Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 63 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
great
 from Indiana,  Sep 1, 2010

Ordered this plus the small one for auto cleaning, etc. for our vacation home. Like it even better than my Oreck at home.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dyson DC18
 from Rockford, IL,  Jun 1, 2010

Very impressed with this vacuum. It is definitely the best vacuum I've ever used. It's like brand new & it has no problem picking up any kind of mess! The cannister empties easily with the push of a button so there is no mess. Also, the head of the vacuum is small so it is easy to manuever into small spaces. I would definitely recommend this vacuum to anyone

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Item
 Jun 1, 2010

I got this as a gift for my daughter-in-law. She loves it. She said it is the best vacumme she has ever used. Great suction and moves easily.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not working after one year
 from South,  Jun 4, 2014

This model worked great...at first. In less than a year, it has lost suction. I've taken it apart and cleaned all the hoses and still no suction. Very disappointing considering this is Dyson's claim to fame. It initially did a great job on hardwood floors, but was never great on the carpeted rooms.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
BEST vacuum out there (if you can find one)!
 from San Francisco peninsula,  Apr 23, 2014

I looked high and low to find another Dyson DC18 for our second home. The new ones are too big and bulky. This one is just right and I love it. I have had several Orecks and they are T-E-R-R-I-B-L-E compared to a Dyson! Don't buy their sales pitch!! I don't think I could ever use another vacuum, so I will probably service my Dysons forever. Best!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent
 from San Diego, CA,  Oct 11, 2013

I am very impressed with our new vacuum. It is light but efficient-- and it makes vacuuming fun! (Well, as fun as possible-- it's still housecleaning, after all.) The only no-so-great thing is that it seems much louder than our old vacuum... but our old vacuum really didn't work well, so perhaps the loudness is due to more suction (or something?).

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Works unbelievably well. I was shocked how much dirt was in my carpets. The wand is super hand to use because it has a long stick that makes reaching up to the ceiling and low under furniture super easy without a bunch of bending. I love the fact that you can turn the brush roll on and off for transitions from rug to hardwood. I have only had this vacuum for about a month, but so far it's been great. It has an attachment that makes cleaning my cordless shades a breeze. This thing is my new best friend!! Buy it!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I had heard a lot of good things about Dyson vacs and actually used one my son bought. This model is not huge or heavy, but it really sucks up everything. It is not a "ball or "animal", but has similar kind of steering. When it is On the vacuum "feels" heavy because the suction is so strong! Then you get to "see" all that came out of the rug, floor, upholstery because of the clear canister. What's really great is that there are no bags to change or buy! The canister empties fine and snaps back into place. This model has a hose (5ft) and wand (3ft) that pulls out and small round brush and upholstery brush included. It has a beater bar for rugs. It is great on bare floors too. I have 2 indoor cats and lots of sand and wool carpets and hardwood floors. I have been using an old refurbished Electrolux (older than me!) for 25 years and loved it, except for the weight and bags and hassle of pulling it out. This Dyson is an older model and is factory refurbished with a 180 day warranty. Overstock has a great deal on these factory refurbished vacs that can't be beat! I am happy so far (less than a month.)

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A good value for a great vacuum cleaner
 from San Diego,  Sep 22, 2013

The machine is expertly refurbished and a great value for a good vacuum cleaner

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
happy cleaning lady!
 from Baja California,  Aug 10, 2013

I have been wanting a vacumm from this company for a long time. I am renting a house in Baja California but had built in vacumm system in my last house that I owned and didn't think I would be happy with any thing else. This product makes me happy so easy to use suction is fabulous, we have tile floors mostly with some small rugs use it on all surfaces. Our cleaning lady in this small gated community of 20 houses cleans about half of them and asks to borrow my vacumm for them and brings it back with a smile telling me how it is the best she has ever used. Dyson has figured it out!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Refurbished Dyson DC18
 from Palm Springs, CA,  Jul 18, 2013

This refurbished vacuum cleaner arrived in less than a week, in perfect condition, packaged like new with not a mark on it. It takes some minor assembly, but the instruction manual is clear enough (it took me a couple of minutes). I always thought the Dyson mystique contained a fair amount of bull, but now I'm a believer: this is the best vacuum cleaner I've ever owned. The suction is superb: I have a beige area rug and a black cat who spends his day sleeping on it, and after a once-over with this cleaner the rug looks new--no cat hair, and the pile comes back better than with my previous brand-name vacuum. This cleaner is light-weight and moves easily on both tile floors and a medium-pile rug, with no height adjustment needed. It takes a little practice to get used to maneuvering the "ball" design, but once you do you can pivot and turn it in tight spaces--a big improvement over fixed-wheel cleaners. I'm glad I sprung for this, and at the refurbished price it's a rare bargain.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Vacuum
 from Chicago, il,  Jul 8, 2013

Works quite well. Suction is so strong it's physically hard to push on higher pile rugs. I like that it's bag-less and you can see how much dirt you pick up. It doesn't emit any smell like all other vacuums I've used. Wasn't hard to assemble. It is a little bigger than I was hoping (the bottom part) so I can't fit it into my closet - but this is only in upright position. It lays flat (I'm going to try and hang it) The only complaint (and it doesn't really pertain to the product) - the packaging. There was SO much glue on the box it took me about 20 minutes to get it out. I had to rip the box to shreds. It was really annoying.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? n/a
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality. Picks up dirt you can't even see.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
best vacuum
 from Amarillo, TX,  Jul 5, 2013

Nice vacuum.I was a little unsure buying a refurbished Dyson,but my husband said refurbished ones are better, so we tried it and very happy we did,Thank you Overstock

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Affordable and easy to use
 from Chicago, IL,  Jun 28, 2013

Great vacuum for the price. The buttons are a bit hard to press some times, but the cord is long enough to let me clean the entire apartment from one outlet, I don't have to empty it while I vacuum, and it cleans well. Couldn't ask for much more

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Loves it
 from Phoenix AZ,  Jun 26, 2013

I have a Dyson and love it. My neighbor was always complaining about her vacuums. She said she couldn't afford a Dyson so I bought her this one because she is such a good neighbor and she loves it. She actually spent more money over the years on all the cheaper brands than she would have on one Dyson.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I bought it for my neighbor and she just loves it.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great vacuum overall
 from Portland, OR,  Jun 22, 2013

Great vacuum overall. Agreed with most of the other reviews. Glad I read through them, too. Pros: Awesome suction power; easy instructions; canister is easy to empty and clean; cord is sufficient length; cord housing is standard but works well; upholstery and spot attachments work great; extension hose is integrated very handily into the upright and also carries great suction; great for pets (it picks up after my cat effortlessly). Cons: Smaller than normal brushbar; very loud (aren't most, though?); appears to be able to tip easily when storing due to smaller brushbar creating less of a sturdy base.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It matched.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Arrived timely. fairly easy to assemble.
 from Marietta, Ga,  Jun 1, 2013

I have enjoyed using this vacuum. fairly easy to empty worked great on stairs

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. quality is good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dyson DC 18 all floors
 from Sheridan, wy,  May 26, 2013

Can't get the wand to come down for storage. Awkward, monstorsity of a handle

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Correct
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great suction
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Duson DC 18
 from Eden Prairie, MN,  Feb 23, 2012

When the vacuum arrived although it stated refurbshed, it was new. Putting it together was a challenge and the instructions were very vague. I think it my have been returned because it is so hard to put togther. Also the width of suction bar is smaller than standard bar by several inches. It does work very well but the attachments are very small and rather useless especially on steps.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? the color as acuae
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Dyson works very well
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The widh of vacuum was not well represented-it is a slim version not a standard width.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great deal
 from jonesboro arkansas,  Nov 7, 2011

great buy, best vacuum i have ever had..completely worth the money

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 63 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top