For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 79 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Incredible Vacuum
 from SC,  Mar 20, 2013

I have 4 dogs and wool rugs (that I purchased at Overstock) throughout my house. When I vacuumed with my 3 year old Oreck, my carpets never seemed clean, the bags were a hassle to replace and there seemed to be a lot of dirty air coming out of the vacuum cleaner. I could not bear the thought of paying several hundred dollars for a vacuum but wanted a good one this time. I took a chance on the DC41 refurbished and could not be more pleased. All the claims about the suction power are true! My rugs look and feel almost new again. My daughter even noticed and asked me if I had them cleaned. The only negative was that the box which was delivered by FEDEX arrived covered in a sticky, gooey substance (like a slurpee) which someone covered with packing paper and tape. Thankfully the gooey mess did not penetrate the box and the vacuum appeared new with no visible wear on the wheels, dust bin or any other part of the machine. Having combined the already low "O" price with an internet coupon and free shipping, I received this quality product which looks and works like a new vacuum at a super low price. Thanks Overstock!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very powerful suction but mostly plastic construction
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Spot on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Second time is the charm
 from IL,  Sep 6, 2013

Received the brown Dyson box from brown, opened it up, vacuum had some wear on the rollers but generally seemed to be in good condition. Put it together and got to work. Whoa! What's that smell?!? Smells kinda like a wet dog. A very strong pet odor. It most likely was coming from the filters. I called Dyson and explained about receiving the refurbished vacuum from Overstock and the horrible pet odor and asked about getting new filters. Dyson rep was not willing to send filters unless I paid retail price for them. I explained that this unit was refurbished and such an odor was unacceptable. The rep suggested I wash the filters in cold water. Ummm, yeah, like cold water is going to remove an odor! Not only that, this machine should have had the filters replaced when it was refurbished at the factory. Dyson rep didn't budge. I said I was going to return the item. Seemed like she could care less. (I didn't indicate I was going to get a replacement). Being a previous Dyson owner, and seeing how well this vacuum worked (in spite of the smell), I called Overstock to inquire about getting a replacement. The O. rep was GREAT! Sales rep had me on the phone all but 2 minutes. In that time she heard my complaint, set up a return with prepaid shipping label, and immediately sent me another vacuum, and didn't even double bill me. Received the second vacuum, put it together and fired it up ... Yea! no odor! Vacuum works like nobody's business! The day before I vacuumed our floors with our old DC17, and this DC41 pulled a surprising amount out of the carpet. This DC41 is suppose to have the most powerful suction of all Dysons. The ball was different compared to the traditional style, but overall is easy to operate. This vacuum is several pounds lighter. The canister is a bit smaller compared to the one on the DC17. Overall, I am very pleased with this purchase and especially Can't say much for Dyson's customer service, but Overstock's came through. So ding one star for Dyson shipping out the first vacuum with such a horrible odor. Other than that, it is a 5-star machine at the price overstock is charing for refurbished (plus $40 internet coupon).

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

After having to let go of my old dyson upright, I knew I wanted to get another dyson. I did a lot of research and after lengthy contemplation between the DC41 animal and DC39 animal, I decided to go with the upright model. Now after several uses, I can say that I am happy and satisfied with my purchase. The suction and maneuverability is great - no complaints there! I have 2 long haired dogs so animal hair is definitely a major problem in our household. The amount of hair that the dyson picks up is out of this world. Many have complained about having to empty the bin several times during a cleaning, but I don't mind this at all. It just shows how much the machine is able to pick up! I'd rather it be picked up than stay on my carpet. From experience with my old dyson, my advice is to empty the dust bin often before it gets more than half full, otherwise cleaning the bin can be a hassle, once it gets jammed all the way to the upper part. I was also pleasantly surprised by the sound of the machine, it is much quieter than my old dyson. One thing that I feel was better on the older models is the usability of the hose. It no longer has the handle connected to it, which I feel made it much easier to use. Now it takes some time and a little effort to put the hose back in place, but I suppose It's all a matter of getting used to. The mini turbine tool is a nice extra feature - of course the tangle free turbine would have been better, but I think it's better than nothing. I like it, even if you have to untangle hair out of it it after each use. Overall, I am happy with the the performance of my DC41 animal and would definitely recommend this vacuum cleaner. Having said that, be very careful and aware when ordering a refurbished model. I've read numerous reviews of people claiming to have gotten one in like new condition. I knew it was a gamble - if I were lucky, I would be one of those people. Unfortunately I was not. My machine came nicely boxed, but my luck ended there. After very careful inspection and cleaning, it was easy to conclude that the machine was definitely used and scratched up - and I don't lightly. The wheels and ball are heavily scratched, the sticker is heavily worn, and there are some surface cracks on the vacuum head. I'm assuming it's not a problem since it passed inspection, but I am hoping that it's not going to become a problem in the future. The cleaner head also doesn't automatically self adjust, as claimed. I don't know if it's just my machine, but it's not a huge deal breaker for me since I'm used to the old dyson when having to push the button. The only good thing of my refurbished model was that the dust bin was fairly scratch free and very clean. So my final conclusion is, it's a great vacuum cleaner and I love it, but because I got a worn refurbished model I took one star off. I have no intention of returning though, because in buying the refurbished for a fraction of the price, I knew what I might be getting. So just be aware and don't be surprised. It's all about luck. Next time though, I think I will go with a new one. Lesson learned.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Ok
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Miracle Machine!
 from RTP, NC,  Apr 6, 2013

Dyson is an amazing company. I had no idea that I could fall in love with a vacuum cleaner! I have whole house central vac - and have had it for most of my adult life. But, I have used upright vacuums along the way. And, haven't been particularly impressed with any of the uprights or my central vacs. The Dyson is a totally different story! This machine is the most powerful, easy to use, beautiful thing ever! Just like Nest is the Apple of Thermostats, so is the Dyson the Apple of Vacuums! The most intuitive user-friendly design. High quality. Within minutes of vacuuming a few small area carpets that had been vacuumed two days ago, the large canister was full of fibers, pet hair, lint, dust, food particles, etc .. from the family. ... My floors have never been so clean! And it works on carpets, hardwoods, tile, etc .. no need to switch power heads. WIth a built in hose attachment, you can do stairs, upper cabinets, furniture, etc ... without running off to search for parts. Now I know why Dyson is awesome for people with allergies - it sucks up all extra fibers, fur, hair, dander, and even minute dust particles! And though the price is daunting - you can buy a refurbished model (that is usually just a store return) for 2/3 of the price of "new." I am in LOVE!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The product is of the highest quality. And, even though it is a refurbished model, it is still just as new!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice vacuum
 from San Antonio, TX,  May 8, 2013

The only reason I gave it a 4 star and not a 5, is because I assumed it came with the tangle free turbine tool since it is on the dyson website for this model, but it does not. It does have a mini attachment that we tried to use on the stairs, but it tangled bad, and basically we can't use it. The vacuum itself works perfectly, we filled up 2 canisters in about 5 minutes in our living room which is pretty amazing considering we had another vacuum cleaner that didn't pick up hardly anything. We have 3 dogs and 1 cat and needless to say there is TONS of hair in our home.... this vacuum is perfect for that. I just don't recommend using the mini attachment unless it's just on furniture or something. I think it is worth the money, and I would buy again. Oh and shipping was EXCELLENT. I received in 5 days, and that was over the weekend, so technically it took 3 business days to get to me. I was a little upset that UPS left it at my door because I do think this is an expensive product that should be signed for.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color is accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good vacuum
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
1st time Dyson owner, and bought refurb
 from Sacramento, CA,  Jan 16, 2014

We got a refurbished vacuum, and it broke on its first run (plastic cover over that big wheelie ball) and it was dirty (gross). Overstock didn't blink an eye when I said I wanted to replace it, and I was surprised by how quickly the replacement arrived. It took me a couple weeks to manage to get the broken vacuum shipped, but Overstock never pressured me about returning the broken one any faster than I did. Service was awesome! The suction on the vacuum is awesome! It takes a little getting used to the wheelie ball, and it resists wanting to lock in the "park" position sometimes. But, overall, we're very happy with the Animal and despite the initial set backs I'm glad I purchased the cheaper refurbished vacuum.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not worth the price or the hype
 from California,  Dec 29, 2013

I purchased the refurb based on the promise that it would be the same motor power as the new vacuum. First, the assembly was confusing, I ended up at *** **** to find a video that showed CLEARLY how to assemble the vacuum. Secondly, I purchased this because I have dogs, it's supposed to be the best, right? NO, this vacuum did not pickup even the crunchies, and after 2 dogs, and no vacuum for 3 weeks. (old one died, awaiting this one.) There was more than enough for this thing to suck up and clean. I'm still not sure what the silver button is for, the top handle has a vent that keeps sucking my sleeve into it, not sure if that's supposed have a part that covers it??? I accidentally hit the button (dumps from the bottom, beware! and the canister dumped onto my kitchen floor. This thing has not even enough power to suck up from lineolum, what it has half assed sucked up from my carpet. I went next door and borrowed my neighbors 10 year old Hoover. It cleaned it all up in a jiffy. I'll be calling Dyson in the morning to give them one chance to make this right. If they don't, I"m putting a credit card hold on this purchase until the situation is resolved, for almost $***.** I expect far more in the way of machine meeting hype.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just what i needed
 from Washington, DC,  Sep 26, 2013

This product is awesome and just what I needed for my two level home

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice vacuum
 from Illinois,  Aug 8, 2013

This vacuum is quite exceptional for the price. The product however had to be sent to the service center immediately after opening. The vacuum would not stand upright and CLICK into place. Received vacuum back within a week and now CLICKS and stand upright when not in use. Product very clean. Looked new except for the top red extension which had a few use marks on it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color of product right on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality of the product was 90%
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description on site was very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
excellent suction
 from michigan,  Jul 14, 2013

I am very happy with the sweeper except one thing.. I have a hard time getting it to stand alone. I have to keep pushing the wheels down in the back.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Vacuum, definitely recommend!
 from Lexington Park, MD,  Jul 11, 2013

First I am a diehard dyson fan, my family got one when they first came out and that baby is still going! (that's over 10 years). Well I moved out the house got married and needed a dyson of my own. Dyson has done some amazing things and since we have pets we wanted to animal vacuum, price is an issue so we decided to go with the refurbished. Its the best decision we made. There are some things that I am not a fan of with the ball but all in all, its a great vacuum. it picks up animal hair and the little attachment it comes with is great for the carpet stairs and fabric furniture. I can't even tell its refurbished!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dyson Time!
 from Savannah, GA,  Jun 25, 2013

The value of the item for the price paid and the value received was amazing! Will definitely order again!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Right on!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Amazing quality for the price paid.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Right on point!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

Device works fine; overstock's version of refurbished disappoints a little, given the dirt in the bin and scratches on the beater-bar cover. Vacuum is powerful, though I don't think its work more than the refurbished price. The flimsiness you get used to and it is very easy to push around.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The Vacuum is a little on the flimsy side, but you get used to it.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Not as I would have hoped. I am used to a refurbished model from a big company like Overstock being like new, such as open box. In my case, there were obvious scratches on the outside, and dust in the bin.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Suction and really easy to maneuver
 from Midland, TX,  Apr 11, 2013

Last Christmas my husband bought me an upper end pet vacuum. I wanted a Dyson but he didn't want to spend the money so he bought another brand that was slightly less expensive. Needless to say it only lasted about a year when we started having problems. He finally broke down and let me buy the Dyson DC41 Animal. The suction is incredible. Prior to using my new Dyson I vacuumed one room with my old vacuum then I vacuumed over the same area with the Dyson. The Dyson canister was full from one room and that was after I "vacuumed" with my old vacuum first. Bottom line- if you think you have been getting all the dirt and pet hair out of your carpet using a vacuum that is not Dyson you are not. I had been told by several people how great they were but I really had to see it for myself. Don't let the more expensive price sway you from getting this vacuum and buying a cheaper brand. It is totally worth the money and if you look around you can find a good deal. I bought mine on overstock.com refurbished and it looked brand new and was half the price of a new one. It is also really light and the front part is really low so you can get under furniture.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent value
 from NC,  Sep 5, 2014

The refurbished Dyson is still a great quality product without the brand new retail price.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hard to get use to the ball
 from Columbia, MO,  Sep 4, 2014

It's a little difficult to get used to the ball, especially when you're used to a regular vacuum.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for hard floors!
 from Holland, MI,  Aug 15, 2014

Purchased this unit because I have lower back issues and can't be bending down changing attachments or dragging around a canister. So far this has been a great purchase - can't tell its refurbished other than a few scratches. Its quiet and easy to maneuver. We have mostly hardwood/tile floors (small areas of carpet), and this unit is perfect. It does a fantastic job picking up pet hair (dog and cat), and the attachments do a great job with pet hair on furniture. The only somewhat negative thing I can say about this unit is the hose unit is a bit awkward to use - it does stretch out really far, but the hard plastic part of it is too long to be able to give a lot of flexibility when you're trying to clean something up close (I was trying to vacuum the dust off an oscillating fan grill and it was tough). Overall a great buy, though.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This machine is excellent!
 from Buffalo,NY,  Aug 13, 2014

It is amazing to me how well this Dyson picks up cat hair, dust and dirt. My apartment feels so much cleaner since I bought this. The vacuum is easy to maneuver and light enough to do the stairs. I am very pleased with this Dyson.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I should have bought this vacuum years ago!
 from Queesbury, New York,  Aug 3, 2014

I vacuum on a regular basis, and the first time I used this "Animal" it sucked up so much dust and pet hair I couldn't believe my eyes! Easy to maneuver, and carry upstairs. Bought mine refurbished, and it runs perfectly.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cleaner floors
 from Houston, TX,  Jul 22, 2014

This is the 2nd refurbished Dyson that I've owned. Since this one is a newer model, it is easier to handle and it is has more suction power. I have tile floors and two large dogs, so it was a no-brainer to buy the animal model. It picks up all the pet hair and the machine draws the debris easily and doesn't blow it around the floor like other vacuums. Thanks Overstock for making this purchase affordable.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 79 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top