Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 21 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Hand carved Bundu Mask
 from Columbia, SC,  Jun 8, 2006

I purchased this mask for the entry way of our stairwell. My 14 year old son loves it. At first I thought it would be to long but it is just big enough to hold it's own and not over powering. I love the details on the face and the smell of the wood. It was a great buy for the price!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Authentic!
 from New York, NY,  Dec 18, 2013

This mask is breath taking. If you're into Africana art, it will probably blend in well with your other pieces. I am giving this gift to my aunt: a Professor of Latin and African studies and I hope it will be a welcomed addition to her collection. She just returned from Ghana in the fall so I am sure she will appreciate it as much as I do. The craftsmanship is wonderful.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very disappointed....
 from New York,  Aug 21, 2013

Very excited to receive item because if I liked this one i had the intension of buying a few more. The finish in the photo is beautiful but the one i received was dull brown with some gold splashed on to it. There was also a large chip on the left side, why didn't the person that wrapped this notice it? I filled in the chip with marker and it wasn't as noticeable. Now there is nothing on the back of the mask to allow you to hang it on the wall. I would not recommend this mask to anyone.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
favorite mask yet
 from Ohio,  Feb 15, 2012

I have 7 masks in the house now and this is by far my favorite.. Something about it is just really cool. The color is darker than the light brown shown in the picture, but I prefer the actual color. I can't imagine anyone being disappointed with this mask, whereas I've been disappointed with a few others.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? it's a little darker.. but better
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. well made
  • How accurate was the sizing? perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Come Alive With Realism
 from Topeka, Ks,  May 31, 2011

This Hand-carved Bundu Mask (Ghana) is most unique. The artist is a genius with his creativity and a master with his skills. Not one flaw was found. I am very elated with this mask as it added another dimension to my African Art Collection. You will NOT be disappointed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Satisfied
 from Parkville, MD,  Apr 29, 2011

I received shippment within 2 days of order. Packaging was very good bubble wrapped and styrofoam included in box for protection. The mask had a couple of nics under the lip and nose. but you can tell it is authentic. Over all happy with my order.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Better than expected!
 from New York,  Mar 19, 2011

This is a FANTASTIC mask. The real thing actually looks better (and darker) than in the picture. Wood with metal accents (brown and silver) perfectly compliments a combination of antique and modern art I have used for my bedroom.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful
 from Forest Hills, NY,  Feb 22, 2011

I absolutely love the authenticity of these masks, much darker clr in person though...

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Nice!
 from Oklahoma,  Jan 12, 2011

Beautiful and well made! Unique. Worth the money!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pleased
 Apr 12, 2010

I love it! The mask was darker than what is shown online, but that was ok; I actually preferred the deep rich brown color. It's bigger than I thought it would be for the price(which was a very pleasant surprise) & the curving detail is superb! My only regret is that I didn't purchase two!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bundu Mask
 from New York,  Mar 31, 2010

The Hand-Carved Bundu Mask is a wonderful piece. It looked much better than I anticipated and has enhanced the decor of my home as well as compliment other art pieces that I have collected. I would recommend this to anyone who is into this kind of art. The price was great too.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Amazing
 Mar 28, 2010

Great product! I bought this as a house warming gift for a dear friend of mine, and she loved it!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
purchaser
 from miami, florida,  Mar 18, 2010

i really love this mask and highly recommend it, looking for others to complement it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Another Gorgeous Mask
 from Morton, IL,  Mar 9, 2010

This was my second African mask purchased through Overstock and once again I am more than impressed with the craftsmanship and quality. The size is quite substantial and looks even better in person. Love it!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good purchase
 from New Orleans,  Feb 24, 2010

It has a very authentic primitive look and is a nice big size. Good price for the piece. Let me add that the mask doesn't actually fit right on a face. It is too narrow and the eyeholes aren't set in the right place. Of course it is sold here just for decor, and for that purpose it is great.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great find
 from FL,  Jan 9, 2008

I ordered one mask because of the price and the reviews, and I was not disappointed. I loved my mask so much, I ordered another one and now am using both as centerpieces on my "African Wall". It's huge! Most products ordered online come to you smaller than you expect but this mask is substantial. I love the feel and smell of the wood as well. Great buy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Disapointed
 from Washington, DC,  Dec 21, 2007

This did not look like the picture. The metal (bronze) pieces were covered up in brown stain -- if you didn't see the original picture you would have never known! I did not return the mask. I painted the entire mask a black lacquer stain.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Lovely Piece of Art
 from New York, NY,  Dec 12, 2007

I bought as a gift for a very dear friend who collects art like this. I am sure he will love it, but I won't know for sure until after the holidays.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Handcarved Bundu Mask (Ghana)
 from Rockford, MI,  Sep 17, 2007

I was simply in awe when I opened up this one. The workmanship was unbelievable. I bought this as a gift but will be buying one for myself. Actually going to pick up the rest of the collection one by one. You will not be disappointed with this purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Handcarved Majesty
 from New York, NY,  Apr 12, 2007

Amazing attention to detail. Easily adapts to any decor but mostly to one with global/tribal inclinations such as mine. A great item to own!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 21 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top