Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-13 of 13 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Kenyan Large Thumb Piano (Kenya)
 from Central Coast of California,  Oct 26, 2010

Fun and portable. I bought two of these for gifts and my boyfriend wanted me to give one to him after he saw them. They are smaller than the ones I remember from school but that makes them easier to handle for the kids I bought them for. The "keys" might be a bit sharp-or at least build up calluses if used a lot (maybe like you would if you play guitar for a long time). Nice to help another country in need of help and please my loved ones at the same time.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GREAT!
 Sep 29, 2010

I love it!! However, I suggest you do what I did before purchasing... draw on a piece of paper the size of the product (it lists the dimensions). It is a very small piece, but worth every penny!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Ok
 from Boston, MA,  Sep 27, 2011

I thought this was overpriced for the actual product. I bought it as part of a gift for my father at Christmas, because he like eclectic things like this and is painfully hard to shop for. He liked it, but the little thumb prickers are dingy metal and I would recommend using a pick or a coin to fiddle with. It's kinda cheap, but he was happy.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. True
  • How accurate was the sizing? True
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
deco or entertain
 from New York, NY,  Jul 28, 2010

This product could be used as decoration and is fun to play...

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
mrs
 from ca,  Apr 1, 2010

interesting fun for the family. the grandkids are very interested in this piano.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Thumb piano
 from Dallas, TX,  Dec 27, 2009

I ordered this as another musical toy/instrument for the children and grandchildren. We have a lot of musical/.sound makers for the family to play with.This would not be appropriate for children under 4-5 years of age.Thank you for a sound maker that does not go in the mouth and pass around germs.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Souvenir quality
 from Troup, TX,  Dec 13, 2009

I ordered 2 of these thumb drums or pianos after reading in a review of the smaller thumb piano that it seemed to be "tourist" or souvenir quality. I hoped that the more expensive version would be more of a musical instrument but it isn't. The appearance is unimpressive, and one of the "keys" buzzes at an indeterminate frequency.I gave one to a non-musician friend who was thrilled with it, but I won't give the other one to my musician friend as I intended. It's not musician quality.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for the budding musician.
 from Houston , Texas,  Jan 24, 2014

I bought this for my 9 yo grandson who is home schooled. I thought it would expand his music lessons, My daughter says he took to it immediately and loves to play tunes on it. The workmanship is good too,

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Christmas present for musican
 from San Diego CA,  Aug 24, 2013

This music box was a Christmas gift for my musician son. He records songs and I wanted an unique instrument that he might enjoy. I have a budget so could not spent $$$$. I ordered this and the price was great. He really enjoyed it. I was so pleased. He played with it making songs and new sounds for his recordings. His children could even play with it and it looks great as an accent piece in his home. The wood is lovely . It is small even to sit on a book case or coffee table. It can used as a conversation piece.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent gift for my Kenyan Sister-in-law
 from Walton, KY,  Dec 28, 2012

Beautiful sound and looks. Can be used for decor and as a talking piece when people visit. It turns out that this Thumb piano was created by an artist in my sister-in-law's tribe! Made it an extra special gift :)

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Gorgeous
  • How accurate was the sizing? Smaller than expected
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Kalimba Thumb Piano
 from Seattle, WA,  Jun 2, 2012

An interesting, authentic African instrument. Beautiful appearance. Would make for a nice display piece. With gentle use, I think this would be a fun instrument to sing along with and also for children to experiment with cultural music. I have two complaints: The joining at the corners of the wooden box seems loose and breakable. Also, one of the metal "keys" is way off in sound. The others all are great, but when you get to the 5th one over, it sounds really bad. Maybe fixable/adjustable for someone who knows about tuning instruments.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good, but not great
  • How accurate was the sizing? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Limitations
 from New York, NY,  Apr 1, 2012

It was fun in the beginning. Not sure if its not suitable for heavy handed people but I left it with my dad. One of the wires came loose. We don't mess with it anymore.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Its not 100%
  • How accurate was the sizing? Fine
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great gift
 from Redmond, Wa,  Dec 31, 2011

I bought this for my 4 year old grandson. He was fascinated with it. It is not a toy and will not be kept in the toy box, but brought out when some quiet time is needed.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the sizing? right on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-13 of 13 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top