Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 77 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
A mixed bag... just like a quilt!
 from Philly,  Mar 9, 2008

First the good. I bought the rust colored one a few years back and loved it so much I bought it again. The blue color is very nice too. Has an ethnic elegance that is above the cheap touristy schlock. The quilts are really covers as they are not thick, but do look great on the bed. Remember, layers is what keeps you warm! The bad: Like some quilts, durability is an issue. Wash it carefully. As it is made of several different woven fabric patterns, the more ornate ones are fragile. Second the color does run quite a bit. I bought the rust one again since it faded so much over the years. The fade was a nice look, as it brought out the native pattterns in the fabric before the overall dye job. That said, expect it to look quite different with washings. Overall: For the money you can't complain and it does look great. Buy the king size even if you have a queen bed, as it seems to be undersize and does shrink a bit with washing.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bleeds
 from Connecticut,  Nov 20, 2009

This quilt is a beautiful dark blue BUT, think very carefully how you will use it because the fabric dye is not permanent. It might be O.K. on a chest as part of your decor if you are willing to just bat out dust or dry clean. But I put this on our bed and found that moisture will make the blue bleed. After going to bed with wet hair I have woken up to a blue neck, and my dog licking her paw on the bed has made blue marks through to the sheets. So I was really forewarned when it needed cleaning. Not being in a habit of paying dry cleaning, and the tag says "Dry clean or hand wash separately" I tried the hand wash. Now I have many blue items. Since the blue was everywhere, getting it dry was the biggest problem. Even my clothesline would have been blue!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Well, It looks nice but......
 from Phoenix AZ,  Apr 15, 2012

Well, I was very excited to get this product. The picture does not do it justice. The various colors are very vivid, and so varied. Just beautiful! BUT, I was sooo disapointed when the stitching started to come apart after just 2 weeks! Just sitting on the bed unraveled the stitching. My quilt had loops on one end(?) Maybe it's just mean't to be a wall hanging. I don't know. It's a shame because it's really beautiful. Also BTW, There is no batting in it (like an actual quilt). It's more of a coverlet.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes, the color an fabrics used,are beautiful.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very poor stitching. Not sewn to accomadate differneces in fabric thicknesses. The patches came apart with just sitting on it, I've had to sew it twice and I've only had it 2 weeks. NOT DURABLE!!
  • How accurate was the sizing? Fit my queen size bed perfectly.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not QUITE what I expected.
 from Texas,  Feb 16, 2012

First I want to say Love this quilt. Had saved a long time to purchase it. That said, instead of lots of blue swatches of material they took the other quilt and dyed it whole in a blue die. It still looks fantastic for my bed. Speaking of which, I expected a Quilted quilt with cotton batting. What you have instead is paramount to a duvet cover of sewn together swatches which had tabs on it for hanging on a wall or use as a curtain. The materials are organic cotton, it still is weighty and warm, but it is not "Quilted" and has not batting.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quilt is well made
  • How accurate was the sizing? Size as expected
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful colors
 from rural New Mexico,  Jun 8, 2011

This is a beautiful piece, and the colors are rich, but it has to go on sideways to reach the frame, and cover the mattress. I will remedy this with a piece of fabric around the edge, as suggested by another buyer. My other issue is the color- not so rich a blue overall- more of a turquoise - but it works in the room, and I love the handmade feel. I like that it is supporting the artisans, and will purchase more products from the world store.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? no, more turquoise than deep blues
  • How is the quality of the product? well made, sturdy
  • Did the product fit true to size? no, smaller than I thought
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
lovely well made quilt
 from Georgia,  May 8, 2012

I bought the patchwork multi colored one. Called the pastel, it is somewhat muted but with a lot of color and bright patches with embroidery mixed in. I wanted a lighter weight quilt for warmer weather and this works great. The backing is a thin black material and one end does have loops to make it a wall hanging. But mine is working great as a bedcover. Ordered the king for my queen bed and it's perfect.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. black thin fabric backing. well made though
  • How accurate was the sizing? very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great just not pastel
 from rural NY and NYC,  Mar 25, 2011

This is a beautiful bedspread. I say bedspread because there is no inner lining between the front and the back. It is stunning with vivid patchwork throughout and a wonderful balance of color and pattern. Runs true to size in the king. The quilt part is the hundreds of joined and gorgeous patchwork pieces, Beautifully made of nice weighty cotton.(90%). Highly recommend just know that it is not rose pastel. All colors and balanced and strong!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Amazing color
 from Fort Worth, Texas,  Aug 4, 2007

first time buyer...extremely pleased with appearance and quality of product. Loved, loved, loved the bed coverlet. Amazing blue color is more than I expected, and am pleased with the expedient delivery of this item. I will definately buy other items in the future Satisfaction was a plus from this buyer

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful!
 from Groton, CT,  Apr 25, 2007

I have never written a review on anything before though I shop online all the time. This quilt is breathtaking! I gasp when I opened it. The picture doesn't come anywhere ner doining it justice. It is vibrant, beautifully stitched. The perfect lightweight quilt for living in a warmer place or for topping a down comforter. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a quilt in this style

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Interesting and beautiful piece
 from NM,  Jul 27, 2012

This is not a quilt in the usual American sense; there is no batting. However, as a decorative bed covering or wall hanging, it is lovely. The piecing is well done, with interesting and unusual fabrics. The black backing/border sets the warm colors off well. The king size is quite heavy, but there are sturdy fabric loops on the long side for hanging. I'm very happy with this purchase.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Color is slightly warmer than shown.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very well made
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful
 from NY,  Feb 22, 2012

I love both and would highly recommend. Well sew, arrived pompltly and mt cats love them too.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? absolutely, bighter and more alive in real time.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. superb quality cloth, sewing and pattern detail. I actually purchased 2, the other in the tha autumnal/ orange colos.
  • How accurate was the sizing? queen was fine fo a full size bed
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Colorful quilt
 from Mobile, AL,  Nov 30, 2010

We were very pleased with the vibrant color of this quilt. Although not very thick (it's more like a coverlet) the color matched our bedroom perfectly. The hand craftsmanship was excellent. Recommend for someone who doesn't want a thick quilt.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

This is a very unique & beautiful quilt. The quality of this quilt is perfect, worth every penny!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
peggy
 May 28, 2015

This is really a very nice quilt. Colors are so rich.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

This quilt is absolutely gorgeous. The quality is amazing. I ordered the largest size for my queen bed to ensure it draped right and to account for any shrinkage when washed. It did shrink a bit so keep that in mind. I washed it in cold water once and it bled heavily. I let it lie flat to dry because it would clearly shrink more in the dryer. I'll dry clean it moving forward.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice
 May 23, 2015

heavier than I was hoping for but if you like handmade and folk, you will love it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
glenblom
 Apr 28, 2015

this quilt is well made and has beautiful true blue colors and the size is true to size for our guest bed.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

I have no huge complaints on this quilt. It has a nice weight. It is handmade...and needs to be treated with care. Of the 2 we have, both have squares that need mending as they fray a little. I wish that there was stitching between the top and base but still love it without.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Colours bleed
 Apr 16, 2015

Despite the beauty of this quilt, I have ruined a very good set of sheets and a night gown because the colours bled badly. (I did not wash the quilt and sheets together.) Instead, during the first night I used the coverlet, both sheets and nightgown were damaged because the dye on the squares wasn't set. Had I known it would bleed that much, I would have washed it separately in cold water before using it. Nonetheless, the colours are vibrant and rich looking ... I love the looks of it. Another disappointment was that the backing wasn't tacked onto the front, so the backing became larger than the front, billowing at one end, which I successfully hide with pillows. I would recommend that you buy this quilt, because it's a nice, light weight that's great for summer, and stunning as a top layer in the winter. But wash it separately in cold water or dry clean it before you use it. (I was so excited that I put it on the bed right away, and ruined my sheets and night gown.)

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gorgeous
 Apr 14, 2015

We adopted our son from Guatemala when he was 2. He is now 26. Over the years we have always tried to keep decorations in our home to celebrate his heritage. He was thrilled to open this on Christmas. It looks gorgeous on his bed and washes up nicely too.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 77 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought