Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-18 of 18 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Bundu Mask
 from Spokane, WA,  Mar 4, 2007

I received the Bundu mask today, and overall it's pretty cool. The colors are not as vibrant as they appear in the picture, but it still looks good. There is nothing on the back to hang it with, so you will have to add that yourself.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

It has become, far and away, my favorite mask in my colllection. It is of first rate craftsmanship and the colors (actually gray and red) are in outstanding combination. Oh, I should have mentioned, I got the one with the forked tongue. You do the same and you will be extremely pleased. P.S. A friend of mine saw this in my house and he ordered one for his house - I hate him.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? No; however, it was even prettier, as delivered
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Absolutely first rate quality.
  • How accurate was the sizing? It was much larger than I expected. It is huge.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice and original
 from Sunny South Florida,  Jun 14, 2012

Nice product, I have several masks handmade in Zimbabwe and Haiti, and You can definitely tell this is mass produced, but I doubt anyone visiting my home will care. It's a nice addition to our home.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Not the bright red I hoped for
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Typical mass produce product
  • How accurate was the sizing? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GOOD PRODUCT
 from elizabethtown, KY,  Mar 23, 2008

PRODUCT IS GOOD BUWHEN I ORDER IT I THOUGHT THAT ALL THE MASK DISPLAYED WERE WHAT I WAS GETTING I DID NOT READ ANYWHERE THAT YOU HAD TO CHOOSE ONLY ONE MASK FROM THE GROUP, I WAS MISLEAD OTHER WISE

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect
 from Dinwiddie, VA,  Nov 6, 2012

Perfect and exactly what I was looking for as a Christmas gift for one of my daughters that collects these.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality
  • How accurate was the sizing? perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful work
 from ny,  Jan 31, 2012

What I got is exactly what I ordered. The crafting was great, My father loved getting it.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. carved in soft wood excellent quality
  • How accurate was the sizing? spot on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great as expected....
 from CA,  Aug 23, 2011

I really like this mask and I call it our little slept baby... :-)

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? It's not that kind of product. each one has it's unique colors and shape.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. it seems very natural.
  • How accurate was the sizing? as I said each one of this produce has it's unique shape and colors.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent
 from New York, NY,  Feb 11, 2014

These mask are made well. The colors are vibrate and the quality is great. I can't wait until I hang them in my dining room.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Strong presence
 from Detroit, MI,  Nov 28, 2013

I ordered the Dragomba Mask from overstock. it arrived in two days and I am very impressed by its look. I put it with my other masks and it changed the look of the entire wall. Good size and had a strong presence. It catches the eyes as soon as you enter the room. I am very pleased with the product and want to thank the artisan for this beautiful artifact.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice mask
 from Largo, FL,  Apr 29, 2013

My decore is red and black and I was excited to find mask that I hoped would compliment that color scheme. I was some what disappointed to find that a mask that was pictured as mostly black had almost no black on it at all. The pieces have no sheen to them either. They are more of a matted look and definately hand carved. My family feels that the lack of sheen actually makes them look more authentic so I hung them and have been surprised by the compliments I received on the pieces.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? no
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I was expecting a more finished looking product with more of a sheen to them
  • How accurate was the sizing? size matched description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Misleading, this is not a set of four.
 from Cleveland Heights, Ohio,  Apr 25, 2013

First, I want to say that the advertising of the masks was misleading, it says a "Set of four Symbolic Sese Wood African Tribal Mask (Ghana)". I noticed since I purchased my masks, a correction has been made. I made an order for the Dagomba and Boule Sese wood, the Dagomba came but the Boule wood did not. I was sent the Boule Sese wood brass mask by mistake. The Dagomba mask color is not true to the photo, it is much lighter. One side of the bottom mask does not sit flush to the wall, which causes a problem. Although, I was sent the wrong Boule Sese mask, I like the brass version. After receiving the Dagomba Sese mask and the color was not true to the photo, I am satisfied with the Boule Sese brass mask. I will review the Boule Sese brass mask, it sits flushed to the wall with no problem, the coloring is different, it is darker than pictured. If you collect african masks, this will be a nice addition to your collection. I gave this an average rating because the color of the Dagomba mask does not match, and it does not sit flush to the wall. Although a mistake was made, I would give the Boule Sese wood brass mask an excellent, because it is a nice piece of artwork.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? No, the color on-site is richer than the actual product.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality of the product is okay, they are made of pretty good wood.
  • How accurate was the sizing? Sizing is okay.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful African Mask
 from Emmett, MI,  Dec 20, 2012

This is a very large mask; pay attention to the sizing. It is very beautiful, however, the vibrant colors displayed on the product page is not what is actually on the mask. I received subdued colors, very pretty indeed, but not quite as pictured.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? No, colors much more pale.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the sizing? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice
 from Tampa FL,  Dec 14, 2012

quality is there, they put some cheap stringy earrings on it, took it off and fine

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. quality is there, they put some cheap stringy earrings on it, took it off and fine
  • How accurate was the sizing? correct
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not as depicted
 from Alexandria, VA,  Apr 10, 2012

The workmanship is crude and the colors are very faint.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? no
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. rough workmanship
  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Primitive
 from Sandy, OR,  Aug 4, 2011

The graphic designs are appealing. However, the workmanship so crude, I have not a clue as to what I may do with them. Think I will hang them in the garage.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? color somewhat fade in product
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. crude workmanship
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
mask
 from Columbus, OH,  May 30, 2008

a little difficult to hang as the leather loop provided was awkward, but I've dealt with masks that have had no means with which to hang them at all. The workmanship, looked hurried and "mass" produced. It was apparent that it was made simply to be sold and wasn't imbued with the meaning a tribal mask would normally have if it were "traditional." I'm not sure if I'm getting my point across. The masks that I actually picked up IN Africa when I was there were made as though they were going to be kept and used by the makers if they weren't sold. Each was unique and lovingly made and you could see the care put into those. For the price, this seemed a bit "production line."

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
African Ghana Mask
 from Georgia,  May 19, 2008

I was pleasantly surprised when I received the mask; good quality and workmanship. I cannot wait to get the other three to display in my Dining Room. I have already recommended these items (as well as the website) to friends and family.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice
 from baltimore,md,  May 10, 2008

I was really very pleased with this purchase. I got the boule mask. It is very well made and the size is substantial. The only thing was that the colors were a little duller than how they appear in the picture. Other than that its a great buy and it looks nice in my home. Overstock is great as usual and the mask was deilvered quicky and very well packaged.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-18 of 18 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top