Board Games Reviews

The latest reviews on Board Games

problem with pieces

 from Loganville GA,  Jul 9, 2014

We are very happy with the chess set except the queen piece is broken for the second time. you sent us a new set and it has two of the queen points at the top broken off. I don't understand how this can happen when they are so well packaged but the pieces are in the bag with the queen piece.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

Nice chess set

 from LI, NY,  Jul 5, 2014

This is a nice little chess set. It looks great on my game table.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

Very nice game set !!!!

 from Atlanta GA,  May 26, 2014

This game was purchased for a casino night party as a giveaway. ..I have not opened it, but it was a great price and it had great reviews.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

Excellent

 from Fountain Hills, AZ,  Apr 20, 2014

This game table is beautiful, wood cabinet looks very upscale and stylish. I purchased for sunroom /lounging area but this would look fantastic in a home office. Arrived quickly and only assembly was to attach legs. Minor drawback is "flipping" tabletop for storage access.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

Love this game table.

 from Florida,  Feb 4, 2014

Love the way the table looks and fits with my current décor. Instead of ashtrays on each corner, wish they would make deeper wells to hold drinks better. Also, the supplier of the game pieces apparently does not know how many "stones" are required to play backgammon as they shorted me 6 pieces. OS.com did contact the supplier immediately and a new set of game pieces were sent out in a timely ma

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

Octagonal Chess Game is Smaller Than Expected

 from Denver, CO,  Jan 15, 2014

I was a bit disappointed in the size of the board. I thought it would be larger. The quality seems good and I am glad there are compartments for the game pieces. I like the unusual octagonal shape, it makes it somewhat unique. This was a Christmas gift and the recipient seemed happy with it. However, I would recommend this item as a "starter" board for someone who has never played chess. An

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

Wood Chess Board

 from Rochester, MI,  Jan 11, 2014

I purchased this chess set for my 9 year old Grandson. He & his twin sister are learning chess from my husband. They plan on joining the Chess Club at their school & the self-storing pieces in this beautiful set make transporting it to & from school very convenient. As it is such a attractive piece, it sits on the table in their home for 'spur of the moment' games!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

Small and cheap

 from Newton Grove, NC,  Jan 10, 2014

This purchase was disappointing. The chess pieces are tiny and plastic and the board was very small. Not what I was expecting.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No

Nice product!

 from Rancho Cordova, CA,  Jan 7, 2014

My son asked for a "really nice" chess board for Christmas. This chess board does not disappoint! The board itself looks like beautiful parquet and the felt-lined drawers slide p[en easily. The pieces are made of smooth polished wood, The only detractor is that the board is somewhat small, bur it's still more than OK. My son LOVES it!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

Excellent choice!

 from Central Washington state,  Jan 6, 2014

On Dec. 12, I chose this set as a Christmas gift for my son. It arrived well before Christmas and in excellent condition. All the pieces were just fine, the wooden case was attractive and he was surprised and pleased that even the cup to shake the dice was made of wood. Compared to other sites this was a great value. Thank you for selling such an outstanding item!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

Chess in Style

 from Utah,  Jan 3, 2014

We've been looking for a nice Chess table for quite awhile. We haven't found one with legs and gave up the search. I saw this set on a daily deal. $75 was a little more than I wanted to spend for a set that wasn't a table, but the set is very nice. The pieces are what sold me, Beautifully carved, not too big or too small. It has Backgammon, Chinese checkers, & cards. It's beautiful on a table. Ver

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

Small Chess Set

 from Tallahassee, FL,  Jan 2, 2014

Love the chess set! It was smaller than I had thought but I'm sure that I didn't read the measurements correctly. Great Quality!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

Nice looking game table

 from finksburg, md,  Dec 11, 2013

I had looked at several game tables. This table is a great value. I was very pleased with the easy assembly and quality of the wood. The shipping time was less than expected which was terrific considering it had to be shiipped by freight. It is a great looking peice!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

Poor Quality

 from Rhode Island,  Dec 10, 2013

This item came with no box & no instructions on how to play the game. The finish on the wood was poor & looked used. It was meant to be a gift & there was no way I could give this to someone as a gift. Shipping was cheap to receive the product, but was going to be $X.XX to return. Was better off to throw it away. Extremely disappointed in the product. I will be in no rush to shop at Overstock agai

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No

Nice game

 from Milwaukee, WI,  Dec 3, 2013

I always wanted shut the box. This is not as nice as some of the home made ones I've seen but still the quality is decent.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

Nicely described

 from Hanford, CA,  Nov 8, 2013

Small but nicely done. Drawers difficult to open probably just at first but the pieces have good details and are big enough to hold comfortably.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

Chess set

 from East Texas,  Oct 18, 2013

I bought this chess set for my grandson. It is lovely. I like that it has two trays to contain pieces. The pieces and board are magnetic, that is a plus. The board is very pretty and well made.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

very nice set

 from philadelphia, pa,  Jun 27, 2013

nice set, bought it for my husband birthday. he liked it a lot. nice, beautiful chess set. easy to store everything inside, dont need additional space.

  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

chess set

 from ca,  May 14, 2013

This is solid and beautiful. Displaying it in my office. Nice to play with my Father.

  • How accurate was the sizing? ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

Gather the Family!

 from Pittsburgh Pa,  May 2, 2013

I bought two sets of these...one for my sister who is a Mexican Train freak and another for our family...as we convert all domino players to Mexican train! The set is great, and it provides lots of fun comments on the little train pieces... This is such a fun game for the family to play...lots of laughs and it's also a great icebreaker game for parties...it's not terribly complicated, so you can

  • How accurate was the sizing? very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good!
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Sponsored Links What's This?