Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 41 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
great product
 from Lawton, OK,  Jan 15, 2008

This was bought as a gift for my husband who has lost his previous chess set in a move. This is a beautiful replacement and he and our son fully enjoy it!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice product.
 from Memphis,TN,  Mar 5, 2012

This was an excellent gift for my boyfriend. The only problem we have had is that pieces break very easily, but with such a delicate material that is to be expected. The board and storage is very nice.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quiality is good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cute but very poor quality.
 from Jerry and Marie, CO,  Jan 22, 2012

I was very dissatisfied with this product. The moment I opened and pulled it out of the tiny box it arrived in I knew I would be sending it back. It was really unfortunate because it was supposed to be a Christmas gift for my husband and there was no way I would present it to him. I sent it back and ordered an electronic one instead. The pieces looked as though they were hand carved by a child and the fabric on the bottom of the pieces were glued on wrong and hung over the edges of the pieces. Not recommended for a gift of any special occasion.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. not good quality.
  • How accurate was the sizing? no accurate to picture
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I was a little disappointed with the chess set. I was expecting it to be nicer. The pieces are pretty small, and not very well carved. Kind of like you would expect if someone carved a thousand of them a day. The case is pretty cheaply made, too; especially the fabric on the interior. I ordered it as a gift for my adult son, and once it arrived I realized that I could not give him that. I went to the mall and bought a nicer carved wooden chess set, although I did end up paying more for it

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good set
 from chicago, il,  Jul 3, 2010

The pieces and board of this chess set are very cool! It is a very attractive chess set, especially for the price. It was quite the deal in my opinion! Most chess sets I looked at were much more expensive. The inside padding that keeps the chess pieces in place was pretty cheap and did not look as nice as the rest of the set but it does its job in keeping the pieces nice and organized. Love this set!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful
 Jan 8, 2011

The chess set was the perfect one I was looking for. It's unique and the peices have a good weight. I added felt to the bottom of the pieces which was easy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Soapstone Chess Set
 from Fort Wayne, IN,  Nov 24, 2009

This chess set is awesome. We bought it for our 12 year old who loves chess. We read all the other reviews, and took the advice to put felt on the bottom of the pieces to prevent chipping or scratching and it works great!! The pieces still fit in the case, too. My son thinks this is the best gift he ever got. He take it out sometimes just to look at the pieces. We also gave him the story of how the set was made. It seems a little fragile, but we will just be careful with it. It was definitely worth the price and it was a great gift!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice set, cheap box
 from Miami, FL,  Mar 21, 2008

I would agree with other reviewers who have said that the set itself is nice but the box is very cheap looking. One of the squares was cracked and I had to push it back into place. It's a decent chess set, but not a luxery item.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
chess case didn't meet my expectations
 from Kapolei, HI,  Feb 1, 2008

After reading the reviews I decided to buy it, but I was so disappointed when I received. The board/storage case was cracked and falling apart, seemed cheap especially the hinges. the board has scratches. I do like the pieces, which are beautiful but the box was put together very poorly.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cracked =(
 from St. George Utah,  Jan 17, 2008

I was very excited to purchase this set. It came to me in two days, but to my disappointment, the side of the chess set was cracked. The shipping box was in excellent shape so I know it wasn't a shipping problem. Soapstone is a very weak stone. I sent it back without wanting another one sent to me. The case itself was pretty but the crack wasn't.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not Recommended
 from Austin, TX,  Aug 15, 2013

Things you should know: 1. The image on the site and the product are different. For instance the pawn is half the size (my girlfriend accurately described them as "missing their torsos" as compared with the photo). I returned the first set because of this, asked them to send me something at least close to the photographed product, and received the exact same thing except... 2. Pieces were broken. Each piece is made of two parts and roughly glued together, but one king arrived in two pieces. However, even if they stay in tact, pieces were often chipped. For example a black bishop was chipped exposing a large patch of white, unsightly stone beneath. 3. If you care about the interior (I don't), it's not put together well. The case feels like it might fall apart at any given moment. I was sitting there thinking "I could glue the king back together and use a marker to color the stone and buy a finish for the interior wood and buy new hinges and...wait - didn't I just buy this?" I was hoping to buy a nice chessboard at a decent price, but this was not it.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
mostly good
 from Portland, OR,  Aug 5, 2011

Good stone chess set for someone who wants something nicer than plastic pieces~ but isn't really ready to get a full blown expensive stone set yet. The stone on the board is nicely constructed and perfectly smooth to the touch, the pieces are decently carved(could be better, but I'm still satisfied). I love that the board has built in case to store the pieces when they're not in use~ the interior liner is as cheap as can be(I may replace it myself if it ever gives me flak), but does the job and didn't greatly impact my overall pleasure with the purchase.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good stone board, decent carving of pieces, cloth liner(inside case) is cheap
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Decent set for the money
 from Beverly Shores, IN,  Jan 5, 2011

I bought this set for my Grandson. I wanted pieces that were heavier than the standard plastic sets. The case/ board was very sturdy and nice looking. The pieces had a solid feel to them. My only problem is that two pieces became disconnected from their base and had to be glued back on.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
sweet!!!!!!
 from centerton, ar,  Jun 18, 2009

this chess set is heavy, well crafted, and the box is well made. the chess board is inlaid with stone as well. really nice chess set overall. and affordable.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Chess Set
 from PA,  Feb 6, 2009

I had read previous reviews that complained about getting a cracked case. My set came and the case was fine. it is a very nice chess set.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect gift ....
 from Philadelphia,  Jan 13, 2008

This was the perfect gift for my husband's Uncle who basically has everything. He's been all over the world and he is very well-read. I knew this would be the perfect gift for the man who has everything! Turns out, he happens to collect chess sets (couldn't have planned that better if I tried). The chess set was very light and the pieces were well-contained in the storage area of the chess board. It was a little smaller than I had pictured it to be, but still a wonderful purchase nonetheless. Perfect gift for those people that like rustic, handmade pieces and are tough to buy for.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for the price
 from Edgerton, MN,  Dec 28, 2007

We ordered this as a gift for my 8 year old son, I was very happy with it and he absolutely loved it, especially since it is a very "grown up" set! Unlike some of the other reviews, I was not surprised at the lack of felt or other "buffer" on the bottom of the pieces, since I could view the bottom of the pieces in the picture. I did purchase felt adhesive discs and attach to the bottom of his pieces when they arrived. This cost me only a couple of dollars and they are small enough that they cannot be seen when the pieces are in use. Soapstone is a very soft stone, so will take some additional care to avoid scratching. In looking to purchase a nice but reasonable priced set for my young son, this set was absolutely the most bang for the buck, when compared to other deals on the internet or in store.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Its a very nice set
 from TX,  Dec 28, 2007

Looks expensive, feels expensive. Its really nice. The only down fall was that they didnt include the felt on the bottom of the pieces. But overall it is worth the money if your looking for an impressive gift for someone who likes chess.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very unique
 from Bushnell, FL,  Dec 27, 2007

I ordered this chess set for my fiance for Christmas and he loves it. I wish it was just a bit bigger. Other then that it was lovely.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A good set, it'll do sort of
 from Kings Mountain, KY,  Jul 9, 2007

Bought this to have a nice set that my daughter and husband could leave out all the time for their games. Disappointed though that the pieces easily scratched the board even with the best of care... we remedied the issue with stick on felt from the hardware store, like you would put on furniture or candle sticks or something. I wished later I hadn't spent so much on a set that they are just practicing on, but it's nice with the little clasps that keep the lid shut tight when not in use. Overall, I'd buy it again, especially if it was on sale.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 41 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
RST Living Tuscany Multi-game Set
Today $117.19
Compare $163.00
Save 28%
(16)
Polystone Chess Set
Today $69.23
Compare $128.53
Save 46%
Back to top