Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Unfair reviews
 May 18, 2010

This mat has received unjustified bad reviews. The person who complained about it being green should have realized that this mat is made of fresh rush grass in order to be flexible enough to weave. Anyone who has ever ventured outdoors knows that fresh cut grass is green, and this grass will remain green for a number of weeks. Thus, any fresh tatami is going to be green when it is first received. And of course, until it thoroughly dries, it will also smell like the lawn after it is mowed (to address what the other poster said about the smell). Unfortunately a lot of people are uneducated about these mats before they give them poor reviews. I put this mat outside in the sun for 3 days, and it turned a beautiful golden brown color like my other goza have in the past. The quality of the weave and the border is very good, and the price simply cannot be beat for a fresh finished goza mat. I will be purchasing more.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Authentic Tatami Mat
 from Boston, MA,  Oct 16, 2010

I have ordered several tatami mats over the years. After reading some of the reviews, I think that there is a great deal of misunderstanding about this item, its possible uses, and its resulting value to customers. I have lived in Japan so am quite familiar with the mats as used there. First, the mat is supposed to have a smell which comes from the material from which it is made. Rather, I would call it a fragrance. Sometimes called "sweetgrass", that is an apt description. Everyone may not like this fragrance, it does dissipate over time. In Japan, and probably in other Asian countries, no one would walk on a tatami mat with shoes. Socks or anything soft is what is appropriate. Tatami mats do get damaged from use or overuse, and in that case, they are replaced. There are not a lot of tatami mats available in the United States, and they are of varying qualities and prices. Overall, for both the price and the quality of this mat, I give it my highest recommendation.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautifully made
 from Gainesville Florida,  Mar 8, 2012

These are very nice quality mats. I am actually using them as window coverings and they are very tighlty woven and can not be seen through

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? sort of
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very nice quality dense weave
  • How accurate was the sizing? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best mat i ever had
 from charlotte,nc,  Jan 1, 2012

This mat is the absolute best mat. I have it by my front entry and it looks great. It collects all the outside shoe debris, and sweeps right off.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? No, but the color is supposed to change with the goza mat
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the sizing? exact sizing
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good quality
 from California,  Nov 30, 2011

This is exactly what I wanted to place at my door. The area behind my door gets dirty TOO fast and this is just what I needed.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the sizing? 100 percent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Mat
 from Phoenix, Arizona,  Mar 29, 2011

I bought this mat for a guest bedroom. It looks nice and clean, perfect on cement floor, especially during warm weather. I think it would be great too for yoga or standing exercising. That being said, it's not a rug, but a light and simple mat.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
pretty and different
 from georgia,  Sep 26, 2008

I got this to go in my bedroom, was so cool looking I hung it on the wall. Looks really neat as a headboard for a low futon bed. It smells like real grass.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
color description is inaccurate
 from Massachusetts,  Apr 27, 2010

This mat was very elegant and simple and despite other comment, i found the smell to be very nice! However, my biggest complaint is that it is ABSOLUTELY NOT BEIGE. it is light green, which is a shame because it does not match my decor at all. it isn't "slightly green" either. it is totally and unmistakably green, which is nice and all, but not what i ordered. it is totally not the same color as it is in the picture.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Stinky mat
 from Dallas, TX,  Apr 6, 2010

The mat is aesthetically pleasing and provides surprisingly good grip for doing yoga, but it smells like dry pet food - kind of like a pet store. And the smell is really strong. The odor overpowers the room. Because overstock charges $**** to return, I'll have to air out the mat and hope the smell goes away.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Euro King Tatami Mat (China)
Today $228.00
Compare $456.00
Save 50%
Camel Bamboo Rug (4' x 6')
Today $58.99
Compare $179.26
Save 67%
(10)
Back to top