Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 284 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 15 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Worth the wait
 from Portsmouth, United Kingdom,  Jun 22, 2011

I ordered this item as a wedding present as it certainly ticked all the boxes in terms of being Fairtrade, recycled, ethnic and spiritual, which is what the couple asked for, I ordered it two weeks before the wedding, hoping it would arrive in time. In fact it took one week to "process" at Overstock.com before even being prepared for shipping, which wasted time and it ended up not arriving in time to give the gift at the wedding. When it arrived, I was really glad I'd had it delivered to my home and not directly to the couple, as it came with just a cardboard backing sheet, covered with a bit of torn plastic and unceremoniously shoved into an outer carton with no protective packaging. So it then flew half way around the world and it's no surprise that it arrived with a little damage (bent leaf). Luckily, this was easily bent back into shape. I would certainly love to buy this item for myself as it's beautiful, but I would be wary of ordering anything fragile from Overstock.com in the future unless they buck up their ideas on the packaging front. I'd also never order anything from them in a hurry as their processing seems to take an excessive amount of time.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Well crafted, good quality product, suitable for giving as a gift
  • Did the product fit true to size? Yes and suitable as a bold statement piece in a small room
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love it
 from Pa,  Oct 19, 2010

I love, love, love, this tree of life. It is everything I wanted and more. I cannot wait to display it. I also love the fact that it isn't heavy, making it easier to hang. Sometimes you find these metal pieces and they are thin and cheap looking; I assure you this one isn't. I am also impressed with the fact that this has been created by hand. I love unique things. I like the fact that someone might walk into my home and be looking at this creation for the first time. I must admit though, it does have a little odor ...but considering the fact that it was made from an oil drum, II am not surprised. I have instructions for making that odor disappear. If anybody is on the fence about ordering this, hop off the fence now. You won't be disappointed. I am going to do some research and try to buy another piece from this collection : )

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This is a great gift I gave to myself !
 from New jersey,  Aug 29, 2011

I am so happy to have bought this piece. it is a real conversation piece! I have been diagnosed with ALS and am losing my life bit by bit. I bought this piece to remind me that I am still alive and have the ability to enjoy a wonder piece of art like this.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. wonderful craftsmenship.
  • How accurate was the sizing? perfect
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
so-so art
 from Rochester, NY,  Feb 14, 2010

I love the idea of both using reclaimed materials and of supporting Haitian artists but this just didn't do it for me. The piece is the size stated and the workmanship (metal cutting) is nicely enough done but what is not mentioned is that this piece is clear-coated with a very high-gloss finish that gives it a plastic-y look. It does not look like shiney metal. It looks like glossy clear plastic over metal. This is reclaimed metal and would have looked so much better with a matte or satin finish, if any. I was really disappointed but instead of returning it, I gave it as a gift to a friend (with different art & decorating tastes) and she loves it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful!
 from Georgia,  Nov 5, 2008

This piece is beautiful. I bought it to put in my foyer. It is unique and well done. The birds are very clearly sculpted. Great buy!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
really superb
 from uk,  Nov 11, 2010

I was so delighted when I unpacked this beautiful craftwork. It is simply gorgeous and arrived very safely and in excellent condition. The colour is sublime and it is so easy to hang with a couple of screws into the wall. Thank you so much to the artisan who made this for me, it has already been much admired by visitors

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pretty
 from NY,  Dec 29, 2011

The first one I received was damanged in shipment and it was quite bent. I was then sent a new one, right away, and it was in perfect condition. It was packed better. It is unique, and quite pretty, but it is much lighter in weight then what I expected. I would recommend it especially to people who are interested in helping countries in need.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not signed
 Mar 15, 2010

in fact it is quite difficult to sign these pieces, and having lived in Haiti for 16 years I suspect that the artist has no idea it ended up in the US, but rather bought in bulk and sold. The stamping effect is in reality a lot of hard work and sweat as oil drums are pounded and cut by hand, the work that goes into these pieces is insane. I have several pieces that I hand selected from an artist village .. I burnished some of mine with a soft gold from hobby lobby and wiped it off. You may to check your piece every once in a while for rusting spots if displayed on an outside wall.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome oil drum art
 from VA,  Jul 11, 2014

Beautiful piece. Already received compliments. Great for a house warming gift.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful piece of Art
 from Northwest Suburb of Chicago, IL,  Sep 3, 2011

This is a unusual Beautiful piece of Art. The stamped detail is good and the finish is a nice brown semi gloss so it hi lights the image. It is not real heavy so it hang easily on a small nail. Very Very nice Artistic piece.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Very close.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality, looks very good
  • How accurate was the sizing? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Bronze Accent
 from Austin, TX,  Mar 5, 2011

I purchased this metal Tree of Life Oil Drum Art for my newly remodeled kitchen/dining room. The artwork is lightweight and a beautiful bronze color. It is perfect as a backsplash accent behind a cooktop if an accent is needed. It would also work fine as wall decor in almost any room of the house. I am very happy with the art and love the story behind it's fabrication!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Unusual
 from Michigan,  Sep 15, 2014

Nice and unusual addition... glad to be supporting the artists, too.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Exactly As Shown.
 from Arkansas,  Jun 27, 2014

This item is exactly as shown and described, even the coloring. I love the handmade quality about it and the old age, but whimsical design. Good craftsmanship.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
CAUTION!!!
 from Gardnerville NV,  Apr 28, 2014

CAUTION when opening...Just got this in the mail and none of the pointy edges have been filed down, they feel like little knives......This would not be allowed to be sold an America store without fear of a lawsuit. OK with that said...it's OK. I do like the pattern and the meaning for me...it is way over priced..But I am handy with my tools and a paint brush...so I will keep it....As for recommending it...I would but not without a strong warning first.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful piece
 from Toronto, ON, Canada,  Aug 11, 2013

I wanted a large, unique piece to fill the space on a small wall in my home. This piece fit the bill. It is truly beautiful. The edges are a little sharp but it is hanging on the wall so that is of little worry. Unlike the piece received by one of the other reviewers, mine did not have a thick glossy plastic-y coating -- just metal with a lovely patina. Given the size and substance of this piece I feel it was good value.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks fab., EcoFriendly & good for Haiti! Perfect!
 from Livermore, CA,  May 7, 2013

I love this piece for three main reasons! 1. It looks awesome in my family room - beautiful, different piece and handcrafted 2. It's made from recycled oil drums - love that it's EcoFriendly 3. It promotes employment in Haiti by training unskilled, but often highly gifted, craftspeople

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Satisfied - no complaints here
  • How accurate was the sizing? n/a
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Piece
 from Kansas City, MO,  Dec 1, 2011

The detail of this piece is exquisite. It's a great art form, and it looks great hanging in the dining room. It doesn't come with hangers, but I used small hooks and affixed it with ease. Recommended.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Almost exactly.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This is very well crafted.
  • How accurate was the sizing? Spot on.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Handwork?
 from Ohio,  Feb 25, 2010

A beautiful piece that hangs proudly on our wall. However, I think it's important to note that the piece was not signed, as others indicated. And, though many have discussed the handwork, by our eyes, this appears to be at least partialy stamped. It is silverish with a bronze tone over it, so the color will vary depending on how much and what kind of light shines on it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Finishing touch
 from Cleveland, Ohio,  Dec 16, 2014

This looks great in our entryway and was the perfect finishing touch. It's flimsy to the touch, but hanging that's not noticeable. And the color is a bit more glossy than I anticipated, but overall it' works well.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
wall hanging
 from Chicago-suburbs,  Dec 3, 2014

I read positive reviews, which gave me the confidence to order this piece. I agree with them! It is a great addition to our room decor and was promptly and safely delivered!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 284 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 15 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought