Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 274 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 14 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Makes a nice coffee table!!
 from Novi, MI,  Nov 13, 2006

I am very happy with this bench. I am using it as a coffee table; it is the perfect size and goes well in the room. Although you can not see the back side, it is finished enough that it doesn't need to be against a wall. And the top is sturdy enough to handle heavy items. My only complaint, but it is minor, is that the dark stain on the piece is still wet and rubs off easily. Fortunately I noticed this before I put it on our new rug and have rubbed it down several times with a clean cloth and it seems to be ok now. It really is a lovely, well-made piece of furniture.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVE LOVE LOVE!
 from New York City, NY,  Aug 9, 2011

I just received this storage bench and I could not be happier! I have been searching for a storage solution for all the shoes that are left at the entryway of my house. It has taken forever... but I have finally found it! This bench is perfect - the four doors open and I can put all of our shoes, sneakers, flip-flops, boots, whatever the season, whatever the shoe - it's going inside. I've considered other benches and actual "shoe cabinets", but didn't like the open "cubbies" or "baskets" where people would see our shoes and look like something out of a "daycare" setting nor did I think adult size shoes would fit. This keeps our entryway clean and neat and I am pleased to say my husband's dress shoes & sneakers (size 11) fit beautifully! The actual piece of furniture is quite beautiful. The curved arms and little bun feet are gorgeous. The color is MUCH darker than it shoes on the computer screen... I would consider it similar to an espresso brown (I expected it to be more of a walnut color), thankfully it blends nicely with our living room colors. I love it and my husband loves it, our living room looks warm & cozy with this new addition.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Much darker than shown in picture.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality
  • How accurate was the sizing? Accurate sizing
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

This is an exceptional value - nice looking and not very pricey either. Overstock delivery was also very quick. As mentioned, the top may look flimsy but it can support a lot of weight - even two kids who keep jumping up and down on it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Bench
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Nov 29, 2006

First time using overstock and had a pleasant experience. The bench came in 3 business days, which was quicker than expected. The bench itself is very nice. As one of the posters had mention, the backing is finished enough to be used as a coffe table. For the price, the bench is worth the purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it
 Jan 15, 2011

I've had this for three years now, and it has held up really well through 2 moves. I absolutely love it!! It looks just as pictured. The only thing I would point out is that there is no middle support legs so it's really not good for sitting on, although we have sat on it occasionally. It's very slightly bowed in the middle, but I think that if you added something underneath the middle this wouldn't be a problem.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just What We Needed!
 from Maryland,  Feb 25, 2008

This bench sits at the foot of our queen-sized bed, and it fits just right! It provides a sturdy seat, extra storage (I fit four stacks of sweaters and tops inside), and adds a nice texture to the decor. This bench would blend in a decorating style that is tropical, eclectic, or even traditional. We bought the Tribeca bed on Overstock, too, and they go nicely together. I wiped it down and aired it out before placing it, as others have suggested.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Well constructed but beware
 from Nyack, NY,  Apr 30, 2008

Although well constructed, meaning tight joints and sound workmanship, the bench is delicate as a bench goes. Beware to those who may actually want to sit on it. It strains and creaks if two young adults dare to sit. Also, note that the interior dimensions are far smaller than the exterior dimensions. I had planned to place a stereo receiver in the bench but the interior could not accommodate. Overall and attractive piece for those that will be easy on their furniture.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful unique bench
 from United States,  Dec 17, 2007

This is a beautiful bench. I was looking for something unique and eclectic to hide my toddlers toys. It has a large storage area under it to fit many large toys. It has plenty of room to sit. It came assembled. It is so different everyone asks where I found it. One of the plastic magnets for the door attachment broke off but the door still shuts, and it can easily be fixed. It is thick and sturdy wood otherwise. The only thing I did not like about the bench was the smell, I think it shipped direct and was still a little wet with varnish that was really stinky, so we left it in the garage for a week to air out and now it does not smell. Also the color of the wood was almost an ebony or a very very dark brown, like black and the bamboo was a light yellow. I still think we got a good deal, it is functional, useful and is an extra seating area.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good, but
 from Oceanside, CA,  Nov 20, 2007

We bought this to serve as a small media cabinet and occaisional seat beneath our wall-mounted flatpanel. The open front allows venting for components. We cut a hole in the back for the cords. The only shortcoming is that the top surface and back are contructed with paper-thin veneer. It flexes, but seems to hold up fine when a 200 lb person sits on it. It's very lightweight, but meets our needs. Aesthetically, we're very pleased.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bench is OK
 from Phoenix AZ,  Oct 4, 2007

This piece is only OK in my opinion. . The picture makes it appear a little bulkier and cleaner looking than it actually is. Also the picture shows the item to be stained brown when actually it is ebony (almost black) in color. I am not using this piece of furniture where I intended but have put in in my hallway, and actually it looks pretty good there. Overall I'm OK with the piece.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent workmanship!
 from Lincon, NE,  Aug 27, 2007

The bench came pre-assembled so all I had to do was unpack it. It is a well made, solid piece of furniture and looks even better in person than in the pics. It is an excellent value.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mango Bench
 from IN,  Jan 7, 2010

Well.... with all the great reviews .. I was somewhat disappointed with the bench ...I did received the bench promptly and severs its purpose as an end of the bed storage bench .. the detail is very nice and unique, however I feel that the quality was not worth the price.. There is no way it can be used as any type of sitting bench .... it is extremely light weight was able to carry it with one arm.. and in some areas the stain is sloppy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
truly gorgeous
 from vermont,  Dec 27, 2009

i am a local designer and purchased this for my own home. i have never reviewed a product on line before although, i purchase almost exclusively online......i purchased this as a tv cabinet for my upstairs. it is perfect. it makes a lovely statement, but keeps a low profile. the work is fabulous. the style has personality. but there is also plenty of room for all things tv to be stored underneath. only need a hole drilled in back for cords...

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice piece!
 from Houston,TX,  Sep 30, 2008

I have read most of the reviews before purchasing this piece and it didn't disappoint me at all! It came only 4 days after I placed the order and it's absolutely a gorgeous piece of furniture!It did have a strong smell when I first opened the box and had the dark stain/grease covering all the wood part like all other reviews said. But it's easy to wipe it off and the smell is gone after 1 week.We love the natural Asian style. It's exactly what we want.It's working perfectly as a shoe storage+bench in my foyer, we can sit on it to change shoes and it has enough space inside to hold our shoes. The most important, our schnauzer can't mess with our shoes anymore!It came as one piece which is great, no assembling needed.The only unsatisfying part might be the strong magnets that holds the doors closed. There were two on each door which made it so difficult to open. We removed one from each and it's a lot better now.Great piece! Definitely worth the price!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
looks great
 from NYC, NY,  Dec 4, 2007

This piece did not arrive sticky, as stated in previous reviews. It is darker than photo (an espresso color), but still beautiful. Also, it is lighter weight than anticipated, but surely could accomodate a 220 lb. person tying shoes. I would not recommend standing on it though.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
arrived broken
 from Utah,  Jul 31, 2007

One of the "armrests" was detached from the chest when it arrived. However, I like it well enough that I'm going to try to fix it rather than go through the pain of returning it. The other armrest is very firmly attached and the workmanship on the rest of it is very good. The finish is a little tacky to the touch, which is worrisome. Pay attention to the dimensions, it isn't very tall or deep. It makes a good bench for the foot of the bed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bench
 from Los Angeles,  Jun 29, 2007

Mine came slightly damaged. I had to nail in a side panel. It's fine for setting book bags on but, it seems like if two adults were to sit on it the top would give way. it's attractive however.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice piece...
 from midwest,  Jun 26, 2007

...for the money. Great value, considering. Adding beige shelf-liner and LED cabinet light inside add another dimension. Can't hold a much weight w/o reinforcement and finish is still a tad gummy, but won't detract from pricier pieces in the room. Plexiglas topper will make for a usable coffee table; a versatile piece.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice bench
 from Newburgh, IN,  Nov 20, 2006

This bench is well crafted, looks great and is perfect for my decor. The only thing is if you plan on using this as a bench and not a table you will want to reinforce it. This was done easily by putting some reinforcing supports under the seat of the bench.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Poor Value : Poor
TERRIBLE CHEAPLY Constructed Product worth $20.
 from Carlsbad, CA,  Dec 21, 2013

HIGHLY DISAPPOINTED BEYOND BELIEF!! I ordered this bench based on Raving reviews. I was So excited when I ordered it. But my experience turned out to be VERY disappointing. Where do I begin? The package was delivered, I opened the box...and before I could even lift the bench out of the box, it was obvious that one of the sides were already busted off of the frame. But I figured, I will take it out and see if it is "repairable" since it would be highly inconvenient to have to return this. I take it out and IMMEDIATELY notice a few things about it: 1. It is made of very thin, cheap wood. Felt and looked more like imitation wood or veneers. 2. VERY Poorly Constructed overall. The way the whole sides and top are attached together is very cheaply done. That is most likely why it came in the mail already destroyed with the side popped out. 3. When my husband and I were handling it, we both suddenly noticed that our fingers were covered with stain. I COULDN'T BELIEVE THIS! It was like they just assembled it yesterday, slopped some paint on it and threw it in the mail before it was even dry. NEVER had such a ridiculous thing like this happen to me before with all the other furniture I have EVER bought online! 4. Then, as we start looking at the top of it, we notice right away that some of the stain that is supposed to be on the wood runs right over the top of this other lighter colored material which I think is supposed to be the Reed. It looks like a 5 year old took a paint brush and someone told them to paint a straight line and they did their "best". Unless they are a 5-year old Prodigy, you could probably imagine what a 5-year old's version of a straight line would look like. It was just poor and messy. And even the woven design of the reed is not flush. Its very messy. I was hoping to display the bench somewhere where it wasn't embarrassing. But I can't. The final straw was when ... 6. I went to sit on the bench, (being only around 130 lbs) and it sounded like it was going to cave it. I heard crackling noises like if I sat there any longer, I may have gone through it. That was the final straw, because now...ITS NOT EVEN FUNCTIONAL!!! I cannot even sit on this $280-something dollar bench, that is by the way, HALF the size that it actually looks in the picture. The actual seat is comes up to just below my knee. More like a child's play bench then something that you would actually use in your home. What's the point???? I guess the ONLY good thing is that it stores stuff. But I could use a decorated garbage can to do that too. I sure hope they are going to give me my FULL REFUND since when I filled out the Refund Request form, they only allowed me a few words to describe what was wrong with it, and that may not be sufficient enough for them to qualify my reason as valid. I could just sum up my complaint with one word.... GROSS. Whoever is giving this product more than 1 star... I can only be suspicious. Because my experience would not even qualify this purchase for a "0" rating. Honestly.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 274 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 14 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top