Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 25 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
confusing instruction
 from upstate NY,  Sep 9, 2007

These lamps provide a contemporary source of lighting in dark corners of our living room. I am very pleased with the outcome. The instructions re: type of light bulb were conflicting, however. The online instructions indicated 60 watt standard light bulb; the fixture itself says 25 watt or less, type B. In fact, it requires a regular type bulb, low-wattage. The low-wattage is necessary so as not to burn the rice paper shade. It took us a few trips to the store to finally get the correct bulbs. By using an energy efficient fluoro bulb, you can avoid the heat issue related to higher wattage bulbs.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent product, great price
 from Florida,  Feb 2, 2008

This lamp was not difficult to put together by one person. It looks great and is well built. Although the wood "cross pieces" are thin (as they should be), the product arrived in perfect condition. No tools are required. I would recommend using the lowest wattage bulb possible, I use 15 watts, since it is real paper and higher wattage bulbs are not needed. A beautiful addition to many decors...doesn't need to be asian decor.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love the lamps
 from New Jersey,  Nov 12, 2006

I ordered one lamp and was delighted that it came carefully packaged. It was easy to put together and I loved the way it looked, so I ordered another one. Everybody who comes to the house loves the way they look in our family room. The write up says they take a 60 watt bulb, but the really take 2 25 watt bulbs. I recommend the lamps highly if you are looking for a diffferent look in your lighting.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The assembling tool was worthless.
 from Little Rock, AR,  Sep 21, 2012

I tried to assemble with the tool offered. You will need a wrench for securing the lighting pieces. I don't have one and hand tight is not safe because the lights go up from bottom, not down from top. It is beautiful, but if it falls over one time, will be ruined. Its not for a household with kids. The paint and wood easliy scratches so be careful with touching it.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. ok
  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Shoji Floor Lamp
 from Kent, Wa,  Feb 19, 2012

Well made. Great accent lighting. Used two low watt flourescent bulbs

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very well made and easy set up
  • How accurate was the sizing? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Simple, elegant floorlamp
 from Seattle, WA,  Dec 27, 2011

We really like this floor lamp...used it to brighten a dark corner of the living room. The simple, elegant Japanese design would fit with most any decor. The indirect light (from 2 bulbs) glows through the tall paper screen. It is well made and easy to assemble.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Rosewood finish is a medium-dark reddish brown stain.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Well made, considering it is delicate (light wood frame / paper)
  • How accurate was the sizing? Sized as described.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Lamp
 from Edmonds, WA,  Jul 7, 2011

This lamp was very easy to assemble just fold out and add the stabilizer.Gives a nice soft light and looks amazing in the corner of a room.Delivery was fast as usual with Overstock.com.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Well made solid floor lamp.
  • How accurate was the sizing? Perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
pretty lamp, but overpriced, not stable.
 from New York NY,  Dec 8, 2010

This lamp looks really pretty and is perfect for my bedroom. However, the quality of a product is not very good. the lamp is very unstable. I think the product is overpriced for what it is.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

The black windowpane Shoji floor lamps arrived in perfect condition. They were packed securely. The required assembly was easy with the addition of your own phillips head screwdriver. Beautiful ambient/romantic lighting. I used 40W bulbs with good effect. Great product with quality in alignment with cost.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great ambiance
 from Chicago burbs,  Mar 16, 2010

This lamp came in 2 basic pieces. The outter "box" shape, and the inner light fixture. Take it out of the box, stand it up, screw in the light fixture (with bulbs installed), set the top on, and TA-DA! it's done! Very simple! Everyone that comes in comments on how nicely it lights up the corner. It creates a very warm glow. - I used 40 watt utility bulbs , I believe the instructions said 60 watt max, but I prefer the "glow" from the smaller bulbs. It seemed to want to lean to one side just a bit, but I slid a teeny shem under the low corner and now it's perfectly level. I got the rosewood color and am very satisfied.!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
shoji floor lamp
 from Chicago, IL,  Mar 12, 2010

Very nice product....had to do a little extra sodering but all in all nice product; nice prie especially with the low cost shipping fee.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Shoji Floor Lamp
 Feb 20, 2010

The floor lamp looks good but when putting it together I couldn't slide one of the light sockets into wooden groove proved. I had to jerry-rig the dumb thing cause repacking and trucking it to the UPS store and then pay for shipping is a harrowing thought. Hopefully it won't fall apart.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very cool
 from galena, oh,  Jan 5, 2010

Really cool lamp and is a nice, casual piece of decor. Provides great mood lighting and was easy to assemble. Might be priced a little high, but it was exactly what I wanted, so it's worth it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
expensive, but cool
 from mountains of Utah,  Sep 17, 2009

I bought the black, tall shoji lamp. It is just as pictured and we like it a lot. It takes two, regular, low-wattage bulbs and gives off a lot of ambient light. At first I thought it was too bright, but now I've grown to like it. It is quite delicate because the rice paper could easily be damaged. However, I put it against the wall and as long as no one is bumping or touching it a lot, it will be fine. It's very stable. The cord comes out the bottom and is highly visible. The cord has a round, step on switch that is very useful. The only thing that could make it better would be if the step on switch had a tiny night light on it so you could find it easier in the dark. And if the cord was hidden better. Overall, it's a very cool lamp and I'm happy with my purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Feng shui ambiance
 from Omaha, NE,  Aug 9, 2009

Beautiful lamp.....gives a nice feng shui feel to the room. Very satisfied.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Lamp
 from WA,  Sep 26, 2008

This a beautiful lamp, very easy to assemble, and gives off a nice glow. We put the lamps in our acupuncture clinic, and have received many compliments on them. They were packaged securely and there are no flaws on them. I would buy more but the honey color is gone!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
a wonderful lamp
 from Ashland, OR,  Jun 23, 2008

I love this lamp. It is very easy to put together and gives off a very nice light. It not like other floor lamps you see and is sturdy and expensive looking. It looks great with my baby grand piano and antique furniture. It would fit in many types of decor.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not a great deal, but still worth the price
 from San Diego,  May 4, 2008

The lamp makes a great addition to the massage room, where I need "mood" lighting. I chose the dark brown color because I thought it would look more expensive, and I'm sure that was the right decision. I might get another for the living room.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
shoji lamp
 from ny,  Apr 30, 2008

great lamp,very easy to assemble,love the step on switch,looks beautiful,nice warm glow.lots of compliments,go ahead get it.you won't regret it.shipping was quick,low shipping,no tax,no gas.love overstock.com

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
OH SO FIERCE!!!!
 from Plattsburgh, NY,  Feb 23, 2008

Bought this tall one and the smaller matching lamp-- put them together in a corner of our zen/modern asian bedroom and VA-VA-VA-VOOM!!!! Instant ambiance and very impressive. Ours has two 60 watt bulbs inside and provides soft, glowing light that illuminates easily by pressing on the foot pedal. So great that you don't have to bend down or reach behind to switch it on/off. This is a great way to lighten up a dark corner or make a style statement

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 25 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top