Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 382 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 20 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Excellent Purchase
 from Sacramento, CA,  Feb 23, 2008

We purchased 2 nightstands and the chest of drawers. One nightstand was assembled in under 2 hours. My wife did most of the assembly. The wood is excellent, beautiful rich color. It is darker than the picture but we prefer darker wood so we had noted this in the other reviews and were prepared for a darker piece. There are many pieces but again if you take your time and have a drill (use wood glue on the dowels) and a rubber mallet it won't be difficult. Instructions were good but would have been perfect if the diagramming included the letters which are labeled on the individual wood pieces. The visual would be stronger then and probably help those who aren't accustomed to assembling furniture. This is for our guest room and is very handsome, of substantial weight and elegant looking when finished. Drawers slide effortlessly and the hardware is very classic. Solid wood pieces are hard to find and smaller night stands are difficult to find nowadays as well. We are pleased with the dimensions because again you must read the measurements and even map them out in the space if you have difficulty visualizing and really need a bigger night stand in the room. Shipping was the usual quick overstock delivery and all pieces arrived unmarred. I researched extensively for pieces for our guest room that were solid wood and this is absolutely the best buy for the money. It is far better looking, solid hardwood and much less expensive than the veneer or solid hardwood options we found in stores and over the net. Excellent purchase if you practice due diligence, i.e., double check and/or map out dimensions, expect a darker cherry wood color, use the right tools, read the instructions carefully and take your time assembling.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks great but drawers don't work properly
 from McHenry, IL,  Dec 26, 2008

My husband and I put 2 of these nightstands together in less than 2 hours. The finish is lovely and the pieces were carefully packaged and labeled. My only complaint is that the drawers don't slide in/out easily. We have to hold down the cabinet while opening the drawers, as pulling hard enough to open a drawer will cause the nightstand to slide across the floor. So although they look great, they don't really perform very well.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
That's a good looking nightstand
 from Chicago, IL,  Jul 23, 2008

Its a quality piece. Real wood. Quality tracks. Drawers roll smoothly, and it just looks sharp. I'd like to thank Overstock for packaging the pieces really well. All pieces were well labeled and protected - no scratches. We bought the matching dresser, chest and this nightstand and all six total boxes fit easily into our Camry. Assembly time for this piece took about 40 minutes between two people.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great item
 from Chattanooga, TN,  Apr 25, 2007

This is one solid piece of furniture, and it came packaged in so many styrofoam panels that it could survive an air drop. Most of it is solid and very heavy hardwood, just the drawer sides, back and bottom are particle board. The finish is very nice, and the whole thing looks classy. One improvement during assembly would be to glue the whole thing together, since cam locks only provide that much stability, but for a nightstand it's fine. Overall it's a steal for the price.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Nightstand...Sticky Drawer
 from Tulsa, OK,  Apr 24, 2007

This nightstand is beautiful and definitely worth the money. Only challenge I have is the 2nd drawer is a little harder to shut. Seems like it is sticking on something but there is nothing there. Might be a warp in the wood. Otherwise...great piece!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great value
 from DC,  Apr 22, 2011

There is not much to add from the other reviews, so I'll summarize: -Beautiful wood, looks fantastic, terrific quality (esp for the price) -Easy to put together (My husband did both in about 6 hours) -love that it has three drawers and no open space -drawers are narrow -- perfect for books, glasses, etc. but not for clothing items The nightstands are small, but this makes them PERFECT for urban spaces. If you live in a metro area where space is a luxury, these nightstands are perfectly proportional. We have been quite frustrated looking for furniture only to find huge pieces for large, suburban homes, but these nightstands are great and fit our space beautifully. We are very happy with our purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Decent nightstand
 from Wisconsin,  Sep 16, 2010

This is a nice nightstand. My only complaint is that the description says it's SOLID WOOD but in fact the drawer sides and back are press board, not solid. Everything that you can see is solid. The instructions were good and the assembly went well.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Finally the search is over
 from Houston, TX,  Nov 22, 2006

I've been having a difficult time finding what I wanted for my guest room. I hesitated buying this before because the matching dresser did not initially get good reviews, but I've now purchased both. My brother and I put the night stand together last night. I've recently put together a lot of furniture, and the instructions were pretty clear. I would recommend using a power drill though and when you put the back on, use a hammer to tap the screws in to get it started, it will make your life easier. The finished product is beautiful and very sturdy and was exactly what I was looking for in the guest room. As for the height of the nightstand, I think it's normal sized. It's 2 feet tall. My nightstand in my room is 22 inches... so it's taller than what I have in my bedroom. I'm really pleased with this purchase, and it got here very quickly. Thanks again overstock.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great little bed side tables!
 from Seattle, WA,  Sep 13, 2006

We bought these tables along with the Vermont Chestnut Queen Bed. What a deal! We suggest having two people put these togther, one to read directions while the other assembles. Assembly is not difficult, but does involve some details and attention to the drawings. The drawers glide nicely and the size of the tables are pefect. Easily holds a bedside lamp, and alarm clock and a book/candles ect without being too cluttered. Given there are three drawers to these tables, this is a real bargin!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love It!!!
 from Chandler, AZ,  Oct 24, 2007

I absolutely love my nightstands! Great rich color and love the style. They took about 40 minutes each to assemble but that is because I an very good at puting things together. It may take the average person about an hour. Looks awesome! I wish there was a matching headboard!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great at first....
 from Wisconsin,  Sep 18, 2006

I bought these tables awhile ago, and while I love the way they look, the drawers come apart after awhile, so don't throw away the tool for tightening the bolts! the face of the drawers comes loose from the sides. Also - there is a bad smell on the inside of the drawers. Not sure what kind of wood this is, but I wouldn't keep anything in there that would absorb the smell, like pajamas, etc.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not too bad!
 from Lompoc, CA,  Jul 12, 2012

We ordered two of these as night stands. Once they are assembled, they look great. I am very happy with their appearance. The only caveat I would add is that they take some work to put together, and don't forget to put the wood screws in that ancor the whole thing together. Also, make sure you get everything lined up right when you assemble them so that the drawers work smoothly. They look great and the drawers work fine, I just had some hiccups putting the first one together.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very cute
 from AZ,  May 27, 2008

We bought this nightstand to coordinate with the vermont dressers we bought off Overstock a few months ago- since I had already assembled two dressers, the nightstand was a piece of cake- but you should know that it will need an electric screwdriver, and a lot of patience (lots of little steps and pieces). The overall finished piece is lovely- just the right height, and able to hold important nightstand things. Not a bad deal at all!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beware - product NOT solid wood
 from Virginia,  Dec 17, 2006

I bought the Vermont set because I liked the lines and unfortunately encountered several problems... Pros: The wood looks lovely and darker than I expected. Cons: The product description claims that it's solid wood, but actually contains medium density fiberboard (MDF) on the inside parts. Only the outside facing parts are solid wood and the back piece is plywood (which I'm told by a wood expert is not solid wood either). In addition, I received only one box for my dresser and spent time on livechat with a relatively clueless customer service person that elevated my issue to the "research team" before getting resolved. I probably will remain waiting for another full week (and also three days after the "research team" responded from my original contact with livechat). Finally, others mentioned to be careful in putting the nightstand together. The person who completed my assembly told me that there is one of four ways to place the drawer slides, or basically a 25% chance that you got the assembly correct so make sure to PAY CLOSE ATTENTION to the instructions. Overall, the customer service rep that I livechatted with gave me an exciting $10 credit for each nightstand and told me to write this review. Therefore, Overstock is not even willing to correct their product description that misrepresents the set. I'll definitely contact them again when I receive the other half of my dresser if it's not solid wood (which it probably isn't). I'm extremely dissastisfied because I would never have bought the set if the product description actually said that it wasn't solid wood. It's now put together and I'm not spending any more effort to disassemble for return, so I'm stuck with it. At least it looks nice, but I'll definitely be buying something better somewhere down the road and beware of buying furniture at a bargain, rather than a respectable furniture store!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very happy with this!
 from Northern California,  Mar 30, 2014

We are not particularly handy, so after reading about some people's negative experiences with assembly, we were nervous about having to put this together ourselves. We noted the advice of other customers, followed the directions carefully, and took our time. The result was beautiful-- no problems along the way. The finished nightstand is very nice looking, and the drawers pull smoothly. The piece is of better quality, heavier, and sturdier than we expected for the price. The finish is a little darker than in the online photo, but that was to our advantage as it matches our existing furniture perfectly. Taking into consideration that this is an "assemble yourself" product, I rate the quality as excellent.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Chestnut Nightstand
 from South Carolina,  Feb 15, 2014

This is a beautiful and solid Chestnut color nightstand. The challenge is putting it together. It took two adults over an hour to assemble it, but once done, it was perfect for our need. All parts are clearly marked and instructions are clear to follow. We are so satisfied we are planning to buy another one for the other side of the bed. A Great Value!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Nice
 from Memphis, TN,  Jan 20, 2014

This is a very nice night stand. Very sturdy and well built. It was a bit tedious to put together due to the rails and drawers, but worth the time it took. The drawers are a bit shallow, but overall it is a very nice item.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

I do like the night stands. They're small which is what I wanted and pretty. Nice shape. They have to be COMPLETELY assembled. It was surprising how many pieces there were! It wasn't too hard but time consuming, and we did nick one drawer face in the process which is a bummer. If you are not handy you'll need help. I think the worst part though is how much packaging there was. Ridiculous! Easily as much packaging as product. I'm glad I have them now but if I had known these two thing I would not have purchased them.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wooden Dowels Don't Fit
 from Prescott, AZ,  Oct 24, 2013

Very attractive piece, nightmare to put together. Virtually all of the wooden dowels fit in one hole but not the other that connected to them.. A rubber mallet did not help. In one case, the wood cracked. It was so bad that I gave up using the dowels and put pieces together using only the camlock screws.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GOOD VALUE-EXACTLY AS DESCRIBED & as in reviews
 from Brooklyn,NY,  Oct 6, 2013

The nightstand is solid wood in all places except the drawer bottom, drawer back, and drawer sides ,which are MDF. Even the back panel is 1/8 plywood. The finish is exactly as described. (The finish does not have that warmth as if it would be finished with an oil based varnish or lacquer, but unless one is a furniture expert one really can't tell the difference. That old time warmth is not common with today's finishes. Furniture enthusiasts will understand this.) Assembly instructions were easy to understand and if followed to perfection will yield a result that works & looks perfect. I am a perfectionist to the 10th degree when doing these products. Meaning-every screw is tightened to the correct torque and placed perfectly straight, screwed in all the way & at the correct angles. With this criteria & someone somewhat experienced it should come out perfect. FYI>>>My older teenage daughter tried helping me-she could not fully tighten some of the screws & cam screws .I had to do it myself. Hints. I broke a camlock bec.I did not follow directions to only turn it 180 degrees...use a wide flat head or hex wrench as recommended for the camlocks. Also,as with all camlocks you must tap the camlock into the hole until it recesses slightly.Don't use a drill driver for the last drop of tightening any of the screws. Feel the torque w/your manual screwdriver ,so as not to overtighten or undertighten. Complaints - Since 80 percent is made of solid wood, I would recommend the manufacturer to make the drawer pieces also in solid wood. When installing the drawer rail slides on to the drawer , I had a problem with the MDF edge on the bottom of the drawer sides (hole close to drawer front) splitting very ,very slightly on all drawers (believe me-unavoidable, unless predrilling it ,which is too time consuming to do correctly) .[They are not predrilled from the factory on purpose -probably to allow slight adjustment of the rails in the event one was not perfect in assembling the drawer.]. Overall the piece is a good value and looks beautiful.It does not have the look, feel, and quality of high end furniture. but you aren't paying high end prices . Remember follow directions to the T in order to get perfect results. Enjoy!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 382 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 20 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top