Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 121 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
3 straw handmade baskets with handles, lovely
 from Maine2fromConnecticut,  Jul 15, 2011

Boy was I happy when I opened the box of baskets! These lovely handmade baskets were all different patterns and colorful too, which is exactly what I wanted. I had seen these baskets at a fiber fair selling for $35 each and was happy to see that I could purchase 3 baskets for less, which allows me to give away a basket as a gift. They will come in useful for my yarn and knitting to carry to a retreat or weekly group event. They shaped easily also. I just sprinkled them with water, baskets only avoiding the handles and worked the body a bit, they dried firm and nicely shapen, thanks Overstock for providing a great product reasonably priced. At first I found them on yoru site but they were out of stock, I signed up for the reminder email when restocked and within a week or so was notified they were available and ordered them, thanks so much, I am very happy with my purchase, my friends also commented on how nice they are and I shared with them they came from Overstock!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes the color variations were similar to the advertising picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. consistent and very nicely made and proportionate
  • How accurate was the sizing? ample sizing as described, two very large size baskets and one slightly smaller
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful
 from Arlington, VA,  Jul 30, 2011

These ghanian baskets are beautifully constructed with beautiful colors and a durable leather wrapped handle. They arrived on time and in great shape. NOTE: during shipping the baskets can arrive slightly smushed down. This is not a problem. Simply wet them and let them dry and they spring back to their original shape. I plan to buy more of these baskets as gifts for friends.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? The colors are great. Expect a variety. I did not receive a green one like in the display pic. These baskets were primarily red, navy, golden brown, light brown. Enough of a color mix to essentially be neutral for most decor.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the sizing? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Super Happy
 from Charleston, SC,  Feb 23, 2011

Like many, I have been coveting these baskets at my local healthfood market for years. They charge almost the same price for one basket that Overstock charges for 3! I finally came looking for them here as I really wanted to give one to a friend as a wedding gift and one to my mother for her birthday. I was so pleased to find them here for a steal! They did come smooshed into a box, but the beauty of these baskets is their ability to be molded into whatever shape you need them to be. I am tickled pink to have three beautiful (and all large) baskets- two to give away and one to keep!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Edmonds, WA,  Jan 30, 2006

I ordered two sets of the Tribal Baskets. They are wonderful! Each one is different (none are green). I already had one Tribal Basket purchased elsewhere and these are just the same. Excellent quality, designs, size, etc.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Winchester, VA USA,  Jan 30, 2006

WOW!! These are BIG baskets and they are absolutely gorgeous!They are bigger and more attractive than I had invisioned. They did require some hand shaping due to the shipping method, but just dampen them and mold them as you like.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice baskets
 from texas,  Jun 23, 2013

I had bought similar baskets in a local non profit store that were nicer, better color, higher quality reeds. But these baskets on OS were fine and a good buy for the money. I purchased them as gifts for my sister and daughters, and they were really happy with them!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? somewhat more faded
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. okay
  • How accurate was the sizing? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
SCRUNCHY
 from Columbia County, FL,  May 14, 2013

These would be much more impressive if they could be boxed and shipped in a way that didn't render them completely squished together and misshapen on arrival. It is months later now, and they still are out of shape and look like they were run over by a bus.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? All are vibrant and pretty; they come in a variety of shades.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good craftsmanship, sturdy
  • How accurate was the sizing? Right on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
NICE BASKETS
 from MOUNTAIN RANCH,CA,  Jan 10, 2013

I LIKED THE BASKETS AND COLORS BUT, THEY ARE STILL A LITTLE MISSHAPEN, CAN'T SEEM TO FORM THEM THE WAY I WANT TO EVEN AFTER WETTING THEM AS DIRECTED TO. STILL PRICE IS FAIR.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? NO, THEY WERE DIFFERENT BUT VERY COLORFUL SELECTION.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. NICE QUALITY, EVEN A LEATHER HANDLE ON ONE BASKET.
  • How accurate was the sizing? OK
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bent and smell terrible
 from San Francisco, CA,  Dec 1, 2012

These smelled like gasoline and the colors I received looked cheap by comparison to photos - too bright. You will get whatever they send, not what you see in the picture (in terms of pattern and color). The baskets I received were very misshapen. I sent them back immediately.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? No
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor
  • How accurate was the sizing? Fine
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beyond Awesome
 from PA mountains,  Nov 9, 2012

These baskets are one of the best things I bought on Overstock. The quality is exceptional. The colors (3 different) are all great, the leather on handles nice touch. The size is nice. It is true you have to shape them a bit right out of the box but it is easy. Cannot say enough how great these are - have seen similar at other stores for three times the price. Honestly love these.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great
  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
These are awesome baskets!
 from minnesota,  Jun 26, 2012

I love these baskets and use them for grocery shopping, gardening, toting around just about everything....and a smaller one that came I use for my knitting. :) The only reason I have given these a 4 star review is because I have baskets purchased from the same area of Africa that are crafted better.....(the leather handles are thicker and the baskets are better shaped) These baskets come all squished together. That is normal. You have to wet them down and shape them yourself....and then leave them alone until they dry. I can put a LOT of weight in these baskets and I always take them shopping with me. Not only do they conserve on shopping bags, they are really fun and people always want to know where I bought them. :)

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? You won't know the colors you will receive
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good sturdy baskets - ALMOST as nice as the baskets I have gotten from Ghana from a friend.
  • How accurate was the sizing? They usually nest within each other....one time I got two baskets that were almost the same size.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Baskets
 from Portland, OR,  Jun 7, 2012

my husband loves the baskets. he uses it for grocery shopping and farmers market purchases. i wish i could afford to order more but will have to save up for future baskets. we planned to use the others for gifts, but when we received them we couldn't let them all go, so we kept all three. great gift purchases.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Cannot get any better
  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate, as described.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The word "large" could be added.
 from San Diego, CA,  May 31, 2012

I read the positive reviews and was still surprised at the excellent quality of these baskets. You will not find a better price at any wholesale market! If you've ever done any weaving, you'll appreciate these. I bought two sets and am glad I did. I'm keeping all six for myself! They are all different and are all very colorful. The baskets come stuffed inside one another, so soak them to loosen the fibre before you try to pull them apart. You can then shape the basket exactly the way you like it and let it dry. The packaging was the only negative part of this purchase, but once they were separated I was very happy!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes - varied colors
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality for a handmade item.
  • How accurate was the sizing? Baskets were larger than expected.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great baskets, wish the colors were brighter!
 from austin tx,  May 30, 2012

i was very excited to get these in the mail. When they arrived and I tore open the packaging I must say that I was a little disappointed in the colors. I was really hoping for brighter or deeper colors. The baskets that I received were kind of muted greens and purple. This is just not a color mix that I like. The baskets themselves are beautiful and I can surely find a use for them but they will not be prominently displayed as I had originally planned. I realize that you take a chance on which ones you get, I would have preferred different color ways.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? no, very soft and muted
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. beautiful product, I wish the colors were a little bolder.
  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GHANA BASKETS
 from Tucson, AZ,  May 25, 2012

What a treasure! These baskets are just wonderful. I am so excited, cant wait to show them off. The colors are beautiful and the baskets are large and sturdy. I will purchase again....A bonus that they where hand made... You wont be disappointed with these baskets

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? My baskets color varied, but I am very pleased with the color I recived.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellant, very sturdy, very useful and large. Cant wait to purchase more.
  • How accurate was the sizing? Very acuurate.... Cant be the price and quaility......I am very happy with my baskets.......
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love these baskets!
 from California,  May 24, 2012

I'm very pleased with the quality and the look of the baskets I received. They did need to be soaked and reshaped after being removed from the packaging. Not difficult to do and they dried in about a day; two at the most. I gave one to my elderly mother for Mother's Day, and she loves it. She uses it to hold her current puzzle books and cross-stitch projects next to her recliner. It's very attractive. I use the largest one to carry all my fabric, supplies, etc. when I go to quilt guild meetings. Very sturdy and attractive.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Different colors and patterns, but I knew that when I purchased them.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The baskets are well made.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Ghana baskets
 from DeKalb, Illinois,  May 5, 2012

My wife ordered these baskets to give away as gifts, but once she received them, she kept them all! The colors were bright and beautiful. They were packed tight, but once separated, watered down and reshaped, they look great! Our 5 year old granddaughter likes to fill them with things and walk around the house pretending to "shop"! We would highly recommend them and should actually order another set. The price for all three was a bargin!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes, bright and beautiful
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Baskets are very sturdy, very well made.
  • How accurate was the sizing? actually larger than I expected..
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Set of 3 Straw Traditional Tribal Baskets (Ghana)
 from Sonoma, Californa,  Apr 24, 2012

These gorgeous baskets were an impulse buy. I'm so glad I chose them! They're beautifully constructed, with a thousand different uses. If you want a bit of an ethnic flair for your home, these baskets are perfect. I love them! The colors are vibrant and the price is perfect. Thank you Overstock.com! I haven't made a mistake yet. Everything I've ordered from you has been perfect in every way.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Superb quality. I'm delighted!
  • How accurate was the sizing? Perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Appreciation of handmade quality
 from Tubac, AZ,  Apr 10, 2012

The baskets are beautiful and vibrant colors feel very southwestern. The leather handle will make the carrying of the baskets easier and longer wearing. Since I use these baskets daily to deliver breakfast to my B and B, they make a lovely presentation with baked goods and fruit. Thank you Ghana for making these treasures!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the sizing? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Exceptional quality, extreme durability
 from Savannah, GA,  Mar 24, 2012

I use the four I own daily. I am known as the basket lady. Great to carry crafts, food, purchases, books etc... If they lose their shape, stick them in a bathtub of water and reshape as they dry! I just need more, can't live without them. I should give some as gifts, but I am greedy in the way everyone envies them, and no one I have ever met owns one!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? multicolored all patterns colors are great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Mine are over 10 years old. They do fade if left in sunlight too long. Mine are still in excellent condition
  • How accurate was the sizing? Great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 121 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top