Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 24 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
misleading
 from Massachusetts,  Jun 29, 2007

It's much larger than I had thought. It's also pretty heavy. A bird could probably live in it comfortably. It says in the discription that there is an option of a light bulb, which is completely untrue. The bottom part of this "light" is not even flat, therefore if I did put a candle in it, the wax will drip all over the place. It's an interesting looking piece, just not very well made. Pretty disappointing for my first overstock order.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
not at all elegant
 from Sheridan, AR,  Dec 5, 2007

This lantern comes with a card in the box that says it has a delicate rusty patina that was applied painstakingly by skilled artisans in Morocco. This lantern was spray painted with reddish brown spray paint. I could have done as well out in the wood shop behind my house. I fixed the patina by burning the paint off with a low heat torch. Now the patina is acceptable. The lantern is not symetrical and the card goes on to explain that slight imperfections indicate the handcrafted nature of the product. One would still be aware that it was handcrafted even if someone did at least TRY to make it symetrical. It is a good size and compared with the other lanterns available elsewhere, the price is good but it is not ready to use when one gets it because the spray paint finish is so poor that I can't imagine someone would just hang it and go as is.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
DeLIGHTED!
 from ca,  Sep 22, 2010

I read the reviews before purchasing and figured out that the people who didn't like it, didn't GET that it was not a mass produced cookie cutter type item. I couldn't be more delighted with the look and craftsmanship. I have it hanging in a corner of my guest bath and illuminated by a multi-wick candle. The shadowing effect on the four walls when someone walks in is fantastic! These are handmade, one of a kind lanterns. They are a bit "rough", but it only adds to the magic. This lantern is pure art.....

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not even close
 from NJ,  Dec 14, 2007

I was thrilled to find this product available and for the price listed, too good to be true! Yet, to my dismay, the lantern was poorly made, not "painstakingly handcrafted". The slopped on paint was what pushed me over the edge. If this is what they are offering then $20 would've been too much to pay.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Its Fine
 from Happy in Texas!,  Nov 11, 2011

nice lantern. quality and price were not equal. should be cheaper for workmanship. Looks pretty in my house but not the best quality of product that I have seen on overtocked.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. 3 star because it is a bit un even-had to put pads on feet to make not tlt and could be more sturdy.
  • How accurate was the sizing? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
attractive lantern
 from Annapolis MD,  Mar 22, 2011

I bought this lantern for my porch - it is large, dramatic, and quite attractive. However, I am not sure how well it will hold up. The latch in the door is not strong and the door itself is more decorative than functional. Because I want to use it with a candle, this will mean frequent opening and closing of the door. Not sure this was a good buy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful!
 from Pennsylvania,  Jun 6, 2010

I don't understand why people thought this lantern was junk. I'm absolutely thrilled with the quality! It's a handmade piece from the middle east, made from reclaimed metal. Perfect it's not, but these things aren't meant to be. I had no problem wiring it -- it came with a round insert for the socket and a hole in the bottom for wire. The hinges and clasp on the door are sturdy. It's rustic, heavy, well made and stunning when lit. Even with tiny tealights, the enchanting shadow patterns still reach the ceiling from the end table I have it on. The versatility is wonderful. I can use it as an electric lamp, or as a candle lantern. I couldn't be happier with it!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it
 from LA,CA,  Nov 20, 2007

It is quite large and stunning when lit. It holds a large , 3 wick candle which will burn for hours. I like that it can be hung as well as sit on a surface.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Marrakech hurricane lantern (morocco)
 from Washington, D.C.,  May 13, 2014

Better than I expected. I will be buying more of this lanterns. They enhance the look of my living room. Can't wait to get more.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fun piece
 from New York, NY,  Sep 14, 2013

Good looking piece for a corner in my living room. Provides pretty light for entertaining. Craftsmanship isn't great (door can be hard to close), but i rarely open it. We got self timed flameless candles to fill it. Price is good - i wish they came in a variety or sizes.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
They're authentic!
 from Connecticut,  Jul 19, 2013

This is exactly what I was looking for! My family and I were in Morocco a number of years ago and I fell in love with these lamps! I've been looking for them on and off for a few years and could not find ones that were the right size. These are perfect! They look amazing on our deck and give it a wonderful exotic touch. I bought flameless electric candles and they cast amazing shadows through the lanterns! Perfect!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gorgeous accent piece that casts fantastic shadows
 from New Canaan, Connecticut,  Jul 15, 2013

The photograph on the website shows the amazing lighting effects (shadows) that this lantern casts. It is, however, more difficult to see the object itself, which I am happy to inform you, is a gorgeous accent piece. It is obviously lovingly made by hand, so if you prefer a machined look, this piece is not for you; but if you love handicraft, I highly recommend this piece. It would work inside or outside.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice
 from Delaware,  May 2, 2013

I like this lantern but thought was bigger but it is ok, still like it

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. it it ok thought was stronger
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
pretty!
 from pa,  Feb 20, 2013

Beautiful. It is hand made so its not perfect but that lends to its charm. I will say that the area they included to hold the candle is rediculous and you will have to jerry-rig something to hold the candles. It takes a lot of light inside to get the pattern to show on the walls (which was my goal). I may add an electric light inside at some point. I also like that it can be hung or sat on a table. Its large and makes a statement!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? spot on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very nice
  • How accurate was the sizing? Its bigger than I expected
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
creates an atmosphere
 from greenville, SC,  May 19, 2012

This lantern does really well outside in my courtyard. I was disappointed that it wasn't wired for the 25 watt bulb. The description says BULB NOT INCLUDED, but I expected the wiring to be in place. I will use a candle or I'm going to try the candles that are battery operated. It's a pretty accent piece and looks like the picture. I would recommend to a friend but I want my piece to be unique, so selfessly I won't. Buy one, you won't be disappointed

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. just okay quality
  • How accurate was the sizing? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Exotic accent
 from Hbg, PA,  Jun 23, 2011

I have been looking for a Moroccan accent for my living room that I can also use for outdoor entertaining. SCORE! What I like best about this lantern is the great shadows that it casts when candlelit. I used 5 votive candles in glass holders. 4 around the base and one on the raised candle ring. It looks fantastic. I have used it on a table top and have also hung it. I wish there were others in different sizes or shapes. I would order more for a dramatic grouping.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Handmade and somewhat rustic
  • Did the product fit true to size? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful
 from Erie, PA,  Jun 9, 2011

looks more expensive than it is, love it and would recommend it

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? good
  • Did the product fit true to size? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Outdoor Living Area
 from Alpharetta, GA,  Apr 13, 2011

This outdoor piece is on the cover of the Better Homes and Gardens Special Interest Publications "Spring 2010 Outdoor Rooms" magazine. It looks beautiful in my outdoor living room on the fireplace mantle. Try to "Google" the magazine to see if you can see this item on the fireplace hearth. It is a rustic piece. Beautiful at night with a candle inside. Yes I would recommend it!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Good
  • Did the product fit true to size? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This Marrakech Hurricane Lantern Is Awesome
 from West Coast Florida,  Mar 31, 2011

I was a little leary to purchase based on other reviews. I recv'd item today and am surprised by the negative reviews this item has gotten. It is an AWESOME lantern. The finish on it is very nice, holds a candle well. I am going to purchase a lamp kit from local home improvement store to convert to a lamp - already has holder and hole for passing wire through. I am not the type of person to write reviews but felt this one deserved it. Trust me you will love it. Goes well with my Moroccan theme.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 from Orlando, FL,  Feb 4, 2011

I bought this after ready the mixed reviews and I have to say that I am not one bit disappointed. It looks great and the light that comes from it sets a nice tone. I live in Florida and have it in my screen patio area but I think it would good pretty much anywhere. Thank you Overstock for another great purchase!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 24 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top