Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 30 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Yuck
 from VA Beach, VA,  Mar 22, 2007

This atrocity is ugly to the extreme and nothing like the picture. I expected some variation from the reviews, but this piece of dreck is horrible. There are no curves in the statue - it is very square and flat. There are many chips and scratches. The arm is cracked and reattached. Overall, a very misleading picture. It will either be returned or thrown into the fireplace in effigy to protect others.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Thinker
 from UT,  Jan 9, 2007

I am not sure how the ratings show that everyone is a satisfied customer because I have read many reviews about this piece to the contrary. I ordered "The Thinker" hoping to be one of the lucky ones to get a good one, but I didn't. The figure looks nothing like the picture and it definitely has a different wood base

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice gift
 from Los Angeles, California,  Jan 22, 2010

I bought this as a gift and like it, even though it doesn't look anything like the picture. In the picture, it is depicted as rather narrow, but it is quite wide. The long "arm" is a completely different color (perhaps type) of wood. It looks like a big rectangle. But, I think the person I gave it to likes it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
domino915
 from Westchester, NY,  Apr 22, 2008

Overall I'm pretty happy with this purchase, though it may be a bit overpriced. I bought it for a bookshelf in my living room & it really is eye-catching. There's a section on the foot that wasn't buffed, which looks odd, but I guess can be considered part of its hand-made charm. The base isn't flat, so the statute wobbles slightly.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Dec 21, 2006

I love my thinker statue!! When I first ordered it I was a little concerned because it seemed like customer satifaction was up in the air. Some people loved it and others were not happy at all. Since they are hand made they all come out different. I guess I was lucky because mine came out great. Mine is a bit taller then the one pictured here but it it still very good quality. I was also suprized to see is that my thinker is also flatter then the one pictured here which is good because I don't want it taking up a lot if space. There is a sticker on the bottom that tells you where it was made and what this statue represents to the African people who made it. It is trully a high quality a sophisticated piece of art and I will say it again. I am very satisfied.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from SAN FRANCISCO, CA,  Jan 30, 2006

I must have received the piece that was unfinished. Half of the piece is not stained and what is stained is not very dark and of poor quality. Very disappointed...and as this is one of my first real experiences shopping here I am annoyed that I now am out so much money(shipping and fees) and with nothing to show for it. Hmmm, been an online shopper for a very long time, but I guess I will stay with merchants I know and whose quality I can trust.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This is an awesome piece!
 from Cali,  Jan 6, 2008

I got this piece for my fiance who just took his first leadership position. It's presence is very strong. I love the natural appeal that this has. The stain is imperfect so it looks very unique. I want to buy one for my home now too!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Think of it!
 from Richland WA,  Oct 2, 2007

I am enamored with my statue. It varies in shape from the one in the photo, which was an initial disappointment. However, it still delivers the message. The unique piece is interesting and inspiring.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice piece
 from Baltimore,  Sep 11, 2007

Very nice piece of wood sculpture. It's a tad bit smaller than I expected, but still large enough to noticeably display. Very pleased with product.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice piece
 from Boston,  Apr 10, 2007

I bought this for my living room side table. It's lovely and looks terrific. A little smaller than I expected, and a little flimsier, but the design is great.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Hand Carving!
 from California,  Nov 10, 2006

I love this thinker. It was a gift to my hubby who graduated some years ago with his degree in philosophy. He's often exactly in this position. Anyhow, the quality of the wood is high, and the care taken in its creation is visible.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
outstanding
 from Southcentral PA,  Sep 4, 2006

So far, I have purchased three of these statues, and sent two as gifts. Everyone who sees this item makes positive comments and asks where I purchased it. My friends who received them as gifts thought they were fabulous, and they are well displayed in their offices. With respect to the pose of the statue, well, it looks to me like someone deep in thought. I don't think this was conceived to be a copy of a Rodin image, and I won't hesitate to buy additional statues as gifts.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Virginia,  Jan 30, 2006

Always wanted "The Thinker," and this one is FABULOUS! Arrived fast. Even better than expected.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Chester/Pennsylvania/USA,  Jan 30, 2006

I ordered the The 12" Thinker carved from a beautiful wood, that leaves you and you guest breathless. The details , the craftmanship, the finished product is exquisit. The detail to finish is beautiful, smooth and you can feel the time and patience that was put into this piece. You get more than you paid for. So beautiful, I ordered a second one and did a display on my sofa table in the walkay, so that they are visible from all areas of the room upon entry and leaving. Catches everones attention and they ask where did you get this. "I know it cost a lot." I highly reccommend this item in both the 12" and 10".

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Chester/Pa/USA,  Jan 30, 2006

I own 2 brass Thinkers. But after purchasing the carved woood the brass had to be put aside. Everyone that comes in loves this statue. I orederd a scond one to change my sofa table display. THey do arrive fast. The craftemanship is awesome. I will definitely continue to order from O.S.com.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Danbury, WI,  Jan 30, 2006

I order this piece for my brand new house. I was very impressed with it. It's a great buy and incredibly fast shipping. Thank you Overstock.com!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Sacramento, CA/USA,  Jan 30, 2006

Quality was good. The informational sticker on the back was the perfect touch! The saying was very appropriate for the person I gave this to. Thanks

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Jacksonille, FL,  Jan 30, 2006

Beautiful!! This is a very elegant piece at a great price. Much faster shipping than expected..

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Pleasant Grove, UT, USA,  Jan 30, 2006

Very fine artisanship. Bought this in mind to sit on a desk. However, much larger than I had visualized. Better suited for a shelf I think. Very pleased with the THINKER.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Southern California,  Jan 30, 2006

Love the craftmanship of this art piece. Always have liked The Thinker. Very nice addition to our home.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 30 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top