Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Not even worth it....
 from Fort Wayne, IN,  Aug 6, 2006

This chair is absolutely beautiful, just like in the picture, BUT.... The first reviewer is positively right. I bought this chair about a month ago and it's been sitting in my basement all that time (I'm getting ready to move), until I read this review. When I purchased the chair, it hadn't yet been reviewed, but when I read this I had to pull out the chair and inspect it myself because I thought the review was a complete spoof! Sure enough, there was "sawdust" (it's actually more like really fine sand) and little holes about the size of a penhead (they look like staple marks in paper). It's OUTSIDE now. I'm going through a process of treating it with heavy-duty insecticides. Hopefully, the chair will live through it. I didn't keep the receipt to send it back, not that it matters after a month in the basement anyhow. Luckily, the beetles only lay eggs in unfinished wood, and I don't have any of that in the house. I definitely wouldn't say the chair is worth the concern and effort and I'd be cautious of wood products from this part of the world in the future since this is a common problem there. If you're thinking about buying the chair, don't. If you've already purchased the chair, send it back, or make sure you have it treated thoroughly.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
What A Surprise!!
 from Maryland,  Jul 26, 2006

I received this chair in good condition - so I thought. It is beautiful as far as art work goes. Not the most comfortable to sit in but a very nice looking chair none-the-less. Upon opening the package, I did notice a small hole in it - I figured a manufacturing thing. But low and behold about two weeks later I noticed that there were little piles of 'sawdust' on the floor under the chair. These piles were directly under the holes. I found out, but asking a pest control friend, that there were wood eating 'powderpost' beetles in the chair. By checking the internet, I found that these bugs are deposited into the wood and after 1-5 years grow into adults and then bore holes out of the wood to go lay eggs elsewhere....they had to have been in there a while to be adults at my home. Now I am afraid they are in my home!! If you do decide to get this chair - PLEASE be careful and inspect it carefully. Now I have to wait 1-5 years before I find out if they are in my home because the larve are so small you can't see them!!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Warning is right !!!!!!
 from Washington DC area,  Sep 29, 2006

If this chair has any saw dust or small holes return it immediatly. Don't take the chance of other furniture being infested. The dust is caused by tiny wood beatles and they are empossible to get rid of. They can infest any other wood products encluding floor joist. GET RID OF THEM FAST

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
African chairs - warning!
 from Lexington, KY,  Sep 11, 2006

The chairs looked beautiful online. Warning- they really smell!!! We coated them with 3 coats of wood finish, but it helped only somewhat. Also, they are rather poorly carved - imposible to stand upright. When put together (by linking both pieces through a carved opening) they become shaped like an X. We propped the back leg up against the base molding to keep it standing upright, but warned everyone to not touch them, let alone sit on them!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Piece
 from Pasadena, California,  Sep 14, 2006

The chair looks good and was shipped promptly. It works well as an art piece.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Art Work
 from Harvey, Louisiana,  Oct 2, 2007

When I saw the pics of the chairs I knew that they would be nice art work in my apartment. I ordered two chairs. I could not believe that they were literaly two slabs of wood put together. Easy !! They look beautiful as they compliment the window sitting area. I have only sat in them once or twice, however they are beautiful to look at.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Thanks!
 from New Mexico,  Dec 6, 2011

I was going to purchase this beautiful piece of work but did not because of the previous reviews. Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences. I am very appreciative for you saved me lots of money, time, and effort.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great buy
 from Omaha/Yutan, NE,  Dec 8, 2007

I needed a chair that was comfortable and had no metal in it for my healing practice..... well this chair is all of that and more, it is easy to store just pull it apart and it takes up no place! very comfortable to my surprise, I like the carvings they always start a conversation!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice authentic African chair
 from New Orleans,  Dec 6, 2007

I saw these chairs on a recent trip to West Africa and really feel in love with them. Although they are unbelievably simple (two pieces of wood slotted together), they are very comfortable, and work well outside on a patio for reading. Although pricey, this chair is a lot larger and more substantial than I expected, and will definately last for a while. The design is decent, although I actually prefer a plainer look. I haven't had any problems with any of the dyes rubbing off, which is a good sign (a lot of similar products use shoe polish to dye wood black and it will do a number on your clothes and fingers). Overall I am very pleased with my purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Ardella
 from New York, NY,  Aug 24, 2007

I love my chair. It is a great coversation piece and very decorative in my living room. It is also EXTREMELY comfortable to sit in.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
More ART than SEAT
 from Fairfield CA,  Mar 25, 2013

No one sits in this chair, although many comment on its uniqueness. It feels like you're at the planetarium only not soft. I bought it because it looked cool - and it does - but don't get it for seating.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? pretty much
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good, hand-made quality
  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So far so good
 from San Diego, Ca,  Feb 16, 2012

No problems with pests and is an interesting addition to my home.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Attractive, obviously handmade piece. Not quite sturdy, but interesting.
  • How accurate was the sizing? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love it
 from indiana,  Jan 25, 2012

I love this peice it is just wonderful i would sugest this as a pice if you are into the this kind of disign

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great
  • How accurate was the sizing? perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Have to respond
 from Block Island, RI,  Jul 2, 2007

These seats are very hard to come by. I brought two back with me from the Ivory Coast. where I had used them for two years. My friend bought this one listed. They hold my weight of 210. They are hand carved REALLY! Very portable. An art piece. Even take it outside and relax...that why its reclined. Atually very comfortable for long periods of sitting/relaxing. Don't pass up a chance to have one of these great finds.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
RU Kidding
 Jun 28, 2007

This was such a waste of money. I don't know who they designed this chair for. The seat is low and lays at an angle. The splat though very decorative is also slanted. This causes a concern because of the potential for an injury. The way that the chair is assembled is by putting the seat portion of the chair through an opening on the splat and it actually becomes a leg of the chair. Since the seat is not held by screws, glue or anything and lays very low, I am not sure that it can withstand the weight of an adult. My recommendation: use your money on something else. This is not worth it!!!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top