For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 70 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Different, edgy, neat!
 from Central Calirornia,  Oct 4, 2011

I am very pleased with the stools. The add a "punch" to my kitchen. They are edgy (I bought two) and have the "wow" factor that I wanted. The fact that they are adjustable is an added plus. They arrived promptly. The assembly was simple - just unpack the top and the base then attach the top. The base was pretty much over-kill on the packaging: a lot of added padding. But the tops could have used more padding for the transit. One top was dinged on the side, but it was easily remedied by my husband. Great price for such a neat and different stool!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Classic Piece
 from baltimore, md,  Mar 16, 2012

had been looking at vintage industrial stools in various shops for my office, and came across this overstock item referenced on an interior designer's blog. I've purchased a number of items from overstock in the past, so I had no hesitation in checking it out. only disappointment -- it was out of stock! i was resigned to continue my search elsewhere, but was so surprised to get an email a few weeks later informing me that the item was back in stock. even better was the overstock.com price -- amazingly affordable compared to the vintage versions. was tremendously pleased when the item arrived so quickly, and it fit perfectly in the space. The stool is solid, and still has that classic vintage appeal.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? i purchased the nickel version, which isn't exceptionally shiny as it appeared online -- more burnished. this is a good thing, as i was looking for something with a bit of "character."
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. solid quality
  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great buy!
 from Huntsville, AL,  Oct 24, 2011

This is a very high quality product. Very sturdy and made of very heavy duty metal.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This is a very high quality product. Very sturdy.
  • How accurate was the sizing? appropriate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love the stools...but disappointed with color
 from The Midwest,  Sep 30, 2011

Just got these today and am very pleased with the weight of them, they seem very sturdy, the seat is large and they swivel easily. Now wishing I had ordered the nickel color though... the burnt wax is not the silvery black antique look I had hoped for... they look solid black. If the color had been what I was expecting I'd have given these stools 5 stars. I really do like them, but wished they looked more antique. I may end up sanding them or doing some sort of faux finish on them.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? No, the stools I recieved are black... not a antiqued silver/black color.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Love the quality... heavy duty!
  • How accurate was the sizing? Accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Seat isn't level
 from Tampa, Florida,  Mar 14, 2012

This stool looks good but the finish is not completely smooth and it snags clothing every time I sit on it. The seat is also not perfectly level so I constantly have to swivel it to face a certain way so that it isn't pitched slightly back or off to the side. Ergonomically it could be difficult to use over an extended period of time. Again, it looks good but the attention to detail is not the best.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. fair
  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love love love these stools!!!
 from Minnesota,  Sep 24, 2011

We have had these chairs for a few weeks and they look amazing. They look like I paid a lot more than I did for these chairs. They are the perfect combo of old and modern. The only thing slightly annoying is the higher the chair goes, the more unstable it feels - you could literally swivel the top off the chairs - so just be careful there. We don't need them that high, so I am not too worried about that. They came very carefully wrapped. There is no way they were moving in that box. Would recommend.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. heavy, nice finish
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I like the stool. It is a little pricey for what you get but overall it is nice. The finish looks very rich and the seat adjustability works out great. The weight or thickness of the metal for the seat is a little thin and looks a bit crooked and the legs look a spindly. There wasn't anything to assembly so that was nice and it came packaged very well.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Iron swivel stool in nickel
 from Cape Cod, MA,  Mar 17, 2012

The swivel stool looks very similar to one available at Crate and Barrel furniture which costs $200. The difference is the quality . . . The only issue that I have with this stool is the the lower rim of the seat which is what you will grab first when sitting down is very rough and uneven, almost to the point where you might cut yourself if not careful. The bottom iron edge of the seat has not been properly sanded or smoothed out in any way. Other than that, it is as described. Maybe I can sand that lower seat edge.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? not quite as silvery as photo but still ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Average to good
  • How accurate was the sizing? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice stool
 from LA, CA,  Dec 8, 2011

The frame is solid and not tubular metal so its very strong. The adjustable height is great and makes it a very versatile piece. Feels very stable and was delivered quickly!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very solid and great value
  • How accurate was the sizing? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Color not what I anticipated
 from Connecticut,  Oct 19, 2011

I received two stools in reasonably good condition despite the terrible packing. The box was literally held together with wads and wads of clear tape. The stools are decent size and easy enough to put together. I have to say though, the wax finish color was quite misleading as it appears more sprayed black. I won't return as it would cost too much and be too much of a hassle but buyer beware on the color. I only wish someone else had taken the time to post a review about the color so I could decided whether or not to order accordingly. Still love Overstock - just this one was a bit misleading.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? no - color was quite black not waxy distressed like shown in the photo
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
better than I'd expected
 from San Diego, CA,  Oct 19, 2011

I love these stools. The deep color gives a great vintage look. They are perfect.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome look and good quality!
 from Miami,  Oct 10, 2013

I have a retro style loft with a industrial countertop in the kitchen area... they fit very nice! Simple construction/ minimalist style.... made from recycled iron by hand...so thats pretty cool. :) I read other reviews before I purchased and some said issue of not being solid or sturdy?? well i guess if you're using them to shovel down your dunkin donuts daily... I'd say maybe not for you! :) otherwise great product for the money! Being adjustable you can lower them to sit at a table or raise them to sit at counter heights! and they look just like the photo as well!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

These seats are beautiful to look at, have just the look and feel I wanted for our kitchen. However, they tend to turn every time you get up out of them and every time they turn they screech loudly. I have tried to many ways to lubricate the stools, but they continue to screech. It is bad enough that I think I need to replace them. One of the stools has a very uneven seat, which might have been OK had they been quiet. But the screech is loud enough that you can even hear it upstairs and in the kitchen it makes everyone cringe. I am very disappointed as I love how these look.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes, in the Nickel
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Average
  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
stools
 from california,  May 20, 2013

Good little stools. The seat is a little wobbly, but otherwise sturdy construction. The darker stool shown is actually black in color.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? no
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Form Over Function
 from Cincinnait, OH,  Apr 30, 2013

Super easy to assemble, looks great, not really that comfortable but what would you expect from an iron stool? They wobble just a bit but again, it's a single post not 4 so it was to be expected. My kids enjoy the swivel function. Overall fits my decor and looks to be a well built piece of furniture at a good price. I would say 3.5 to 4 stars out of 5. I would buy them again, yes.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes, a bit more black but basically the same.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Sturdy for a single post stool.
  • How accurate was the sizing? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cute vintage stools
 from Lafayette, LA,  Mar 23, 2011

I bought 3 stools for my bar height counter so I have the stools positioned at the highest setting. At first one was a little wobbly at the 28" high setting, but once we kept turning it until it could no longer budge it maintained its stability. The swivel feature sounded good, but at the tallest height it can't swivel or else you begin lowering the stool height. I wish there was a way to lock the stool height so that it can swivel. But I like the fact that it is height adjustable in the event that we no longer need bar-height stools these can adjust for counter height or other purposes. They are very nice looking and sturdy. They have that vintage and handmade look, so you need to embrace the imperfections. The only thing I was disappointed in was the way the boxes were handled during shipping. Two out of the 3 boxes were damaged, thus causing a little dent on the seat of one. I'll live with it because it adds more character or maybe I'll have my husband hammer out the dent. But I do feel that packaging was insufficient.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice
 from Nashville, TN,  Mar 14, 2011

We really like these stools and found the other reviews to be an accurate description. Can't be beat for the price. However, ours arrived a little banged up from shipping. It was a little disappointing because the edge of one of the stools is bent inwards. It's not so noticeable as the stools have a rustic look in general. And I'm not going to pursue and exchange because it took so long for the stools to be instock anyway! But overall we are really happy with them. I forgot how chilly the metal can be to sit on-- we used to have wood stools, but not a huge deal and easy to get used to. Love the swivel feature and adjustability. We keep them at approx. a 24" height and they function nicely.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Iron Swivel Stool
 from Lake Cherokee, Texas,  Jan 7, 2011

I really love the stool. If left at the lowest height, they are great. When you raise them they start to get a little wobbly. They have a very nice hand made industrial type look. I bought them for a lakehouse, so they fit well.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Returned them
 from Burbank, CA,  Nov 20, 2013

I ordered two of these stools. They arrived in a box that was split and broken. They were shoved inside each other with no packaging around the legs, which meant metal rubbing on metal - so the legs were all scratched. The appearance of the stools is a bit rough and unfinished, so I thought I might be able to use them anyway. But, when I put one together, it just looked lousy. The nickel finish over the iron had marks on it and looked stained - not the shiny top in the picture. The legs looked spindly to me. And yes, they do squeak LOUDLY when you turn the seat. The biggest problem is that there is no way to put pads on the bottom of the legs and these are VERY heavy iron stools. So absolutely can NOT put these on a wood floor. I looked at some pads at the hardware store, but those bottoms are oval and nothing worked. I know these are hand forged metal, but to me they are just too rough. And expensive for what you get. I returned them. Overstock was fabulous about the return though. I'll continue using Overstock. Usually, everything is packaged so well. You just never know how things will turn out though when you order stuff on-line.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cool stools for the price
 from Huntsville, AL,  Aug 12, 2013

Love the rough-hewn pewter finish. I bought four for my kitchen island and they are the perfect width. Have three children under age five and I like the swivel function as I can raise and lower the stool for their needs. Good-looking contemporary stool for the price but are a bit wobbly. However, my conservative husband does not like them at all. Fine for short meals but are not comfortable for extended periods of time. I kept them because of price point, look and size for my immediate needs.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 70 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top