Your coupon has been activated.
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 59 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
A Throne to be Beheld!
 from Hollywood, CA,  Mar 23, 2007

This piece was my first order from Overstock. I was looking specifically for a throne as this and a search engine lead me to O. The price was great and I'd hoped that the value for the price would be equally so. I am NOT disappointed. It arrived quickly: I ordered on a Sunday night, and it has arrived within 5 days. It was well packed to avoid any damage. I was pleasantly surprised at the size. I knew it would be compact, but it was actually larger than I expected given the measurements: it can be a fully intergrated seat in your decor scheme. I have another stool and that one is miniature in comparision. This piece fits right where I'd planned it to go and looks great!! It is also a sturdy piece. I am tall and weigh greater than 200 pounds and I had/have no qualms about sitting on it. It supports me and is a comfortable seating height. I will be ordering another to complement this piece and to be used in another part of my home. I purchased the Sankofa style: I counted on and am glad that the color is a dark coffee/espresso color instead of the reddish brown which it appeared on my screen. The finish is beautiful and natural. Thank you O for making my purchase so great and easy!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
much smaller than expected
 from Queens, NY,  Nov 16, 2006

I got the Sankofa, which looks nothing like the picture. It's a dull espresso color with an uneven finish. I know overstock stated that the products have slight variations in form and sizing, but I didn't think it'd be off by this much. The exact measurements of my piece are: 20.75L x 11W x 15.75H. I already had in mind where I'd put it, but now due to the size difference it'd just look funny. This pricey stool is below my expectations, but I'm still going to try to find a place for it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from NJ,  Jan 30, 2006

Solidly built. Some blemish characteristic of a handmade piece. Rustic in nature, and the color is darker than pictured. I am not sure if it's priced fairly.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fascinating&Functional >>>
 from Bakersfield, Ca,  Jul 20, 2007

This carving arrived EXCELLENTLY packaged and in a timely fashion. It is a beautifully carved - and sturdy! -stool (considerably darker than it appears in the photo and "hollowed-out", making the piece much more interesting than I imagined). I would recommend the temptation to "find a better deal" --- I did and regretted it. This is the "real" deal...and overstock.com has proven to be a reputable merchant that has proven reliably consistent over time.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Atlanta,  Jan 30, 2006

Unfortunately, I had to return this product b/c the craftmanship was not what I expected. Although I did expect a "rustic" hand-carved look,the wood was to "chipped up" at the base of the stool (and other places) and not at all carved. In addition, the wood was cracked near the top where the sides curve upward.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome piece....
 from Seattle, Wa,  Apr 4, 2013

This was so much better than I expected. I get loads of compliments, it works as an accent piece, for an end table, for extra seating, or for a conversation piece.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? color was exactly like the photo
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. rustic but well-built
  • How accurate was the sizing? excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Happy with item
 from Las Vegas,  Aug 27, 2011

bought this for the "redo" of our 18-year-old son's room...he loves it, including the appropriate "meaning" of the design. it is a "cool" item, and we would buy again.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? close enough
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good enough
  • How accurate was the sizing? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fits our need
 from San Diego,  Aug 6, 2011

I purchased this to put by the front door for people to sit on when taking off and putting on their shoes when entering our home. I neede something small, and this is perfect!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? color darker thanin this picutre, but it's fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. sturdy quality
  • How accurate was the sizing? accurate sizing
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice stool
 from Atlanta,  Feb 15, 2011

it came in a different design and it's small, but I like it and it works well for where I've placed it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not exactly as pictured, but perfect for me
 from Atlanta, GA,  Feb 8, 2011

I needed something small for my back entry to sit and take shoes off. This is the perfect size but the finish is nothing like the picture. I expected a brown stain and what I got was black paint. This was a little disappointing, and I am waiting to see if it rubs off on the seat of someone's pants. Overall I am very happy with the stool, I like the carving, but I am considering sanding off the finish. I have many other international pieces that I picked up overseas and many have dubious finishing so this doesn't worry me too much.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Actually a 4+
 from Cincinnati OH,  Jan 18, 2011

But not quite a 5. It's an interesting and unique piece, although it's a little more rustic than I had anticipated and doesn't sit evenly on the floor. But I found a good spot for it and placed a mirror above it, and it definitely fits well into the decor and isn't a piece you see everywhere and I would certainly recommend it or one of the other similar pieces to anyone looking to pick up an accent stool. It's also a great price, so all things considered, I give it a 4+

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
One little "but"
 from Southeastern Utah,  Jan 6, 2010

Really beautiful piece that I am happy to have. I will probably order another. Small and the perfect size for propping up feet, sitting to remove shoes, stand for lamp, and many other uses.The little "but" is that it does not match the picture. That does not matter too much as the one I received is well-crafted and also striking but it is always nice to get what you have seen and think you are receiving!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Ashanti Stool
 from Waldorf, MD,  Dec 22, 2009

This is the third ashanti stool that I own and it looks exactly as pictured. I use my living room as an area for displaying my art, so there is minimal seating around the walls to give it a gallery affect. It was a little smaller that my other pieces, but I attributed that to you get what you pay for. I paid more for the other pieces and they are larger. Although most people are hesitant to sit on it saying "you don't sit on art" - I tell them I purchased it for seating purposes. I sit on it with no problem. Glad I made the purchase and brought some of Ghana to my home.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVE IT
 from south florida,  Dec 22, 2008

I ordered the alligator stool. Very happy I did. Perfect height to put my feet on while I'm at the desk, not too bad a height to sit on, I'm 5'11 and it felt comfortable. Very solid and the picture does not do the piece justice. Does not take up alot of space and could function as a seat, a stool, or as a low end table. LOVE IT.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just what I was looking for
 from Outside Atlanta, GA,  Jul 2, 2008

This stool was just what I was looking for. I wasn't looking for a functional piece for seating, though I am sure guests could sit on it. I chose the Sankofa stool, and like others, I love the fact that it looks darker and more "weathered" than it does in the picture. The color and look is perfect among the green of my plants.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hand Carved Stool
 from Washington, DC,  Apr 10, 2008

This was a present for my wife, this is the real thing. If someone said the stool is small, thats the whole point. People in Ghana use this stool to smash seeds and they sit in a confortable way so they don't heart their back. My wife is very happy with the stool. The reason is, because she use to live in Africa and she mean to buy one. The quality of this product is great.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hand Carved Stool
 from Texas,  Apr 8, 2008

The stool is cock-eyed. The base is not symetrical with the stool portion. Just looks odd. I was disappointed with the stool and would not encourage anyone to purchase it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
If you are looking for unique
 from seattle,wa,  Apr 5, 2008

Fine craftmanship. A little small but has excellent detail.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
interesting piece of furniture
 from Little Neck, NY,  Feb 29, 2008

my sons think it looks like a punishment chair, but it is a useful seat and a real conversation piece!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I was really disapointed by the size
 from denver colorado,  Feb 5, 2008

This stool is extremly small. My nine year old was a little big for it. It is very light and hollow and looks very weak like it could break easily. I am looking for a box to send it back. If it was not hollow and twice the size it would be a good value...hence it is not.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 59 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought