Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 248 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 13 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
As expected
 from Columbus, OH,  Oct 28, 2011

I purchased 2 of these stools. The welds are solid. The only issue is the black metal banding around the wood seat is not flush, so there is a gap around the wood in some areas. I do not mind this, as the piece is supposed to be rustic and casual. Also, the wood seat is not sanded smooth, but again, the piece is rustic. It's not enough to give splinters. The stool also needed some oiling to avoid a hideous squeek when rotated. For me, none of these issues were a problem and I love the stools. They look great and have a nice balance of being large enough to have a 'presence,' but small enough so as not to overwhelm a space. They were also a FABULOUSLY cost effective option. You just can not compare the price range of these to similar items from more elite sites. When I purchased, they were sold out, so I put my name on the wait list. I received an email letting me know they were in stock again. I purchased them at 10:00 a.m. and by 4:00 p.m. they were sold out again!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? I couldn't really tell what color the stool was from the site, but it said black and yes, it is black.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Product is solid and fully functional.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Just fine
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Decent reproduction of the real thing
 from Portland, OR,  May 17, 2012

These stools - we got two - are decent and will do the job (and fit the aesthetic) in our kitchen. They're are sturdy. The seat width is extra wide, which won't leave your behind, behind. The adjuster-mechanism works and looks cool (quell the squeaks with oil). We decided to finish the seats with some tung oil we had, definitely warms up the grain of the wood (and hopefully will help condition the cracks on their undersides). The wood grade is definitely a "budget" grade - it's mixed-grain with visible knots and one seat is denser than the other. Had we had the budget, we would have gone with the real thing (handmade in the USA). These stools are a good substitute though.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The base is darker, more of a brazed charcoal-black
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The stool is wobble-free and weighted with sand inside (sounds like a rain-stick when you flip it upside down). Overall, the base is sturdy. The wood seat, though not particle or veneer, is extremely lightweight for "natural Fir wood" and prone to cracking (perhaps from being unfinished and drilled with screws 8 times to attach it to the base). The seat may need replacing in a few years, especially if left unfinished. "Natural Fir Wood Finish" is a misnomer, the wood is not finished with varnish. It's also a mixed grain appearance, with small visible knots.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Fairly accurate, though these stools are a product of China, so if you're looking for craftsmanship and exquisite quality, invest in the real thing.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy & affordable substitute for vintage stools
 from Central North Dakota,  Jan 11, 2012

I have been looking for bar stools for over a year, now. I had fallen in love with a reproduction style similar to these stools by another company and also have been watching the actual vintage items on an online auction site. The price on these stools is what drew my attention; easily 1/3 the price of anything else I have looked at. The stools shipped for free, and arrived at my doorstep 8 days after ordering them, exactly as promised (and in the middle of Christmas). I am overall pleased with the quality of these stools, they are quite heavy. The seats screw up and down to adjust the height and provide swivel. They are counter height when screwed all the way down, would accomodate bar height adjusted up. The site says that there is a laquer finish; this must be on the iron base (which looks to be a black distressed finish over a lighter base) . The unfinished wooden seats are heavily grooved but not splinter-y, and there is a small gap between the iron band around the seat and the seat itself (this may be a pain to clean after some time, but otherwise doesn't bother me aesthetically). I removed the seats and stained/polyurehaned them so they would stand up to dalily use and cleaning, and while the seats were off two of them split partways through. I see now in other reviews that seat-splitting happened to others and they exchanged them, but I didn't report the problem to Overstock. The quality of the seat is the major reason I am rating them 4 instead of 5 stars. My kids and several of their friends have commented on how comfortable the stools are--although this might be more of a comparison to the fold up, plastic things we have been eeking by with for the duration of my stool search. :) All-in-all these stools provide just the industrial/antique look that I was wanting to find, without the fussiness of an antique item--just right for family living.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The site has photos of two different stools; The photo inside the product description is very close to what we recieved.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I am confident that these stools will stand up to daily use by my family.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Site description lacked detail, but everything they included was accurate. Thank you, reviewers for filling in the gaps.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love the stools!!
 from Missouri,  Oct 13, 2011

Very attractive barstool and great quality. There was a defect with one stool that I ordered and the company easily and promptly sent me a new one to replace it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
sturdy, substantial, adjustable barstool
 from north dakota,  Sep 27, 2011

I ordered these stools because I saw a similar item in a pricey publication. I saved $259 on each stool and the quality is excellent. They arrived completely assembled and are a very sturdy stool. I am very pleased. They are exactly what I wanted.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? the color was very close to what I expected from the picture on site
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality exceeded my expectations.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? extremely accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just as good as You-Know-Whos
 from Rochester, New York,  Dec 24, 2013

We stayed at a well designed rental cabin several years ago, and among one of the most striking features were their bar stools. I had never appreciated the chic industrial look...until I saw those stools! I asked the proprietor where the stools were purchased (very high end restorative furniture store.) I proceeded to go online with all intentions of buying the stools -- until I nearly gagged at the price. Sorry! This middle class working girl can't justify that! So, I tried to forget about the stools. Two years later we bought a new house, and I HAD to have those stools! Scoured the Internet. Found these on Overstock. Couldn't be happier! And at 1/3 the price! I purchased two stools, and purchased a third several months later. The first two had the naked fir wood seat. This wasn't a problem for me, as I had planned on staining and sealing it a darker color, anyway. The third stool had a layer of polyurethane on it. It appeared to be just one layer; possibly applied after the stool was assembled. I lightly sanded all the stools and stained them. The third one needed more than a light sanding to remove all the polyurethane. As a result, it's a slightly different shade than the other two. This is not a big deal for me, as I appreciate the hand-wrought look. We placed silicone pads on the feet to remove the possibility of floor scratches. The frame is not iron, but sprayed steel to appear just like iron. (We'd pay a helluva lot more for iron.) They spin the seat round to the appropriate height. I'm a short-legged girl of 5' 5" and like it at it's shortest, where the seat is resting on the legs. These are fun, industrial chic, stylish stools which we have received many compliments. We received them in typical quick, Overstock time, and they were packaged nicely, preventing any damage. Well-made, the stools should last a long-time and sure to add an element of sophistication and design to your room!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
had to return these
 from NJ,  Sep 18, 2012

The look so cool - heavy industrail chic - in person, they were a disappointment. The metal looked cheaper than the picture and was lighter than expected and the wood tops/seats were so dry that one was split. Had to sen them back. As usual, dealing with Overstock Customer Service was a breeze.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? similar
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. fair to poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? pretty close
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy, industrial bar stools
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Sep 14, 2012

We had been looking for bar stools like this on a number of other sites, but the price was much higher. Im not sure what else those stools have, because these stools are well made of steel and wood. I think they are the most sturdy piece of furniture we now have! The only comment would be that the base is pretty wide, wider than the seat- so if youre trying to squeeze them into an area, these might not be the stools for you.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
stools
 from Severn MD,  Oct 18, 2011

one top was broken.. but overstock replaced .. happy with product and service

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. one broken.. but overstock replaced
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
wonderful
 from oklahoma,  Sep 24, 2011

I fell in luv with this barstool months ago,and it sold out before I got one.Overstock put me on the waiting list and when it was available I bought it.I use it as a small table,because the seat part is very large.I am going to purchace another one.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? it does not have a verdigris patina...it is black
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. built well with strong materials
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? right on
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
High end look for less
 from ND,  Aug 18, 2012

I was happy with the 2 stools I ordered. They are very "pottery barn" ish! The stool rims are a bit more rustic/rough than I would have liked but overall a very good stool.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was as expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice heavy quality stool
 from Arkansas,  Aug 18, 2012

Nice heavy barstool. Looks great in my rustic house. Very well packed. Awesome for the price, have seen them much higher priced.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? seems correct
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I thought this was a good quality product
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accuate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Product!
 from Washington, DCV metro area,  Feb 14, 2012

I love these stools! The price is quite good for the quality that you get in these industrial stools. I agree with another reviewer... I have seen similar ones priced at $250-$350. They are very sturdy and heavy. I stained the wood top and coated them with polyurethane. They look great in my kitchen. I am so happy with this purchase and with the delivery and the experience with Overstock.com!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color was very close to the product.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? It was a accurate description.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bigger scale than expected
 from aurora, CO,  Feb 2, 2012

when the stools arrived i found them to be much larger than expected and so the scale was all wrong for our small kitchen counter. they are very sturdy and pretty rustic....that's what i expected and they are the color i expected. the two negatives were that they were way too big in our kitchen and the wood seat was cracked. i returned the stools and have not found anything else better yet. i cannot fault overstock for the size of the stool....it's difficult to tell from a picture.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? pretty exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. the stools are totally sturdy....but the wood was cracked
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? pretty accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for the price
 from US,  Dec 21, 2011

We were looking for something that fits our industrial setting yet wanted something rustic....These fit the bill to the "T". The price was fantastic too....we looked at ****, I bought 4 stools from the "O" for the price of one of theirs and much better quality I think. Now the seats are bare wood...very rustic but I didn't mind.. I sanded them down a bit a placed my own color stain on them, then a coat of poly. The are now mahogany in color and the perfect seat for my apothecary bar. I'll wait until these go on sale again to pick up a few more.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love them!
 from Gardner, LA,  Nov 10, 2011

These stools go perfectly in my home.. It was exactly as pictured and very very sturdy! I don't think they will fall apart anytime soon.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great quality, sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice
 from Maryland,  Dec 20, 2014

Solid build. Wood top is rustic rough, but easily replaced if ever necessary.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
AWESOME barstools!!
 from Nashville, TN,  Nov 5, 2014

Absolutely LOVE my barstools! They are very sturdy and seem to be made VERY well (I've had them for several months now). I was pleasantly surprised when I opened the box (in a good way)...the seat part was larger than I had expected. I get compliments on them all of the time. VERY good barstool especially when you find others that are similar, but not near as sturdy and cost more. GREAT value!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love my stools!
 from Upper Marlboro, MD,  Oct 21, 2014

I wanted to create a rustic and modern look in my kitchen. I chose these and bought three for my kitchen island. I LOVE how they look. They have a good size (comfortable for even the most ample bottoms) and weight. They arrive in separate boxes, with no assembly required. The wood seat tops are rustic and unfinished but not scratchy. I'm pleased with my purchase and highly recommend them. Excellent product!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome!
 from SLC, Ut,  Sep 30, 2014

These are absolutely the coolest barstools ever! They are more comfortable than they look and just add a nice touch to my kitchen

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 248 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 13 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought