractive
 from San Francisco, CA,  Sep 18, 2011

I bought two different John Louis closet systems (both in mahogany) on Overstock, and then mix-and-matched them in two different closets.The two systems worked seamlessly together. I did not find them particularly easy or intuitive to setup, but somebody with a little more "handyperson" skills than I could probably do it easily. They withstand a lot of weight -- e.g., a banker box filled with reams of paper. I would definitely buy this brand again if I were moving to a new home.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent: durable, sturdy, able to hold a lot weight
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Product with easy assembly!!!
 from Hammond, La,  Aug 26, 2011

I ordered this closet system and it arrived a few days later. I am a 33 year old female with no real "handyman" experience. I opened the box expecting to be overwhelmed and it was quite the opposite. While there were a lot of hardware pieces (screws, anchors, etc.) they were all bagged seperately and very easy to sort. There weren't a whole lot of small wood pieces to put together. It does take some time to measure and mark your walls but once that is complete the job takes off and before you know it, it looks like a new closet. I would suggest downloading the instruction manual and printing it so that you can mark and measure your walls according to the design you choose. I have a small walk in closet and I put this system on one side to see if we liked it first. I WILL be ordering another for the other side. It looks great!!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? just as expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. wood is sort of soft and easily dented or scratched
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Good Style : Excellent
Nice product!
 from Virginia,  Sep 10, 2014

This is nice stuff! It is very sturdy and looks good too. I had to trim off a small piece of shelf about 1/4" thick. I could not break the trimmed piece in half to put in the trash! The instructions are clear but you will need to be creative when configuring your closet in any way other than the standard configurations. On the tower, the tolerances are close so be sure to measure accurately and get the brackets plumb and level. You can add to the package to customize your closet. Just check around for the best prices. I'm going to add to it later. The only downside in the quality is that sometimes there will be a slightly bowed shelf slat. When you are laying it out, check to see if you have any that will be in a location that needs to be very flat. Clothing, blankets, etc. will not have any problem with this. Only when you have something hard to set there. The other thing they might consider improving is the plug for the holes in the angle bracket. They are plastic and don't match very well. Overall, it's a great product that will make you a beautiful closet!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent Style : Excellent
Looks fantastic!
 from Kelowna, Canada,  Jul 14, 2014

We purchased two sets - one for each side of a walk in closet. The first side took a little bit longer. We decided to use the extra pieces and 'build' a second 'tower' on each side, so ended up with two 'towers' of shelving units on each side and two 'half height' hanging areas. The spare 'long' piece was cut into smaller shelves for our smaller version of the tower. We also ended up purchasing additional shelves for the 'tower' unit in the middle. (It can easily accommodate two more shelves with plenty of space on each shelf. It took about 6 hours for us to do one side - we were designing as we went along. Lots of measurements (the walls weren't perfectly square) and due to having a second set of shelves along the wall, we needed them to be right. Did a mirror image for the second side, and it took about 1/2 that time to put up. I'm really, really pleased with this product and would recommend it. I'm online now, about to purchase similar shelving units (will likely go 12" this time) for my son's closet!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Good Style : Excellent
Quality material, easy to install
 from Seattle. WA,  Jul 12, 2014

The quality is definitely better than the upgraded closet system you can buy in the home improvement stores. The wood and finish is beautiful, smooth, and without blemish. The hardware is substantial and made of good material capable of holding weight. Instructions provide some ideas on configuration but try and draw it out before you start the cutting and install. If you are going to install two levels for hanging clothes, make sure the height is enough for what you want to hang. Typically 38 - 40" for shirts and 42"+ if you plan to hang suits/jackets.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent Style : Excellent
john louis mahogany closet system
 from Indiana,  Jul 2, 2014

Beautiful system. Looks custom and is just what I hoped for.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Average Style : Excellent
Picture deceiving
 from San Diego, Cal,  Jun 5, 2014

What you see is NOT what you get! The picture shows 4 adjustable shelves. You only get 2! We had to get extras. We had also purchased the tower which does NOT INCLUDE ANY adjustable shelves! We had our friend, who's a contractor, install it. It's very nice looking and with the extra shelves holds a lot and seems sturdy.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent Style : Excellent
Great product
 from Greenville, SC,  Apr 23, 2014

Beautiful and versatile for organizing and freshening up the look of your closet. Quality of the wood is great and strong. Elegant design too. Requires at least two able bodied people for installation. My husband did the majority of the installation and we took our time to get it done. Love the end result. Great value for the money. Saved on the labour costs.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Good Style : Excellent
Totally Satisfied!
 from Aurora, NC,  Mar 25, 2014

The only caution would be the color: it is a lot redder than the Mahogony-color I anticipated. When using the level [to install the side supports, leveling the shelf from front to back] be sure not to put your level on the slats/front edge... either just put it on the slats, or on the front/back edges... if you put it on the slats and the edge your 'level' will be wrong and your holes for the support will be in the wrong place. A mistake we made!!!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Good Value : Good Style : Good
Excellent Prodcut
 from Seattle, WA,  Feb 28, 2014

I was very pleased with this purchase and product. I would have given 5 stars but the only issue I have is that the hardware is silver and it stands out on the dark wood. I would have preferred a darker color hardware i.e. brackets. Other than that, I am very pleased. Another note, it does give detailed instructions and measurements so if your are using for big and tall, take that into consideration and the unit may need to be put up closer to the ceiling. When measuring, you should start with the first cut of the shelves so you can cut between the shelve grids to avoid gaps.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent Style : Excellent
Love it!
 from Michigan,  Feb 28, 2014

What a difference it makes. We are doing a complete remodel of our master bedroom and bath area. I decided to try this. I hate the wire ones so bought these. I am very glad I did. Looks very high end. Very functional also. Might get more for my other closets

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 52 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top