Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-13 of 13 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Nice drum
 Dec 31, 2007

Drum was smaller than description as some others have said. I bought this for my son for Christmas because the large djembe was sold out. He enjoys playing the djembe at his church and he sits and plays this one now at home. The skin still has some goat hair on it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Practice and Travel Drum
 from CA,  Apr 6, 2011

Dimensions on a drum are usually head size by height... I'm not sure how this was measured. That being said, these were bought as practice/travel drums and they work for kids... They do not get the tone of a full bodied Djembe.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Well Made
  • Did the product fit true to size? NO.. the size is totally misleading. The actual head is much smallet than implied.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

There were many problems. The specs for the drum say it is 11 inches tall by 12 inches in diameter. It is not. It is 11 inches tall but only 91/2 inches in diameter. The head was very loose and I discovered that the end of the tension rope was not even tied, thus the loose head. Once I tightened the head, the sound was pretty good. The drum was not evenly stained. Parts of it were light unstained wood, and other parts had a dark stain. Once I stained the whole thing it looked pretty good. Am not going to return it because I'm having fun fixing it.. But it still isn't 11 by 12 inches. Not much I can do about that.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
fun djembe
 from connecticut,  Nov 1, 2009

this djembe exceeded my expectations. it is fun, beautiful and light enough for an older woman to carry. The sound is delightful and i am having great fun learning on it. i appreciated the cover very much because i have a cat and do not want him practicing djembe! This djembe is so much fun it makes routine practice a pleasure i look forward to...i keep it next to my bed...for the first thing in the morning and the last thing at night! it is perfect for drum circles.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fun Drum
 from Old Town, Maine,  Nov 12, 2008

I know nothing about drums, but wanted something I could drum on with my hands, sort of like drumming circle style. I had to play around a bit with how best to use my palm, hand and fingers to get the best sound, but it's all coming together now. Lots of fun! The price is right and the drum is attractive and quite a conversation piece.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
djembe
 from Saratoga Springs, NY,  Jul 21, 2008

Drum has a nice sound - The size is a little smaller than stated but overall I am happy with this drum. I would recommend it. My daughters & I will be using it for drumming circle. We also ordered the hand carved Djembe Drum - We are having a blast with these drums! Love them.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice drum!
 from California,  Oct 25, 2007

Nice size--can put on table or lap. Has a pleasing sound and appears to be sturdily made. Glad I got it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sound makes up for size.
 from Harlem, GA,  May 4, 2007

My drum is also smaller than the size listed in the description, however, the sound of this instrument is very good. Like the other reviewer, I was also disappointed by the smaller size...until I played it. I play this drum in a Drum Circle and everyone, especially the leader of the group, really, really love the sound of this drum. Now I will be able to tell them it is back in stock. Thanks, Overstock.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not even close to 12" wide
 from Connecticut,  Dec 8, 2006

Be careful. Description states 12 inch width but my drum only measures 9 inches. That's a HUGE difference and certainly not a "slight variation in size". The variation is so large in fact, it shouldn't even be listed as a "medium" djembe but probably a small. The drum itself however is great for the price but I may contact customer support for an exchange.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not what I expected!
 from East Orange, NJ,  Apr 12, 2011

I dyed the drum brown because I was totally disapointed with it. The bright red trim was awful!! Skin on drum not as pictured.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? No
  • How is the quality of the product? Okay
  • Did the product fit true to size? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good buy
 Mar 1, 2011

Good product all around, well made, good sound, arrived very quickly after purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Decor only
 from USA,  Feb 16, 2009

This drum was initially shipped with a cut in the drum head. Overstock sent me a new one quickly and easily. However, the product is not a playing drum. The head is rather thin and has an uneven thickness impacting the sound. It is a good cultural example, but not an instrument. If you want an instrument, spend a little more and buy a second line tall jembe.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Djembe Drum
 from Minneapolis MN,  Jun 15, 2007

Excellent product arrived promptly and in good shape. An excellent buy if shopping around for a drum.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-13 of 13 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought