Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-12 of 12 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
for music, pay more
 from Keller, TX,  Jul 15, 2009

Bought one of these for a friend's birthday, and one for myself. I imagined it a good meditation vehicle. Each arrived promptly at its correct destination, but I wished I had had time to receive mine before I sent it off as a gift--probably would have chosen something different. As ethnic art it is interesting, and most of the keys have some resonance at different pitches. It is attractive in a primitive way, but having heard a higher quality kalimba earlier this year, I was disappointed with its comparison. To enjoy this as an instrument rather than as an ethnic art piece it would need to have more resonance and clearer tone distinction. None of my disappointment is with Overstock or with the product--just with my over optimistic imagination.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Kalimba
 from Portland, Maine,  Apr 23, 2009

I recently purchased two world instruments from Overstock. The product is as described. It has a lovely burned wood design and the tines are decorated with colorful pieces of metal. Although this is a functional instrument, I believe it to be one produced for souvenir purchase. Souvenir items are usually not tuned to the desired pitch and the quality of materials is less than those used by actual musicians. I use this instrument as a demonstration of world instruments with my general music students, so it will not be used on a continual basis. It serves the function for which I purchased it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cute Toy
 from Laguna Niguel, CA,  Jan 7, 2013

This is a cute piece for the coffee table... got positive attention at a party. It is not a true thumb piano (not pretty sounding) but is more of a toy. Excellent to bring to a drum circle at the beach since It is not fragile or expensive enough to worry about damage/loss

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Primitive Handicraft
  • How accurate was the sizing? Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
not easy to play
 from Georgia,  Jan 1, 2012

roughly made....poor quality neat idea. needed more work....

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor
  • How accurate was the sizing? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Unique musical instrument
 from Boca Raton, FL,  Jun 14, 2010

I love this Kenyan Kalimba Thumb Piano. I bought it as a gift for my father, but I love it so much, I may keep it and get him another one. I am so impressed with the items I get on World Trade. The little piano sounds so pretty and is well made (because it is handmade). I enjoy going to World Trade for gifts because my friends are always so impressed and ask how and where I found it. This little piano is so cute and made so well. Thank You. Betty.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Positive Review
 from Texas!,  Feb 15, 2012

I purchased this item for my two young adult sons who said it was absolutely great, lots of fun and had a great sound.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? I didn't get to see the product in person
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I was told by the gift recipient the quality was high
  • How accurate was the sizing? not applicable
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice and different musical instrument.
 from Saint Louis, Missouri,  Nov 4, 2011

This instrument makes a nice display if you want to make a musical arrangement and has a nice sound. I was not dissappointed with this product. It makes a nice conversation piece. I would recommend this to anyone who has a musical background and likes to play the guitar.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the sizing? Close to the picture displayed.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Kenyan Kalimba
 from Bloomington, IN,  Jan 7, 2010

Very nicely made product. It came packaged well and arrived quickly!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very fun
 from Springfield, MA,  Jan 3, 2010

I bought this thumb piano as a christmas gift for my boyfriend and he loves it! It took a little adjusting to get it in tune but it now sounds lovely. The only problem is a vibration caused by the little metal clamps(they look colorful in the picture) which are loose on the prongs and rattle when being played. Overall it is a very fun piece and the fact that it is fairtrade makes it even better!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Its ok
 Jan 3, 2010

The person seemed to like the gift but I was very dissapointed in the size and quality of it.....

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I got this for my Mother for Mother's Day
 from Will County, IL,  May 15, 2009

And she loves it. She doesn't know how to play it yet but she loves the look and sound. So if she's happy, I'm happy. And that's a ha[[y Mother's Day!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Drum
 from NW OHIO,  Jan 12, 2010

The music is much a "primitive" sound, not like a 2010 high-quality instrument. It has a tinny quality.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-12 of 12 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top