Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 34 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Vivid blue quilt
 from Florida,  Sep 16, 2006

Its gorgeous! I love it. HOWEVER- buyer beware- they are small!!! I instinctively ordered a king size for a queen bed and it only hangs over about 8 inches......It would fit a double bed perfectly as a bedspread. NOT a queen.....but it is SO pretty, the fabric is heavy,yet comfortable. The colors are subtle and yet bright; it is very calming. The toss pillows were a disappointment; they dont seem to really match, but thats ok.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Portland, OR,  Jan 30, 2006

What a find! This beautiful quilt arrived in just a few days and the colors shown on the site are accurate but could never show how intricate and vivid the pattern is! The instructions say to dry clean or hand wash & hang dry however,if you have a front-loading washer you can easily wash on delicate and dry on low heat. I've washed it this way 3 times and it looks as brilliant and has kept the same shape as the day I received it! It is very light weight to use during the summer or I have found it perfect to use as a full-sized "throw" over my white down comforter. Thanks Overstock!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
To dye or not to dye
 from Maryland,  Mar 23, 2012

After I ordered this blue patchwork quilt, I figured out that (I think) there are several versions of the same quilt: Two basic undyed versions, "blue pastels" and "rose pastels," and then what are probably the same quilts dyed blue, yellow, "rust" ... maybe more. Anyway, figuring this out, and reading comments about how the dye tends to come off and all, made me think maybe I should have ordered "blue pastels," although I was looking for something darker. Too late. But here's what I did: Blithely ignoring the care instructions, as soon as I got it I machine-washed it several times, with plenty of hot water and soap, until the rinse water ran clear. Kind of like fading jeans, but without the bleach. Line-dried it. I really like the result. It's still blue, but not drowned in blue -- it makes the color accents in the patches pop. The dye doesn't come off on the sheets or whatever. And I don't have to fuss with hand washing or dry-cleaning (something about treating a down-home patchwork quilt like delicate lacework was bothering me). I'll try to remember to update the comment if there turns out to be a serious downside. But I offer it as something to consider, in deciding which to buy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Art
 from Seattle,  Jul 29, 2011

This really is a work of art and I wished that it had worked out but it didn't due to color scheme in my bedroom and weight. The blue is so rich and deep, like twilight with accents of other saturated colors. It is more a coverlet with no fill, and altho the material is thicker than plain sheets, it wouldn't be enough for our cool summer nights. I was tempted to keep it anyway, that's how nice it was but still need to afford to buy a summer quilt!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Simply Gorgeous!
 from Dallas, TX,  May 12, 2006

This is a marvelous piece! The color is vibrant, the stitching is unseen, the fabric is quality. We purchased a king size and it is ample in coverage and is heavier in weight, but not too heavy to use in the summer. An extra nice feature are the tabs stitched on at one end so you can hang this exquisite piece of artwork on the wall if you so desire. For those who appreciate the color blue and use it in their decorating scheme, this would make a beautiful wedding, graduation, or house warming gift.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Truly Vivid - Very Beautiful
 from Akron, OH,  Feb 27, 2009

Quilt arrived within 48 hrs of order. See photo at Handmade Guatemalan Patchwork Quilt (Guatemala) Item#: 10480674 (Vivid Blue) for better idea of true color. The colors are MUCH brighter and more vivid than shown in the photo at the Vivid Blue Quilt/Pillowcase Set page. The quilt DOES NOT look faded AT ALL. It is heavy and well-made. No flaws of any kind in quilt or pillowcases! Back of quilt is solid black. Does not look faded. As description states, pillow covers do NOT exactly match the quilt. If you are looking for an exact match, you will be disappointed. The pillow covers I received have a periwinkle blue/lavender color accenting the same blues, greens, and black seen in the quilt. They COMPLIMENT; they do NOT exactly match (which I expected). Bright and beautiful. Sturdy zipper closure on back, covered by fabric flap. The fabric on the back of the pillow covers is a muted blue and black plaid. NO chemical smell or odor of any kind. Highest recommendation! Quilt and pillow covers are SO beautiful, and a Fair Trade item, too! Would definitely buy again, now that I have seen the actual items! All rave reviews well-deserved.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Guatamalen blanket was beautiful one pillow case w
 from Lancaster, PA,  Feb 5, 2008

I'd give the blanket 5 stars but the one pillow case was growsly distorted and mis sewn. I did not ecxpect them to match perfectly because they were handmade. Art should have some imperfectionsbut this pillowcase had big black rope like stiching on it while the other one was beautiful.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Ca.,  Jan 30, 2006

The quality and workmenship are wonderful. The picture really does not do it justice. It is also quite heavy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I adore this quilt!
 from Gulfport Florida,  Jun 17, 2014

The colors are gorgeous. The light weight is perfect for year-round use here in Florida, and as an added benefit makes easier for someone like me with debilitating arthritis to make my king size bed every morning.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Quilt
 from Colorado,  May 12, 2013

This is a beautiful quilt. The colors are vivid without being bright. I love it.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How accurate was the sizing? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful!
 from South Orange, NJ,  May 4, 2013

The quilt is gorgeous and so are the pillows. the pillows are not standard bed pillow size they are more throw pillows. It is on the thinner side, but its what you'd expect with a quilt. The only thing I wasn't pleased with is the black backing, but after putting it on the bed you don't see it & its not bothering me. I also wish I could order standard or king sized pillow shams as I'm not sure what to use that will coordinate. Overall I am pleased with the quality of this product. The colors are beautiful & for the price you cant find something like this in a store. Wish I would've thought to buy one of these when I was in Guatemala!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes on the quilt, my pillows had more purple than pictured, but I wasn't expecting it to be exact so I am still pleased
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great quality & workmanship
  • How accurate was the sizing? Fits fine on our king sized bed- not oversized, but not small
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pillowcase quilt set
 from Oklahoma,  Aug 28, 2012

I had read most of the reviews before I purchased this and they were so right. I like the color but was really hoping that I might actually get one that was a softer blue. The only thing I would change is the lining. I think it would be much better with a cotton back. I planned to use this on my couch but now I think it will be great in my bedroom, which is painted a soft green and a lt lavender ceiling. It justs pops.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? not at all, It is a vivid blue, but very beautiful
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the sizing? very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
product review
 from Nevada,  Jun 14, 2012

I would not purchase this bedspread again as it fades on things.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The Blue color fades onto you skin and clothes.
  • How accurate was the sizing? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Quilt
 from Phoenix, AZ,  May 22, 2012

This is a really beautiful quilt that looks great on my bed. The only down side is that it has to be dry cleaned.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Even prettier!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems to be very well made.
  • How accurate was the sizing? Fine
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful!
 from Kansas City, MO,  Mar 22, 2012

I got this for my son for his 18th birthday. He adores it! It is thin (as it is supposed to be a bed spread or wall hanging) but surprisingly heavy and warm. I didn't realize that it comes with loops along one edge for hanging- though I can't imagine hanging something this large on a wall! I found that the sizing was good and though the pillows are a different shade and more vibrant than the quilt I found that they compliment it well. It goes well with my sons bohemian style quite well.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Well made
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gorgeous color
 from Santa Cruz, CA,  Jan 31, 2012

What a gorgeous color. Be aware that it's not really a quilt, because there's no *filling*; it's more like a duvet cover. But it's seriously a beautiful quilt. The rich blues are really wonderful.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes, possibly even richer
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great........but
 from West Virginia,  Nov 11, 2008

This is a great quilt. The quality is wonderful, the color is fantastic. My only issue is that it is not color-fast, even after washing. Any recommendations on making it color fast would be appreciated. We have quit using it for the moment because it turns our skin blue (and the washer and dryer and anything that comes into contact with it)

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Surprisingly high quality
 from Creedmoor, NC,  Jun 27, 2008

I ordered this to compliment freshly painted blue walls, and was a little skeptical about what the quality would be. It arrived less than 48 hours after I ordered it and astonished me with the quality of the construction of both the quilt and the pillow covers. The quilt is deep, vibrant hues of blue with a surrounding black border. As mentioned in other reviews, it has tabs to hang it on a wall. The pillow shams were the big surprise; they have hours and hours of hand embroidered flowers on them and are coordinate with each other and the quilt. They zip closed, too. It is obviously handmade, but quality construction, not tourist goods. FYI, I put it on an extra high full size bed and ordered a king sized quilt. It drops nicely on both sides and eliminates the need for a dust ruffle.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quilt/Pillowcase
 from TX,  Apr 11, 2008

Awesome colors, brightens the room. Very vivid , sets off my furniture very well

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Amazing Value
 from Woodbridge, VA,  Dec 1, 2007

This set is STUNNING. It's a very heavy-weight quilt and more appropriate for colder weather. It's not a summer coverlet. I chose this gift for my neighbors as a Christmas gift. I'm looking forward to giving it to them. The wife is from Guatemala. She does so very much for the poor and homeless in our church and community. I love the fact that a portion of the proceeds from my purchase will go back to her home country. (I think she will, too!) It makes a truly beautiful gift into a very thoughtful gift, as well. Thank you AGAIN, Overstock.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 34 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top