Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 21 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 

This Maru ball light is perfect for the Japanese-style decor in my son's room. Adds a good amount of light where no ceiling light exists. While it's made of paper, it's fairly sturdy and puts off a good amount of light. Everything works fine, the switch is well-placed (well down on the cord) keeping in mind that the ball is intended to be hung at ceiling height. Very good design, style and value for the money!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Chinese "Latern" Light...
 from Springfield, MO,  Dec 9, 2007

This is such an inexpensive way to brighten up one's home with light fixtures that look attractive and unusual. I had just a bit of problem figuring out the poor instructions; but, it was really easy enough. ha! Wish they had more variety of colors in stock. You can dress it up with red ribbon (good fortune) or inexpensive eastern trinkets. It gives off a nice warm glow of light, takes a 25 watt bulb. I have really enjoyed it, and plan on purchasing more for a even better far east effect!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mixed feelings, but good overall.
 from Fort Collins, CO,  Aug 12, 2007

I used a 19" for my dining room and a 24" for my hallway instead of using traditional lighting. What a difference! I had my dad "retro-fit" them so they can be turned on by a wall switch. That was pleasantly easy to do. One of them had a hole the size of a quarter in it, but not that noticable once it was up (hence 2 stars on workmanship). Just make sure you order the next size down as these things are H-U-G-E once you put them up!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Accent lantern
 from Washington,  Jan 20, 2014

My lantern arrived in great condition. Just wanted to let everyone know it arrived with no torn paper, which I was relieved to see, because I had read very nice sounding reviews, yet lanterns had torn paper.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I like it
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Jan 4, 2013

I adore it. I'm thinking of ways to adorn it to manipulate the colors and shadows. I wish I put a 60 watt instead of 75 cause it's a bit bright but it fits perfectly in my room!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? No it actually ivory/white thin paper but different lighting or lights can change the hue
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good although delicate. There were a few tears but nothing discouraging.
  • How accurate was the sizing? I think it much larger in person but the perfect size still
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
attractive lantern
 from Baltimore, MD,  Feb 7, 2012

I found the lantern to be very attractive, easy to set-up and exactly matches its description. It's made of paper, so you have to be gentle with it. However, it took a bare bulb and made and attractive light fixture! It's also very bright which is nice.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Decent value; easy kit
 from Binghamton, NY,  Jun 9, 2011

I was looking for a paper lamp that would hang from my ceiling without requiring an electrical hookup from the ceiling. I had planned to purchase a paper lantern similar to the one picture here and the light bulb hanging lantern kit separately. Further investigation revealed I would be spending more for shipping on these relatively inexpensive products than the items themselves. Enter Overstock: they carried this product at a decent price with a very easy to use, functional kit. I had it up and shining in no time flat.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Good
  • Did the product fit true to size? N/A
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Lamp
 from Trenton, NJ,  Feb 7, 2011

I got the big one and it's really big, but it looks great above the reading nook in my daughter's room. Did have a few tears in the rice paper, but not really noticeable once it's hung. Fairly easy to hang once I figured how far down the light needed to be in the lamp. Overall I'm very happy with the lamp.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lantern
 from Alaska,  Jan 1, 2011

I purchased this Maru Ball Lantern as a gift for my daughter. She really likes the lantern except that it arrived with so many tears that she has to return it. The item was shipped promptly and arrived by Christmas, unfortunately gift has to be returned.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Inexpensive, but nice!
 from Ohio,  Jul 15, 2010

We are staging our home to get it ready to sell. This was a nice , but inexpensive update to a guest bedroom. Adds a nice amount of light and is kind of contemporary in nature. Easy to assemble and hang - the hooks are even inclusded!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good quality
 from Salt Lake City, UT,  Mar 31, 2010

Nice quality and good price. Arrived quickly. Just add a lightbulb!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cheap !!!
 from San Diego, CA,  Mar 7, 2010

This is a piece of junk.....Poorly made and WAY OVERPRICED....This is the first item I have bought from Overstock that I truly feel that I was taken....This is a $5.00 lamp at most.....I guess it had to happen sometime....I've been quite happy with my other purchases, which has been a good amount....If your looking for a good deal.....Stay Away from this lamp....Trust Me.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It's HUGE
 from Bellingham, WA,  Dec 9, 2009

These are beautiful, but HUGE (2 feet across). Light is very good from them. If you have a small house, rethink buying these!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
easy way to brighten up
 from memphis,  Sep 16, 2009

I put this in my screened in porch . Hung on ceiling and ran cord down wall to plug in. Very easy to assemble, and also an easy way to add some style to an outdoor "room".

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Japanese Hanging Lamp
 from Lone Star State,  Aug 5, 2009

I originally bought this product just to have added light over a small desk in my bedroom. However, I never expected what a beautiful accent piece it would make. The overall light from this gorgeous lamp covers the entire room in a soft glow. It could make any room in a house or apartment look rich and inviting. This is definitely a thumbs-up product.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice lamp
 from Tampa, FL,  Sep 30, 2008

Aside from one of the horizontal pieces being bent, it's a nice lamp for a VERY casual setting. I would not say it's very durable as it is made by hand from rice paper and bamboo, but it works well for my use and adds a bit of an artsy touch. I purchased it for my screened porch and it is perfect out there with my rattan and wicker furnishings. Very south Pacific!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Value
 from California,  Feb 11, 2008

Product was as described. Basic lantern, simple, but stylish. I was looking for a hanging lamp for a small room and this was perfect.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
lantern fine after slight modification
 from Boone, NC,  Jan 5, 2008

The assembly wasn't hard, it just required some modification. The catch that keeps the cord in place so there's a light in the middle of the lantern was welded slightly farther to one side than it should have been. This small detail made the difference between the lantern hanging from the cord suspended from the ceiling to the lantern falling on the table (and the people) below it. I was able to use some pliers to bend the catch so it would hold up the cord, but this shouldn't have been necessary. On the other hand, now that it's up, the lantern looks great. The workmanship on the rest of the unit is beautiful.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Maru Ball Japanese Lantern
 from Parkersburg, WV,  Oct 2, 2007

I liked having a choice in the size. It looks great and is easy to hang because it is very lightweight. I can use it over my dining table or transfer it to my screened porch in the summer.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
MARU BALL LIGHT
 from VISALIA,CA,  Jul 10, 2007

I FINALLY GOT THIS LIVELY PIECE UP IN MY LIVING ROOM . IT IS WONDERFUL. AND!! IT BLENDS IN QUITE WELL WITH THE BAMBOO SHOJI SCREEN I HAVE ACROSS OF FROM IT.AS USUAL, "o" CAME THROUGH FOR MY DECORATING NEEDS '

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 21 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought