Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
teak bench rocks
 from design professional Chicago,  Mar 24, 2011

I ordered two of these benches to use as cocktail tables. They are easy to assemble (all tools and hardware provided with benches) and they are very sturdy and pretty heavy. I can stand on them and they don't bend or anything like that. They are very nicely proportioned. The description indicates that a clear coat finish is applied and this concerned me, because I was hoping for a rustic, bare wood look. And that's exactly how they appear. Whatever coating might be on these is invisible. The wood surface has a uniform but rough texture, as if sandblasted almost. You will not get splinters or anything like that. The grain of the wood is highly figured and kind of dramatic. In my opinion, while these were not cheap, they look more expensive than they are. I would recommend them. I think they are more appropriate for indoor use, or in a covered outdoor area, than regular outdoor use. Very nice semi-rustic but modern look.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid Bench
 from Jax, FL,  Aug 5, 2011

Couldn't be more pleased with this bench. Not sure of some people complaining of the unfinished nature of the bench...it is perfect. You're not going to get splinters or anything of the sort and there is a light matte finish on the wood as well. Very solid piece. I may buy another.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid and as described
  • How accurate was the sizing? perfect
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Really nice piece of furniture
 from Boston, MA,  Jul 8, 2011

This bench looks so cool- kind of rugged and worn in. Very sturdy (both my kids have been climbing all over it). Plus I like the idea of reclaimed wood. Highly recommend it.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Wonderful quality
  • How accurate was the sizing? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Strongly advise against
 from San Francisco, CA,  Jul 4, 2013

Purchased this attractive reclaimed wood bench to play double-duty as a dining table bench and piano bench in our simply-designed home. Overstock delivered quckly. We were very happy. Construction was simple and straightforward, though the package came with less washers (and more bolts) than needed. Hardware store run fixed that. Bench built looked great. From mid-March, seemingly great. This Monday, June 1st, I sat at our dining table working. My wife sat next to me, leaning over to place her head on my shoulder. That's when we heard the crack. Before we could respond, I, 6'2" and 195 lbs and she, 5'4" and 145, found ourselves on the floor. The bolted areas were secure as ever; it was weakness in the bench, not the legs or connections. In fact, it seemed the underside support was screwed directly into a weak piece of the wood. The spit followed the line of what we thought was a "character mark." If you like to spend ****+ for a decorative bench, by all means. If you want to sit on your bench, I'd advise against this one strongly. I don't see any opportunity to be compensated for faulty product either, so please choose with care.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
just as described
 from Rkocky Moutains,  May 22, 2012

I was apprehensive about blemishes and having to spend c $40 to ship them back. They're just fine. Assembly is so easy, instructions aren't even needed. Tip: allign the tops before tightening the bolts. You'll have a sturdy, crafty, handsome piece. My compliments to the Indian carpenters...and in appreciation, I reccomend for prosperity: 1. color match the wood filler 2. get one of those gadgets that makes exact fit cut-outs and plugs

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. better than expected
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
No quality control?
 from Falls Church, VA,  May 12, 2012

I was so excited about this bench. I thought I had found the perfect bench for my mudroom. I loved the idea of reclaimed wood. However, when the bench arrived, I noticed in one of the planks that makes up the bench seat, a 3 inch by 3 inch cut "patch" of non-matching wood glued with putty in the middle of otherwise solid planks. It was wedged in there very nicely - I'm not complaining about that - and there's no chance of the patch of wood falling out. There are similar patches on the sides of the bench, but this one is right one top and there's no missing it. There was absolutely zero effort to match the grain of the wood. It is several shades darker than the surrounding wood and looks comical. We are tempted to keep it, as an absurdist/conversation piece but I would not have paid the > $200 price for something that looks WORSE than something I could have made myself. I am so disappointed. It is almost as if there is zero quality control. I think I will be extremely wary of buying any furniture from Overstock in the future, sight unseen. It's not worth the aggravation or the cost of shipping this gigantic thing back.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? More or less
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not worth the price
  • How accurate was the sizing? Fine
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor quality
 from Placerville, CA,  Jul 21, 2014

When the bench arrived it was quite beautiful and for about a month I was happy with my purchase. However, six months later it is unrecognizable. The finish faded quickly and the wood started to split and splinter. I applied a heavy application of teak oil which improved the appearance but it now looks cheap. I have several pieces of teak furniture that I have had for many years. I allowed them to weather to a natural gray color and they still look and perform very well. I find it hard to believe this bench is made from teakwood. It appears to be several types of hardwoods glued together. A good teak bench will weather naturally to a gray color. This one did not. Granted this bench is on a deck out in the son so it is not protected. Other reviewers noted that they used their bench in the house or in a mudroom. I believe it would be fine for that purpose.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect!
 from Irvine, CA,  Jan 22, 2012

We used this bench in our entry way for our guests to put on and take off their shoes, it's perfect for that purpose.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes, the color is just like website picture, unfinished wood color.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality of the bench is pretty good.
  • How accurate was the sizing? Size is accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very nice!
 from austin, tx,  Dec 10, 2011

Very beautiful sturdy bench. So easy to assemble as well.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Teak Bench
 from New York, NY,  Aug 9, 2011

This beautiful teak bench is finely crafted fits perfect next to my front door & is made very solid. I think it will last us many years!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? even better color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Beautifully crafted
  • How accurate was the sizing? measures perfect
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
just what we thought it would be
 from new york,  Apr 23, 2014

the finish is good for being what they are. remember this is reclaimed wood, there are going to be some imperfections. it looks exactly how we thought it would.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Better than expected
 from Arizona,  Feb 7, 2014

as advertised. beautiful rustic wood looks very expensive, very unique

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
simple bench
 from Colorado,  Aug 12, 2013

I think that the bench is rustic but modern A great addition to my outdoor furniture.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? a little darker then my other teak
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the sizing? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy bench, timeless design
 from Phoenix, MD,  Aug 9, 2013

We purchased the matching buffet prior to this bench and were so pleased that we decided to get the bench also. The bench was a little rougher than the buffet, but still well finished with a lot of character added by the imperfections. I think that even the bolts to hold it together were reclaimed! It seems quite sturdy and the size is perfect for our purposes. Though we haven't had issues with our buffet not being finished, I applied 2 coats of teak oil to this right away as the wood does not appear to have any finish on it and for a bench that we'll use at our dining table occasionally, that'll be more important. The teak oil did darken the finish slightly.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Why build it when you can buy it?
 from Washington State,  Jan 28, 2013

My hubby and I were planning on building some benches for a house we are in the process of building. I decided to take a look online to see if there was something similar to what we were interested in making available for purchase. Overstock.com had the bench, and at a price which made it silly for us to build. So, I purchased three of the benches. The bench is rustic, so those who are looking for perfection should not purchase this bench. For us, it was exactly what we were looking for! The bench is heavy and well built. The bench is held together by two large screws on either side of the bench (four total screws). I'm happy with the purchase! Bravo Overstock.com!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This bench is of good quality. The bench does have some holes with filler.
  • How accurate was the sizing? Fine.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this bench!
 from New York,  Jan 15, 2013

Love this bench! It is in our mudroom for the family to sit on while taking their shoes on and off. Exactly as described. Quality is more that I could have hoped for.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent Quality
  • How accurate was the sizing? Perfect.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Don't bother
 from La Canada CA,  Oct 3, 2012

I saw the negative reviews, but thought people were too picky. I had to have a handy man sand them to get rid of the splintered wood so my grand daughters didn't get hurt and stain them. I am going to have to order custom cushions to cover the seats.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? not really
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. rough patches, splinters and splits
  • How accurate was the sizing? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
lovely simple sturdy-- definely recommended
 from Seattle Area,  Jan 30, 2012

I love these benches! A great deal for the price. I have one on a covered porch, and two lining in a sunny corner of my bedroom, in lieu of the built-ins I'm saving for. They are classically simple, each with lovely and unique wood grain. The wood is a lovely brown grey, with some variations. They ARE heavy. Still, this fairly fit 45 y/o petite female was able to put them together on my own. They are not perfectly smooth, but sort of a matte suede-like texture, if that makes sense--- definitely ok for a casual seating. I would avoid sitting on them in very expensive knits, but that's not our style. The only thing that kept me from rating them 5 stars was that one leg section on 2 of the benches didn't come together quite perfectly, as noted above. (This is the kind of thing you see all the time with furniture in this price range from a variety of big box stores. However, they typically also run the gambit from boring to tacky, are wobbly, etc.) I'm planning to buy one or two more for my porch when they are back in stock.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Fairly close, but not quite as warm, a bit more toward the greyish browns. The lovely grain and pattening are as shown. It works visually.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid sturdy wood, strong joints. On 2 of my 3 benches, a leg section doesn't sit quite flush along the horizontal, 1/16 to 1/8 inch off. Still for the price, great.
  • How accurate was the sizing? RIght on.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Reclaimed Teak Bench
 from Madison WI,  Jun 23, 2011

This product photo shows a bench that looks smooth and finished. When they arrived I was dismayed to find out that they are very rough and unfinished. You can't sit on them in nice clothing without worrying that they will fray, wear them down, or tear them. I will have to invest extra money into having someone sand them and put some sort of smoother seal on them. Otherwise watch out for snags and splinters.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? unexpected! See review
  • Did the product fit true to size? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought