Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 62 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating

 from Flagstaff, Arizona, USA,  Jan 30, 2006

Very beautiful. The pillows in particular are stunning.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Patchwork Quilt Set
 from Annapolis MD,  Mar 15, 2011

This fair trade item is absolutely gorgeous - reds, rusts, browns, and a hint of black. Very rich, warm colors, not gaudy. Well made. The pillows are stunningly beautiful and are a wonderful accent on the bed. Buy oversized because the quilt is fairly short. The quilt is decorative, not intended for warmth.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I hated it when I opened it
 from Gulf side Florida,  May 10, 2011

When I opened the package I was shocked at just how RED the quilt was. When I put it on the bed I started to panic and I hated it! Then I put my orange throw pillows on and it changed the entire thing! It pulled the orange colors out and now I'm loving it! If I only had the throws it came with I think I would have been returning it. I'm glad I didn't have to do that. I love it, my husband loves it and even the kids like it. The quality is great and the work is beautiful! I will be sure to dry clean it as suggested to maintain the rich colors. Overall, a GREAT product!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quilt
 Sep 18, 2009

I had read other people's reviews before I decided to purchase this, and they were all correct. The quilt and pillows are just gorgeous and the quality is just great. I used mine to cover a sofa and love how the pillows are not matchy matchy, but coordinate beautifully.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
absolutely gorgeous coverlet
 from Virginia,  Feb 15, 2012

I hesitated before ordering this item because I was originally looking for something cheaper, but I was attracted by the handcrafted/fair trade aspect. Also, my daughter, who studied Spanish in Guatemala several years ago, had visited the co-op outside of Xela that makes these and was excited to see them available online. I am overjoyed with my purchase. The coverlet (it isn't really a "quilt" but a top with a black cotton backing) combines patches which mostly feature stripes of various earth tones, but also some needlepoint-y flowers and zigzag designs on some of the patches. The colors are lustrous and some patches have sparkly threads running through them, though I don't know whether this will last through repeated launderings. The three pillow covers each have different, but coordinating, floral embroidery on the front and a zipper opening in the back to insert an 18" x 18" pillow form. While orange predominates in the quilt, the main color in the pillows is dark red. Some other reviewers have complained about a musty smell, but mine arrived clean and odorless.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes, but the real thing is more beautiful than the picture conveys.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The coverlet top is carefully and accurately pieced, and the pillows beautifully tailored.
  • How accurate was the sizing? The dimensions were as listed. The "king size" just covers my queen size Tempur-pedic mattress.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Color completely ran during washing
 from Saratoga, CA,  Jun 23, 2006

This quilt is really pretty, however, when I washed it, the color completely ran. It stained the inside of my dryer and I had to scrub off the stain with bleach. Also, even tho it's now dry, the color rubs off on clothes. I regret buying this. This is the first time I've been disappointed with an Overstock product.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent
Beautiful and made to last.
 from oregon,  Sep 29, 2013

Purchased this quilt set for our new cal-king bed. The size is perfect, I was worried it wouldn't quite reach the baseboard but it looks like it was custom made for our temperpedic. The stitching is tight and the thread is of high quality. I noticed this immediately because I really use my stuff. Nothing sits pretty in my house. The embroidery on the accent pillow shams is beautiful, the photos don't do them justice. I purchased two sets, the rust colored set and the blue set. They are both beautiful and I give them a 5 star rating. Its nice to know the artisans who made these quilts directly benefit from my purchase, that feels good.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The craftsmanship is very good.
 from New Jersey,  Apr 9, 2013

It's a beautiful pattern, and made well. The colors were not exactly what I was looking for and I am still undecided whether to keep it or return it for the blue color pattern they also have in stock.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? The color was not exactly what I expected, I was looking for more vibrant colors, the oranges and browns are rather muted, but the color palette is warm and cozy.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is good, stitch work looks very solid.
  • How accurate was the sizing? It is a bit small for a king size bed with a 3 inch pillow top, it doesn't hang down the sides of the bed as much as I would have preferred.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Guatemalan patchwork quilt and pillow cases
 from Elizabeth, CO,  Mar 22, 2013

this quilt and the throw pillows really add a lot of interest to my master bedroom

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? pretty close, love the rust colors
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very nice work
  • How accurate was the sizing? quilt fits my Cal king bed
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Disappointed
 from ORTING,  Apr 13, 2012

My biggest complaint is that, there was only 6 squares on a queen size cover, that matched the pillow covers. I didn't care for the neon thread and neon color squares, where did that come from? A notice inside the box stated that you can't return if you open plastic cover. First time that I've been really disappointed. The dye odor disapated within a day or so. I am keeping this set because the pillow covers are gorgeous. I"ll have the cover made into a comforter cover.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes/no
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Outstanding pillow covers, but the cover leaves alot to be desired.
  • How accurate was the sizing? Queen fit my full size bed nicely
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
newB
 from San Antonio, TX,  Aug 17, 2009

I thought the quilt would be lighter in color based on the pics. But the quality of the fabric, the stitching is fab. I received it in record time. It is a bit darker than I expected but I have a jacket from Guatemala that needed to be washed in vinegar to set the color so I'm hoping this will lighten the color. Even if it doesn't I still love it and would buy it AGAIN! Thanks Overstock...I have been looking at this item for several years. Also, love the Egyptian cotten sheets. Just wish I had chosen a darker color....my bad, not yours. You sent what I ordered and they are great!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful but stinky
 from Chicago, IL,  Sep 1, 2008

This quilt is beautiful, very thick and good quality material but it has an awful smell to it. Hopefully it will come out when I wash it to use it. If it does I would give it 5 stars.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Guatemalan quilt set
 from Danbury, CT,  Aug 13, 2008

Having visited Guatemala over 20 years ago, and purchasing yards of the hand made material, I appreciated the work that went into the quilt and pillow covers. It is beautiful, and heavy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Guatemalan Patchwork bedspread
 from Arizona,  Mar 31, 2008

My sister had one of these in blue for her guest room and I loved it. It was warm and had substance to it so that it didn't get all crumpled. So I ordered the rust colored one for my own bedroom. It is beautiful. The piece work is sewed together very expertly and it does not appear as if it will come apart. My sister has washed hers several times and said it came out beautifully. The rust color was not quite as bright as I had hoped, I wanted a bit more orange=gold in it, but it is fine. Also, after unpacking there was a smell to the spread that I was able to eliminate by spraying with Febreeze and leaving it hung on the deck to air out for a couple of day. It smells fine now. I use it with a down comforter underneath and the spread on top. I have a king size (bed is Cal King) and the size is very generous, hangs over on each side to the side rails of the bed and there is plenty of room at each end to tuck it in. It also has just enough weight so that it doesn't shift during the night. Free Trade also sent 3 incredibly beautiful embroidered throw pillow cases that I wish I had seen before I bought the cheap ones already on my couch, They are fabulous and were included for free. I highly recommend this bedspread.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Utah,  Jan 30, 2006

I love this quilt. I am having one problem though. I washed it because it had a bad smell when it arrived and it turned everything including my dryer orange. It's on my bed now and it has turned my sheets orange. It doesn't seem like the colors in the quilt haven't faded much. Other than that it is beautiful!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Fair

The blanket was heavier than I thought. I'm really happy with it. The pillows, however, are pink. It doesn't match and I can't put them on the bed. Very disappointing. But the description of the items says it is hand dyed & colors may vary, so I guess I'm just out of luck.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Good
It's beautiful!
 from Ct,  Oct 29, 2014

It's beautiful! It did hav a slight smell when it arrived but a quick was on gentle cycle with a color grabber sheet was all it needed. Line dry! The pillow shams are exquisite!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Average
Beautiful quilt, very unusual!
 from Texas,  Jul 9, 2014

This quilt is very unusual, and has all the expected uniqueness of a hand-made quilt. It isn't perfect - it looks like something your loving grandmother would make, rather than something off of a computer-run machine on an assembly line. The back of the quilt is a satin black material. It comes with 3 pillow covers, not just the one shown, in 3 different designs. You must provide your own pillows. Some say that it has more red in it than they expected, but I feel that it looks exactly like the picture. The quilt doesn't have any batting in it, so it isn't designed to keep you warm.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent
Beautiful bedding set! Exactly what I wanted
 from Austin, TX,  Jul 1, 2014

The set is beautiful. The primary colors in the quilt is burnt orange/rust, with a few dark crimson accents and a black border. The accent pillow are each different and distinctly beautiful. The workmanship is excellent. I get lots of compliments on it.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Average Value : Average
Beautiful, but...
 from Texas,  Jun 14, 2014

The colors on the quilt are truly rich and beautiful However, even tho I've washed the quilt it continues to bleed onto other fabrics it comes into contact with. The quilt is very heavy, thus we keep it at the end of the bed more for decoration. The three pillows are unique, and lovely, but look like a mismatch with the quilt.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 62 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top